We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected surprise.”

CentroCentro Cibeles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,661 reviews
2,243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,037 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

When we planned our visit to Palacio de Comunicaciones, we thought it'd be a 5-minute walk by to admire the architecture.
However, upon reaching the place, we discovered a real gem.
First of all, it's huge! It literally dominated Plaza de Cibeles.
The architecture is beautiful with some very tall arches inside, all in bright white.
The places also houses several exhibitions and its top floor provides a very nice view of Madrid, as well as a cafeteria and restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    68
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent views over Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

From what I could gather this splendid neo gothic, wedding cake of a building on the Plaza de La Cibiles was the main post office of Madrid. I believe it was surplus to requirements and in 2007 was restored to become the city hall. It has museum and public space for art and includes cafe's. There were lots of locals in there. The interior is as striking as the exterior with Art Deco stained glass and amazing stairs and columns. For only €2 Euros you go to the viewing platform on the central tower which gives excellent views over Plaza de La Cibiles and that area of the city. It was a good way to spend 40 minutes. The views alone were worth more than €2.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I would strongly recommend this as a place to visit just to experience the amazing views of Madrid. It is also a beautiful building that has many different aspects to it, with many ornate sculptures & statues all around. There is a small charge (2 Euros) for a half hour visit to the observation deck and be sure to check timings before you go. From the observation deck you get a 360 view of the Madrid skyline and can see up Gran Via, Prado, and Retiro Park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

One of the things the Spanish seem to have done so successfully is blend classic and modern architecture, and this has got to be one of the best examples I've seen. We weren't sure exactly what the building housed from the outside, but it appears to be a cultural centre of some sort. There are restaurants, a café, a library, bookstore, information desk, and some art exhibits. It is light-filled, and simply stunning. The observation deck was closed when we were visiting, but there was so much else to explore and it was a pleasure to sit back on one of the many seating areas and just enjoy the space.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BDKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wowowowowow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The building itself is a work of art - looks like an enormous wedding cake right at the Cibeles Square. It is stunning and a must-see for any enthusiast of architecture. Access appears to be 24/7, there are exhibits, lounge areas, restaurants and bars on the rooftops, an observation deck (for 2EU), overlooking the City and the Cibeles Fountain - a wonderful place to explore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mnbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CentroCentro Cibeles also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to CentroCentro Cibeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing