We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place in Extremadura, even in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Rural El Recuerdo
Ranked #3 of 14 Trujillo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Good birdwatching, great countryside and a relaxing week with great hosts was our ask. We searched for it and found it staying with Martin, Claudia and Patrick.
Although we investigated where to go each day before we went Martin still gave us some good tips on when the best time of the day would be to go to certain areas for the best bird sightings and the placement of the sun for the photos.He also advised us on some good walks.
The house is very comfortable and the meals lovely. TIP Each morning Martin will let you know what the evening meal will be so If you want to have evening dinner let Martin or Claudia know.
Don't forget that if you don't want to drive out in the evening although there is a small eatery in the village but it has very limited choice.
The nearby town of Trujillo is a gem and thoroughly recommend a visit here, one lunch time we ate on the elevated section overlooking the plaza mayor, a good place to people watch in spectacular surroundings.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms at the back of the house have better birdwatching opportunities, more trees overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 49Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wake up to sheep bells and birdsong. Sleep in comfortable beds looking out at a star filled sky, no light pollution here! In Martins absence Claudia and Patrick were perfect hosts. Another wonderful stopover.

Room Tip: Have slept in both rooms looking out on to the courtyard over the font door, both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilks_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This Casa Rural is perfect for exploring nature in the Extremadura. This wine-making "lagar" has been turned into a lovely and comfortable B & B. Birding is Martin's specialty but his interests and knowledge are much broader. For our one day of birding, he was the perfect guide. Breakfasts and dinners were very good. We are very grateful that Claudia and Martin could fit us in for two nights in their busy spring.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D48S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had a lovely stay at this beautiful old farmhouse. Martin and Claudia made us very welcome and we really benefited from Martin's birding knowledge of the local area. He leads trips out, helping you find what you want to see. There's a good selection of birding books and a record of recent sightings. Even though the weather was cold and wet in January, our room was warm and welcoming when we returned from a day out, and there's an open fire in the visitor's sitting room. The set three-course meal was great and there's also a friendly bar in the village where you can get simple meals. (Martin and Claudia also do packed lunches if you need them.) Although set in tranquil surroundings, lovely old Trujillo is just 10 mins drive away. All in all it's a great place to stay, many thanks to Martin and Claudia.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We only stayed here one night but it is a place that will stay in our memory. It is a lovely old house, in a quiet country location, run by a husband and wife. It has a lovely family feel to it, we sat outside in the sun playing ball with the dog, I felt I was back home. Martin cooked us a good evening meal in the lovely old dining room, and we had a very good breakfast, even gluten free bread for me.
I would highly recommend this place to all country lovers and especially to bird watchers.
Although martin was busy he spent time talking to us, which was good as holidays throw up so many questions, and he was willing to answer them all!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneGledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a specialist hostel for birdwatchers and you will get good service. Breakfast is very good with excellent quality muesli, fresh orange juice, super coffee and the normal other things - cooked meats, cheese etc..The owner is English and is expert on birds and keeps up to date with the latest sightings of migrants etc. The hostel is situated about 15 kilometres from Trujillo (which is a VERY nice place) in a small village. There is a bar where you can get something to eat about 300 metres away. You can eat at the hostel but it is a set meal which you sign into in the morning. There are no alternatives, as it is what the owners are eating that night. The owner offers trips and airport collections. I don't know what the prices are as we had our own car hire and my son knows a lot about birds. However the owner's knowledge of where to go is detailed and I know guests were very pleased with the birds they had seen in quality and quantity. I know specialist birding trips cost a lot and one has to pay for the expert's time as well as petrol etc.. The way we did it with car hire and staying here resulted significantly cheaper than having a pre-booked specialist trip.The room we had was in an annexe. It was large and clean but rather dark. The bathroom was enormous. We had booked a twin room. There was one double bed and one sofa bed. I was on the sofa bed and it was ok but not great. At 70 euros per night (B and B) it was reasonably priced but at the higher end for a Casa Rural. However you do get the bird advice which is valuable in itself. The rooms were well serviced. I would go there again. The web site is very good with detailed instructions of how to get there etc.. If you want specialist birdwatching services there I don't think you will find better, as you can opt in or not or make specialist requests and they will try to accomodate them. One chap came into breakfast with a list of new birds he wanted to see and asked the owner to devise the trip so that he could see as many as possible- and he wasn't mentioning Spanish sparrows!! This is a recommended place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

Wonderfully peaceful situation. Large airy well equipped room with pleasant view from window. Comfortable lounge with a wide range of books on the area. Meals very satisfactory. We visited Trujillo, Cacares and Monfrague with no difficulty using the hostal as a 3 night base.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
6.9 mi away
Eurostars Palacio de Santa Marta
6.8 mi away
Parador de Trujillo
Parador de Trujillo
#1 of 12 in Trujillo
830 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Izan Trujillo
Hotel Izan Trujillo
#3 of 12 in Trujillo
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hostal San Miguel
Hostal San Miguel
#4 of 12 in Trujillo
189 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Peru
Hotel Peru
#10 of 12 in Trujillo
20 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hostal Hueso
Hostal Hueso
#9 of 12 in Trujillo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rural El Recuerdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rural El Recuerdo

Address: 10200 Pago San Clemente Calle Aguaperal 8 | c/Aguaperal 8, Lagar El Recuerdo, 10220 Trujillo, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Trujillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Trujillo
Price Range: £52 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Rural El Recuerdo is just 10km from Trujillo, a beautiful town with a rich historic and cultural heritage in the hamlet of Pago de San Clemente, nestled in the Sierra de los Lagares, a area known for its special micro climate. Our home is of typical vernacular architecture of Extremadura, which has been carefully renovated to conserve its thick stone walls, tiled floors, old timbers and vaulted ceilings. It is furnished with antiques and other special features, and has a homely feel. Casa Rural El Recuerdo is known to be specialised for birdwatchers and other nature lovers in Extremadura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Rural El Recuerdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing