We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful meal in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ithaki Restaurant

Ithaki Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Consisting of a classical choice and adding value to high profile events, this well known restaurant, has the privilege of a breathtaking location at an exclusive area of the south coast of Athens.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I understand that others may have different experiences, but our dinner at Ithaki was superb and I can't wait to return.

We stayed at the Westin Astir Palace which was very close by and the hotel concierge made our reservations, something that rarely hurts. Our table was one of the outside tables with a perfect. We both had seafood dishes, but my wife had a shrimp dish with three monster shrimp that were some of the most tender and flavorful we had ever had. I did inquire about whether the shrimp was local (Greek vs imported) and the waiter said that it was dependent on the season. In the spring, when the demand is not overwhelming, the seafood is all totally fresh. During the summer, they might have to go further afield for a supplier, which can mean less fresh. All I know is that the meals we had in May were among the freshest and most wonderful of our stay in Greece. The service was very good and the sunset viewing spectacular.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachb214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    114
    34
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very bad choise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This restaurant was suggested to us as one of the best fishfood in Athens.It truly is at an amazing location but the staff were very rude and obnoxious. The place was full of wandering cats and when we asked them if they think it's normal to eat at a 40 pounds/plate restaurant together with cats they replied that we were lucky as normally they also have rats.
We left after 15 minutes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Things change and not for the better, especially in terms of service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Ithaki is wonderfully located at the high side of the Vouliagmeni bay, offering a stunning view providing you are allocated a table in the multileveled garden (but take then care of mosquitos by adequately protecting). Considering the food as such, the price to quality ratio is average: cuisine is good (well of the traditional type - do not go to Ithaki for surprise(s) or creatitivity, they simply do not have it), for sure not exceptional, against a price that is quite above local average standards.

The annoying is the discrimination of service according who Ithaki's head of service think you are (the waiters on the oppostie do their very best). Are you young and foreigner, you will the access to a table in the garden will be banned even though quite a number are free. Mind of service and attentiveness will be absent, with waiters trying to compensate. When you are treated this way, you notice that older, Greek and presumed wealthier customers are treated in a totally different way, the same guy almost playing the carpet. In the same sense, dishes on the menu reported to us as not available magically appeared on other tables.

Annoying also are quite average clean water closets despite the presence of a person in charge, completely inconsistent with the status claimed by Ithaki.

So,
Do not go for a reasonnably cheap dinner.
Do not go for the service, except you arez fairly mature and look wealthy.
Do not go for any kind of cuisine you will keep the souvenir of.
Go mainly for the view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The restaurant looks very nice, the service is very nice however we found it expensive for mediocre food and be aware that most of the fish is frozen. Disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MillieLasne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“location can trump service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect, the service is amateur. Our orders were brought out in wrong sequence, one appetizer for the lady was forgotten. One entree was incorrect and another completely forgotten. Our wine choice while not expensive was hardly drink able. I made a comment about it but the waiter pretended not to hear.
The food is fabulous, but very expensive. A meal for 4 was 240€. There are WAY better choices for 1/2 the price very close by. The do accept Amex, but don't have to worry about mine again.

Helpful?
3 Thank BMorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ithaki Restaurant also viewed

Vouliagmeni, East Attica Region
Vouliagmeni, East Attica Region
 
Vouliagmeni, East Attica Region
Vouliagmeni, East Attica Region
 
Vouliagmeni, East Attica Region
Vouliagmeni, East Attica Region
 

Been to Ithaki Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing