We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place near Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful place near Athens”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Spent there a week. Hotel is 30 min drive from Athens Intl airport. Excellent location on the small penisula. Beautiful view from the big balcony. I had big and cosy room, clean. I liked bathroom, big and well equiped. Good breakfast and restaurant. Nice beach bar. Good place for swimming in the pool and sea. Reception staff require further training. Prices are high.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WarsawExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear WarsawExplorer,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Westin Athens hotel.
We were pleased to hear that you had a renewal overall experience.
Regarding the comment you have made on the prices, although those are in line with all other deluxe hotels in Athens, your point has been taken into consideration.
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    189
    68
    38
    26
See reviews for
149
210
17
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cap Malheureux, Riviere du Rempart, Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a wonderful 2 nights at The Astir Palace. We had a room on the 1st floor with an amazing bath facing the ocean. Well the whole room was facing the Bay. The room was very spacious and comfortable with a huge wardrobe. The hotel is situated in Vougliameni close to Glyfada and on the beach. The reception staff is however very unfriendly and i would expect a bit more when arriving into a Luxury collection hotel. The prices are quite unreasonable as you have to pay for absolutely everything -watersports/spa Facilities (sauna/Steam) usage etc etc. The gym is very well equipped with classes throughout the day. Breakfast was wonderful and dinner too. This hotel has the best sunset view. Being situated on the Westin premises you can also go eat at the other hotel. They also have Nobu on the premises on the other side of the bay. Only negative comment i could make would be about the unfriendly staff and the way the room is made (which to me looked very untidy still when i got back).Overall it was a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Amelie C,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Westin Athens hotel.
We truly appreciate your feedback and all of the great compliments surrounding the comfort of your room, the bath, the breakfast and dinner quality.
On the other hand, we were very disappointed to read that we have failed to meet your expectations in certain areas.
Despite your recent experience, we hope that you will give us the chance to restore your trust in our services and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Westin hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel bay view and beach are great. Our main complaint was the unfriendly front desk lady who checked us who seemed like she was not enjoying her job. This was our first impression of the hotel, so we were not pleased with the reception given it is a 5 star resort. Drinks were over priced, with a 250ml coke for 6 euro. However, despite the reception, the hotel is good if you want to spend your day on the beach as we did.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the bay view, but ask for level 4 or 3 for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimchic_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear zimchic _10,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Westin Athens hotel.
It is mainly through our guest’s feedback that we may discover ways to upgrade our services and facilities to impeccable quality standards.
I was very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the pool, beaches and the view.
On the other hand, I was very disappointed to read about your experience with the Front Office staff.
We do try to get all of our associates trained at the same standard to respond to each and every guest’s request but as you describe, we still have our challenges at times.
Regarding your comment on the pricing policy, although our prices are in line with all other deluxe hotels in Athens, your point has been taken into consideration.
Despite our shortcomings on this occasion, we truly hope you will give us the chance to restore your trust in our services and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Arion hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are currently staying at The Astir palace in Vouligmeni. In a deluxe bungalow suite with pool.
the room is dirty, even after they have made up the room the floor boards not swept or cleaned of dirt. Bins left in centre of room. Outside not tidied up, coffee cups etc left outside from lunchtime yesterday. Called room service at 6 am to order coffee as there are no coffee facility kettle in room.

Was told room service was not available as they could not find any one in the office.
They ll call me back.
It's now 6:20 am and finally someone called me back to ask " do you want anything?" This is star woods signature hotel!

Wow and we are staying in their top room!

Last night we went to the bar where there was live music, the service was terrible. There was 2 people to serve and make drinks for approx 50 guests! We were challenged by a rude waiter who insisted we asked for the wrong drink and according to his cocktail book , the drink we wanted was a different drink! Whatever please just make what we have asked for!
We purchased a bottle of Moet and spent $192 euro and had to pour our own champagne!,,

Pathetic no service

Pool is dirty and yellow, very basic not worth the $1200 euro per night.
Staff need training , definitely not international service or Starwood standards.

Outdoor chairs dirty, terrible sun lounge with the thinnest cover.

Probably worth $400 euro a night.

Laundry for men's underwear is $8 euro!!!! What a rip off when this country has almost reached poverty and the average monthly wage is $400-$700 euro

Room Tip: Get the Cheapest room in the house as the best one is a ripoff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Jaqui M;
We are grateful for your comments on your recent stay at The Westin Athens hotel, as such information enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for the negative impression that your visit left.
I only wish you have addressed your concerns while you were still in the hotel in order to resolve them there and then.
Regarding the comment you have made on the laundry charges, although our prices are in line with all other deluxe hotels in Athens, your point has been taken into consideration.
I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future and live up to our promise of excellent service.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed at the Westin for several days in the spring shortly after they had begun their spring season start up. The check-in was smooth and easy and the bellman escorted us to the room and showed us the various amenities. The room was large and bright with a huge balcony over looking the bay and the pool. The bathroom was luxurious with a separate shower and soaking tub. As Starwood Gold member wifi was included, The included breakfast buffet was huge, including bottomless fresh orange juice, omelette station, pancakes, and a variety of international breakfast foods. The high point for me was the fresh greek yogurt with honey. I was told they offer a shuttle between the hotel and downtown but we did not use it. We got a rental car from the Sixt Rental Car office on the Westin grounds. Visited the Arion Resort, next door, and loved their public areas, but the balconies were much smaller. Did not see the rooms, so can't compare them to Westin. The pool is huge and is adjacent to the tiny beach area with a kind of infinity seawater pool area. All in all, I look forward to returning to the Westin for my next Athens visits.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patios and direct pool access. higher floors have better views and less pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachb214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Beachb214,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Westin Athens hotel.
We truly appreciate your feedback and all of the great compliments surrounding the comfort of your room, our breakfast quality and variety, the pool and beaches and the service provided by our wonderful staff.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and I have to say it is starting to get rather on the tired side. It is in a wonderful location but most definitely not 5* quality. The rooms and balcony spacious but only one sun bed on the balcony and the bathroom is very sparsely equipped with toiletries. The air conditioning worked but made lots of clunky noises - the corridors from the lift to the rooms are very dark and hideously decorated. Service in the bar was very slow and quite abrupt when we were finally served. There is no spa at the Westin only at the sister hotel down the road the Arion and again rather dated. As long as you are not expecting a 5* hotel I would recommend it for its location but if you're expecting 5* luxury this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieFSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear AnnieFSLondon,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Westin Athens hotel.
Please note that we take all guest reviews very seriously, both positive and negative, and through them we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests. We were very disappointed to read that we have failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay in certain areas.
Despite your recent experience, we hope that you will give us the chance to restore your trust in our services and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Westin hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in may 2014 for the first time in 2 interconnecting rooms with 2 kids.
Rooms are logical with a big private balcony and a big walk in shower, the beds and linens are outstanding
We had a fantastic stay, There is a small save beach and then you can jump into the sea from the deck as well , there are some cabanas around to relax in and - perfect - a bell inside to call the bar if needed.
The pool was good but at night the sucking sound of the drains annoyed me, our rooms were overlooking the pool and i was chilling on the balcony. Wish they could fill the pool slightly between midnight and sunrise to stop that sound.
Its a great size hotel and all in private grounds and we even played footy on the grass at sunset.
Many of the staff are there for many years and very kind and helpful and whenever in athens this will be our place of stay.

.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear MarciaDubai,
Thank you for posting your review on your stay at The Westin Athens under this forum - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the uniqueness of our resort, the comfort of your room, the beds and linen and you had a renewal overall experience.
Also, thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.7 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
717 reviews
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
0.9 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#5 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

Property: The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Address: 40 Apollonos, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece (Formerly Astir Palace Vouliagmeni)
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#4 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#5 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Hotel Vouliagmeni
Westin Athens
Westin Vouliagmeni
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort Greece/Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing