We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SLIGHTLY TIRED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Stanmore, Middx
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“SLIGHTLY TIRED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We came home 4 days ago from staying at this hotel for 2 nights following a cruise. First impressions: 'CLOSED' as the security man on the gate said to our taxi driver. He was quite adamant that the hotel was definately closed??? However, once through the gate, we were told to check in at the sister hotel next door??? They didn't have any knowledge of our booking, but told us to go anyway to The Westin and we can stay there??? All this was becoming very confusing and annoying.
When we arrived at reception at what could only be described as a 'completely desolate' hotel, completely void of any other guests, the girl on the desk told us that the hotel had indeed been closed "we always close it on 1st October until March the following year", and that they had been closed for a week until this day, due to maintenance reasons. When I asked what she meant by that, she said she didn't know, to which I replied that wasn't an answer???
She said they had opened it just for us (?????) and there was a conference group arriving the next day. I rather suspect the reason for opening was clearly for that purpose only, and we should have been notified, as she then went on to tell us that we were not allowed to use the pool as there was no Lifeguard, and we should walk down the road to the sister hotel to sunbathe. I don't think so. We told her we wanted to see 'the manager' immediately, and waited whilst she called someone.
A woman from the other hotel arrived shortly afterwards and upon our complaint and questions, eventually agreed that we could use the pool area and I could get beachtowels delivered to our room. All very weird. That said, the room was fine, corridors smelt musty, towels arrived and we did sit by the pool. Just the two of us, felt like something from 'War of the Worlds'!!
Sure enough, the next morning when we went down to the lobby, there were hundreds of people milling around. Suddenly there was life!!!
Quite clearly, they rely on conferences to make the majority of their income, but as a normal guest on holiday, one felt very strange. Breakfast was ok, service fine and the fresh orange juicer was excellent. The 'dead' pool area/bar was a shame though, I think they should've made an effort to have some sort of drink/snacks service if they accept guest bookings. Otherwise they should not accept them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Michele2247,
We are grateful for your comments on your recent stay at The Westin Athens hotel, as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support.
I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered upon arrival. Concerning your comment on the operation status, indeed the Westin Athens hotel converts to its seasonal operation at the beginning of October. During the same period and because the weather conditions change drastically both hotels at the Resort commence their winter operation where by the hotel swimming pools and beach areas seize to operate. Inevitably we offer no service at these facilities during the winter months. I have already addressed your concerns with the respective Department Heads and corrective actions have been taken to improve the service especially when the weather permits to operate the pool or beach areas.
I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future and live up to our promise of excellent service.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    188
    68
    38
    26
See reviews for
149
209
17
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for Newyears for 2 nights. The rooms are huge and the toilets are one of the best i have ever seen with a jacuzzi in the room, and all the toilet is marble.

Rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful, the only bad thing about the hotel was that there were no restaurants or bars in the hotel, except for the reception cafe that served drinks but didnt give you a luxury bar feel, just a reception. We ate either room service or at the lobby which was the same really, but we mixed to change views :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreaskon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstirPalaceResort, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Andreaskon,. I read your review and I am very happy to know that your stay at The Westin Athens was a memorable experience. We are always delighted to receive such wonderful reviews. We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next stay at our resort. Sincerely yours,. Michael S. Metaxas. Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

One of the nicest hotels I've ever been to. Rooms are spacious, bathroom with double entrance, large balcony, amazing view. Breakfast was a must do as food selection and quality was indeed outstanding and well balanced between local specials and everyone's favorites. Spend your day at the private beach, order some lunch or club sandwiches, drink beer from frozen mugs. Or chill at the pool if you like but I prefer the sea. Location is a bit off site from Athens so you need some form of transport but it doesn't matter at all as your days will be spent in relaxation and luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view if you can but the park side is also great so you can't really miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tihon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstirPalaceResort, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear tihon001;. Thank you for your wonderful comments on The Westin Athens. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, the hotels location and experienced our restaurants. Our aim is to provide a personal service to all our guests and we are very happy that both times we exceeded your expectations during your stay. Once again thank you for your valued comments. Warm regards,. Michael S. Metaxas. Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I would stay here again as it has a few pojnts that I find warm and helpful.
It feels residential, inan upscale gated area. The views and location are great.
The local retail area ten mi utes away has very nice choices to explore the area for dining
I was a bit disapointed in the condition of the room I was in, walls had stains on them, and just neeed a slight, paint etc, refresh. This costs almost nothing, dont know why it wasnt done.
I ternet was not adequate, but they tried by bringing up a booster router, but left me the wrong network name, so couldnt use it. Only real negative was the food service and prices at the pool.
F&B needs to clean up thier act at pool. If you eant to charge 25.00 for a burger or sandwhich, well, it better be good and the service better be great with smiling faces. Poor hires at the pool.

All in all..yu will be happy at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Anaka A,
We are grateful for your comments on your recent stay at The Westin Athens hotel, as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support.
We were pleased to hear that you had a renewal stay.
I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with some of our staff not providing the high level of customer service that others clearly are. Please know that each of your issues will be addressed with the appropriate departments.
Concerning your comment on the painting of the wall, I would like to respectfully inform you that a broad maintenance takes place after the end of the high season.
Regarding our pricing policy please note that this is equivalent to other hotels in the same category with us.
I was happy to read that despite our shortcomings on this occasion we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future and live up to our promise of excellent service.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here on arrival into Greece before heading on to te islands as we had a long flight to Athens. The hotel was reasonably close to the airport apx a 30 euro cab ride. The setting is beautiful, the had massages, swam and enjoyed dinner on the terrace. The staff was helpful, especially with checking on and receiving and holding our luggage which was lat in transit. They were thoughtful enough to ask on check in if we wanted it delivered to our room if it came in the middle of the night or held then delivered it promptly in the morning when we called to check on it. The only negative was that an event went on until apx 3 AM. The noise was noticeable when I woke but not loud. I would stay again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DougBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear DouqBoston;
On behalf of the entire team at the Westin Athens hotel we would like to thank you for your feedback of our hotel.
We are very happy to read that you had a renewal stay and found our staff to be helpful and proactive.
We sincerely hope to see you again soon for a longer stay this time during your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is an upside down hotel, the reception is on the 6th floor and the rooms under. it’s a very long hotel so depending on where your room is expect to walk long corridors. The reception area is very big and has the most amazing view, the bar restaurant is on the 5th floor and again amazing view. Breakfast is on the ground floor at the beach. The breakfast is very good. The rooms are nice but the room I was in had frosted glass so if someone wanted to not disturb the other person while they got ready was difficult as the light lit up the whole room. The pool area is nice and the service at the pool bar very good. I would go back if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear unally,
We very much appreciate you taking the time after your trip to share your feedback from your experience at our resort.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the uniqness of our hotel, the lobby area, the views, the sea and pool area and the extensive breakfast selection.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again to our beautiful property.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Enjoyed our relaxing three days here to unwind from NA hustle

NICE FRIENDLY STAFF Amazing view
would recommend this hotel you can walk to town 25 minutes - but take a taxi back its uphill


Desert here was expensive... !
and we didn't eat here

Room Tip: ask for a room on high floor at far end - view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colmarink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Colmarink;
On behalf of the entire team at the Westin Athens hotel we would like to thank you for your feedback of our hotel.
We are very happy to read that you had a renewal stay and found our staff to be friendly.
We sincerely hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.7 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.9 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amarilia Hotel
Amarilia Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#7 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

Property: The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Address: 40 Apollonos, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece (Formerly Astir Palace Vouliagmeni)
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#4 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#5 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Hotel Vouliagmeni
Westin Athens
Westin Vouliagmeni
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing