We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware ! Unprofessional and unacceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Rural El Recuerdo
Ranked #3 of 14 Trujillo B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beware ! Unprofessional and unacceptable”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband is a birdwatcher and we built our entire holiday itinerary around availability at El Recuerdo. We made a confirmed booking in March and immediately sent the requested deposit, which was acknowledged. We were made aware that we would have to move rooms after one day, but we accepted that. About two hours after our late afternoon arrival, the owner told us that they had overbooked themselves and that they were going to have to ask us to move into alternative accommodation in the area after our first night. We refused to move and chose to leave the next morning. The owner did refund our deposit in full on our departure. We specifically chose this hotel for its birding connections and we did not want unseen or unknown alternative accommodation. In my opinion this was unprofessional and totally unacceptable. The breakfast was very nice. Shower in bedroom was very small cubicle.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elrecuerdo, Owner at Casa Rural El Recuerdo, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
We accept full responsibility for this error and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. We have reviewed and revised our booking procedures to ensure that this does not happen again. The guests accepted a full refund for the night they stayed with us. Although we did find alternative accomoodation for the night that was double-booked, we understood their preference to look elsewhere. We hope that they were able to enjoy their holiday in Extremadura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our second visit was to see particular birds. With the benefit of Martin's advice we saw everything we hoped to. The rooms are comfortable, the meals tasty, Martin and Claudia excellent hosts and the prices very reasonable .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterM98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Returning for our second stay at el Recuerdo where everything was as friendly, helpful and comfortable as ever. Nice clean rooms, well decorated and with good bathrooms and showers. Ample parking and outdoor seating (when it was warm enough!). Good breakfasts complete with up to date information from Martin and Claudia of local events as well as bird sightings and locations.

Nothing is too much trouble and everyone is treated as a close friend of the family. a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I strongly recommend Casa Rural El Recuerdo in Pago de San Clemente. It has a perfect location, located in the most beautiful rural surroundings, and close to everything else you may want to visit/see while in Extremadura. We spent five days just hiking in and around the small village and didn't get tired of it, and also went on excursions in the surroundings to steppe, dehesa (some of which is accessible also by foot), mountains (e.g. Montfragüe) and more. Martin and Claudia are the most wonderful hosts, making you feel really welcome, almost as if you were part of the family. They really went out of their way to make our visit the best possible. The house itself also has great charm, and is an experience in itself.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, va
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We spent the first 3 nights of our first trip to Spain here. Martin and Claudia were great hosts. We are not birders, but El Recuerdo served as our home base for visiting Trujillo, Guadalupe, and Merida. El Recuerdo is in a beautiful, rural area where we enjoyed evening walks and a morning stroll down the lane that runs beside the inn. The room was quite comfortable, with a small sitting area in addition to the sleeping area. Breakfast was more than adequate for us, as it included yogurt, cheese, ham, quince, fresh fruit, jams, cereal, and breads. The cost of our accommodations was very reasonable. We enjoyed our stay and are grateful that the first stop of our vacation was such a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaofva_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northiam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights. Food is home cooked. No choice, but you are invited to state what you don't like at the beginning of the trip and I enjoyed every meal. It was the second time I have stayed here on bird watching trips (for which the area is excellent). Martin has an excellent knowledge of the area and is a fantastic source of information on where to look for particular species. Room was comfortable but we spent the majority of our time touring the wonderful countryside. Had a great trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Thanks to other TA contributors, we found Casa Rural El Recuerdo for a 3-night stay in September. We stayed here because we wanted to bird in the area, and had read positive reviews of Martin's (the owner, with his wife, Claudia) birding expertise. We are SO glad we stayed here! The inn is charming and beautiful; our room was spacious and comfortable with cool original tiles and a nice balcony overlooking the olive trees in the garden; and the dinners at the inn (this is upon request and is an extra, very reasonable, charge) were lovely. Breakfast is a simple serve yourself continental, although Martin is there to welcome you with hot tea and coffee, and best of all, detailed directions and maps for where to look for the Great and Little Bustards. As birders, we couldn't have asked for more! By the way, we had great sightings of both Bustards -- hooray! If you stay here, please arrange to have your dinners at the Casa and avoid the local bar down the street -- it's awful. We tried it one night, and wished we hadn't -- the only redeeming feature was a very relaxed evening with much waving and smiling to whoever passed by.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The website is excellent so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trujillo
6.9 mi away
Parador de Trujillo
Parador de Trujillo
#1 of 12 in Trujillo
699 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eurostars Palacio de Santa Marta
2.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Soterrana
Hotel Rural Soterrana
#1 of 1 in Madronera
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Dos Orillas
6.5 mi away
Casa Rural Las Canteras
Casa Rural Las Canteras
#4 of 14 in Trujillo
42 reviews
6.7 mi away
Izan Trujillo
Izan Trujillo
#3 of 12 in Trujillo
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rural El Recuerdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rural El Recuerdo

Property: Casa Rural El Recuerdo
Address: 10200 Pago San Clemente Calle Aguaperal 8 | Carretera EX 208, km 88.3, 10220 Trujillo, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Trujillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Rural El Recuerdo is just 10km from Trujillo, a beautiful town with a rich historic and cultural heritage in the hamlet of Pago de San Clemente, nestled in the Sierra de los Lagares, a area known for its special micro climate. Our home is of typical vernacular architecture of Extremadura, which has been carefully renovated to conserve its thick stone walls, tiled floors, old timbers and vaulted ceilings. It is furnished with antiques and other special features, and has a homely feel. Casa Rural El Recuerdo is known to be specialised for birdwatchers and other nature lovers in Extremadura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Rural El Recuerdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing