We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Alcala de Henares
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Alcala De Henares
Certificate of Excellence
YORK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very modern”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed one night here prior to flying home – it’s pretty convenient for the airport. It is based around an old convent but generally is very hi-tech and modern, almost too much so: a panel at the bedside allowed you to switch off the lights in the whole room, but you couldn’t have one bedside light being on without the other being on too – not really a technological advance!
It is in the town centre and has a courtyard rather than any gardens so not as relaxing/get-away-from-it-all as some but peaceful nonetheless. The staff were pleasant, the food good with plenty of choice at breakfast and the town is very pleasant and historic too. I would definitely recommend this for a brief stop.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    237
    46
    12
    10
See reviews for
162
519
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding at the Alcala Parador last Saturday. The quality of the service we and our guests have received has been truly outstanding.

The location at the heart of Alcala's stunning historic city centre and the wonderful venue guided our choice but the service quality has been even a bigger highlight.

We had +80 guests travelling from overseas and as many Spaniards and they were all delighted. We will definitely be back soon and so will many of them I am sure.

Thanks to everyone at the Parador for making the occasion unforgettable in every positive way. You have made yourselves proud.

Hasta pronto!

Antonio Almaraz Serrano

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Parador de Alcala de Henares is very conveniently located at approx 20min from Barajas airport (Madrid) and 20 min from Madrid city center. Although this is basically a business hotel, the venue is definitely recommended to stay on a private basis. Beautifully restored building in minimalistic design, yet everything oozes a warm and elegant atmosphere. The inner courtyard is so peaceful, the inhouse restaurant is of quite a high standard and the bar offers a wide selection of Gin Tonics, perfectly prepared with the appropriate toppings based on your selected choice of Gin (about 10).

The Parador has a small outside pool - peaceful, clean and modern. Although the standard rooms are quite,sophisticated and all the same, i definitely would,recommend one of the superior rooms on the 2nd floor.
There is also a nice spa - very nicely decorated and definitely a lot of things to explore such as different saunas and other wellness activities. To be recommended are the massage menus - the therapists,are very nice and very skilled.

The Parador is definitely a good meeting venue as well thanks their adjacent small conference building, accessibility and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Prices are definitely more than reasonable.

The small town, Alcala, is an historic place with an authentic center, nice old buildings and a few good tapas bars. There is an university and the home town of Cervantes ! Almost no tourists which adds to the benefit of staying in the Parador as well. H
Just one warning : most taxi drivers out of Madrid (airport) have no clue where to go - definitely a sign this is still a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Superior room on 2nd floor are very spacious - suites actually. Standard rooms are perfect as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karine1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in this Parador immensely. The innovative structure marries the remaining features from the historical building with the design and facilities of a four-star hotel, and the location within Alcala is great. Our room was fantastic, but perhaps most pleasing was the fact that the appropriately attentive staff went out of their way to help, not least catering for a gluten-free diet (something which furrows many a brow in Spanish restaurants).

Whilst paradores are never the cheapest option, we found it to be very good value for money, especially as we used their 'five-night card', which gives the equivalent of a rate of €110 per room per night (with breakfast).

Room Tip: Not a point about the rooms per se, but it is worth applying via their website for an 'Amigos de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hispanisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a beautifully restored convent, turned hotel. I have nothing but praise for the redesign of the place which is sympathetic yet modern.
It is lovely to walk into a hotel room which doesn't have the standard layout. My room was huge, well designed, spotless and comfortable. Loved the shower!
I was there on business but can easilt see myself staying there for relaxation.
I'd have given it a 5 but the food was AWFUL.....4 cold scallops for 22euro, breakfast was poor, and lunch dire. Spain is a food heaven for me so I'd eat out next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This Parador is hosted in a XVII century building, but do not expect to find ancient furnitures or old ages atmospheres... everything has been restored in a modern way, which is a little in conflict with the expectations for an "historical" Parador.
Anyway even if inside it seems more a modern wellness centre instead of a convent, the building is in the center of the town and close to almost anything remarkable.
When we stayed in town there was a well organized medieval fest in the street of the center (I suppose it is an yearly event happening on October) and it was a good surprise to wander among stands with handcraft and street food sellers (even if this "masked" a little the original look of the town).
Rooms, service and breakfast are high level as always in Paradores; undergroung parking is available at a daily fee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed at a number of Paradores and adore them. We chose to stay at Alcala de Henares while we were visiting Madrid. The Parador is fantastic. Yes, there is part of it that has been built in a historic building, but everything is updated and modern. The rooms are elegant Spanish design, with limestone bathrooms and lovely appointments. It is a romantic setting for couple, even when the hotel is hosting a conference. The food at the restaurant and cafe is terrific, and the hotel was gracious and let us have an early breakfast before heading out to catch a very early international flight.

The town of Alcala de Henares is charming.... a university town. However, it is about 30/40 minutes from Madrid. This meant we had a bit of a commute (and a car in Madrid for the day) but the lodgings were so comfortable, the commute seemed worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakotaroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alcala De Henares hotels
0.8 mi away
Rafaelhoteles Forum Alcala
Rafaelhoteles Forum Alcala
#2 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zouk Motel
Zouk Motel
#3 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.5 mi away
AC Hotel Alcala de Henares
AC Hotel Alcala de Henares
#5 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Bedel
Hotel El Bedel
#9 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Madrid Alcala de Henares la Garena
Ibis Madrid Alcala de Henares la...
#4 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Madrid Alcala de Henares
Ibis Budget Madrid Alcala de Hen...
#6 of 19 in Alcala De Henares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Alcala de Henares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Alcala de Henares

Property: Parador de Alcala de Henares
Address: Calle Colegios 8, 28801 Alcala De Henares, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Alcala De Henares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Alcala De Henares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Alcala de Henares 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the birthplace of Cervantes, where every nook and cranny oozes art and culture, stands the Parador de Alcala, a 17th-century monastery school and student lodgings located in the former San Jeronimo College. However, do not let so much history overwhelm you, because the hotel offers the perfect combination of tradition and avant-garde. The interior decor is of a modern design: tasteful, minimalist and extremely elegant. The services are without par: in addition to the standard offerings at Paradores, there is a spa, business center, convention centers and twelve conference rooms. 26 Kilometers from Madrid, 20 kilometers from Barajas International Airport and the trade fair facilities at IFEMA, and just 2 kilometers from the train station, the Parador's location in this World Heritage City is one of its main advantages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Alcala de Henares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing