We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel away from the noisy center”
Review of Hotel Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #2 of 2 Chalandri B&B and Inns
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel away from the noisy center”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Chalandr is not near anywhere where most tourist in Athens want to go (but reasonably close to the airport), but in a quiet side street in a mostly residential district. The center of Chalandri (a suburb) is close by with many shops, restaurants, cafés and bars.
The rooms are great, good bathroom, even those towards the street are very quiet. Free and reliable WiFi. If you want to do some work on your laptop, you will miss a desk, though.
The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but OK. Makes you realize how boring toast is!
Nice and helpful staff, and a good, reasonably priced 24/7 bar in the reception area (no fridge in the room).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikingtraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
20
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here due to its proximity to the Olympic stadium. It was a very nice, clean hotel. Our room was spacious with a lovely bathroom. There was a large bath with a shower over it. Very welcome at the end of a long, hot day. There is no restaurant, but there is lots of choice just a few minutes walk away. Breakfast was a little basic, but fine for our purposes.
Taxi dirvers had difficulty finding it - seems to be a little away from the usual areas. Chalandri is a very nice area. It seems that it doesn't get much tourist trafic, as restaurants often didn't have English menus etc., but everyone is helpful and it really wasn't a problem.
It is a little far from the centre of Athens if that is your desitnation. There is a metro station about a 20-30 minute walk away, and I am told that you can reach the station by bus but didn't try that option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Due to my profession i visit Athens once or twice per month for two or three days. That i have to say for olympic is :
Perfect renovation of a great neoclassical buildical . Spacious rooms ,amazing interior very helpfull personel. Great value for money. Similar quality hotels only at the double price
I suggest it to everyone !

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzacha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I first stayed at The Olympic in February. It's a small, twenty-bedroom boutique hotel with a little bar in the reception area but no restaurant. There seems to be just three members of staff: two receptionists that rotate shifts and a cleaning maid. All three are incredibly friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make you feel welcome as you come and go (when my return flight was cancelled one of them even called me later in the evening to update me on the information that he had checked for me on the airline's website!)

All public areas of the hotel are clean, modern and smart - even the lift has a stylish, metallic design, outer door.

On my first stay in February I had booked a standard room with balcony (room 104). The room was clean, modern but very 'Greek' (old style wooden furniture, terracotta walls etc) with a shower room. These standard rooms are very small and a little basic for an extended stay (fine for a short trip).

So, on my second (and current visit) in March I booked a larger suite with balcony (room 107). I received a great, warm welcome back from the receptionist!!!

Again. the suite is smart, cosy and maintains a lovely Greek feel. However, as advertised, the suites are considerably larger than the standard rooms and much better for a longer stay or for couples. There is a seperate 'hall area' as you enter with an armchair, wardrobe etc which leads into a fairly large bedroom. This is very nicely decorated with typical Greek furnishings/lighting and has a very comfortable bed. There are double doors to the balcony which keep out all outside noises and have thick, lined curtains for those afraid of the sun!!

The bathroom is large, has an excellent modern sink and surround and a big, corner jacuzzi bath. The jacuzzi is a little noisy but very relaxing at the end of a long day. The shower is over the bath, is powerful but has no curtain which is a little odd. Although the bath is large, some water does splash out onto the floor (but not enough to make this a problem).

Overall, the bedroom is extremely comfortable, clean and a pleasure to stay in. The television receives the standard Greek channels and all bedrooms have free wifi (with a fairly fast connection speed).

The only, small, issues are that the built-in hairdryer is not very powerful and the balconies are small with no furniture. In February/March this didn't matter but it may be disappointing not to be able to sit outside in the hotter months.

The hotel is perfectly located for exploring Chalandri which is a lovely district with loads of great shops varying from modern to quaint and some great eating places (so no need for a restaurant at the hotel). As this isn't really a tourist area most of the restaurants don't have any menus or signs in English in the windows. Don't be put off by this - you'll always find a warm, Greek welcome and help with menus.

The centre of Chalandi is only a five-minute walk away but being down a small side street, any noise from this bustling area doesn't reach the hotel. It's also only a twenty to thirty minute drive into the centre of Athens.

All in all this is a fabulous little hotel and a delight to stay in.

Room Tip: For longer stays or couples it's worth paying a little extra for a suite. When flying back home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caesar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The hotel building is nice i liked its architecture and interior design . However the quality of the furnishings is poor the size of the rooms is small and there is no bathtub only a shower. The hot water is not available always and the breakfast buffet is anything but a buffett . The last thing is that despite the hotel being near the motorrways and other facilities the hotel is on a small road and is quite difficult to find even for cabs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkrinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalandri
Acropol Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chalandri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Civitel Olympic Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marousi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Athens Habitat
#93 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
#1 of 10 in Kifisia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
President Hotel
#153 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Property: Hotel Olympic
Address: 1 Souri, Chalandri, Athens 151 32 , Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Chalandri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chalandri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Olympic 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing