We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alcobendas
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in the middle of an industrial zone. It is quite impossible to reach to civilization without a vehicle or a taxi, and you know, taxi drivers in Madrid like to get money for nothing.
I tried to go to the supermarket in the nearness and it was really an adventure. For instance, going to Diversia could be quite dangerous, because there is no path to cross the motorway.
Regarding the hotel, it is funny that even if you are in the third floor, the lift always go through the reception in the first floor.
Me and some colleagues took two small biers and one coke, and the price was 7.5 Euros, quite expensive, though. And we had to wait to the waiter for about five minutes. Additionally, there was people with the tablet (possibly employees) talking in Latin spanish through Skype or something similar. Too much noise.
Regarding the breakfast, bad quality and poor offer, and the coffee was simply dirty water. I would recommend to have breakfast outside, because the quality was simply fair.
Regarding the room, the place was more or less ok, taking into account that covering courtains were fixed with insulating tape.
A thing that I noticed is that in the bathroom were almost nothing. I forgot tooth-paste at home, and they provided me for free in the reception desk.
About Internet, 4 Euros and hour, so so expensive in this connected world.
Rooms were not cleaned properly, with vacuum cleaner, so I have found rests from previous guest in my room.
Well, the quality can be improved a lot, the location not. Anyway kind people in reception desk.

Room Tip: All rooms are isolated in the right way, so all locations in the hotel are right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jator-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Jator-C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will address them with the appropriate departments.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    100
    75
    16
    13
See reviews for
71
39
16
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A perfect location if you need to visit one of the many businesses on the vast industrial estates that surround this hotel - also a useful stopover if driving. Otherwise, it can feel isolated with few restaurants or other amenities nearby. Central Madrid is around 60 minutes away by Metro from La Granja station which is around an 800 metre walk from the hotel. The hotel is clean and functional with friendly and helpful reception and restaurant staff. Rooms are spacious and reasonably equipped but my TV could only pick up one channel and could not be re-tuned - very poor in 2014. The non-inclusive wi-fi is also ridiculously expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swetrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Swetrat,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the internet service and the TV channel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed there for 5 days. The heating only worked during the first day, on the next day they had some water pipes repairing done and the water was yellow for 2 days. I travel a lot however at this hotel not only the breakfast choices were extremely limited, but they were really bad tasting as well - worse breakfasts i had in my entire life. Other than this, the room was clean, WiFi signal much better than in other Holiday Inn hotels and the staff was pretty friendly. I would not stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MariaGiurca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear MariaGiurca,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alcobendas hotels

Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip, which was close to the venue of my meetings. The room I had was very neat and tidy with good facilities. The only issue for me was the availability of food in the area and the reliance on the food in the hotel on an evening. The restaurants in the area serve the local businesses and they close down early as the business people in the area go home after work. You have to travel away to find other restaurants which I didn't have time to do, so the evening meal was taken in the hotel and while it was acceptable, the food wasn't brilliant.
Having said that the breakfasts were good.

I may well need to come back for further meetings with a particular company and will definitely use this hotel next time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil631158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Unfortunately I had my laptop bag stolen from the hotel during my stay. Which as you can imagine is a huge inconvenience as all my company and personal effects were stolen, including passport, sensitive data, documents, laptop, hard drives, car & house keys, satellite navigation and more. Security at the hotel is non existent and very poor. The CCTV is basic and doesnt cover important areas. The general staff at the hotel were good yet the way in which my theft was handled was not very sympathetic. I also learnt that this is NOT the first time this has happened at the hotel, yet nothing has been done to mitigate security risks. Gangs clearly operate in the area and see this as a soft target as they can simply walk into the hotel unchallenged. Very dissapointed and disheartened as an IHG Club member.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear belboy15,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel is nice, pleasant and clean room, nice breakfast. It is close to the Metro (less than 10 min walk).
There is a large shopping center (5 minute walk).
The staff was nice.
Internet connectionn costs money, but there are some hot spots in the lobby/breakfast room where you can catch wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bianca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here 2 nights ago on our way from UK to Southern Spain after a long, long drive. Arrived late (midnight) and just needed somewhere to put our heads down for a few hours before heading off again at 6am.

Large, clean rooms. Agrre that they should advise you that in order for the aircon to work you have to make sure the windows are locked - it's not obvious!

Good bathroom, although they could do with using decent sized towels.

Excellent value at 49euro inculding tax and breakfast - can't comment on this as we did not stop to eat.

We were able to park right outside in front of the hotel (our car was packed with luggage and our dogs - who were not permtted in the hotel - were sleeping in there). The night security guy sits looking out the window at the front, so we were happy that our car and pooches were safe!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcobendas
0.1 mi away
Ibis Madrid Alcobendas
Ibis Madrid Alcobendas
#3 of 8 in Alcobendas
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel uVe Alcobendas
Hotel uVe Alcobendas
#2 of 8 in Alcobendas
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Gran Madrid
Eurostars Gran Madrid
#5 of 8 in Alcobendas
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel  Madrid Aeropuerto T4
B&B Hotel Madrid Aeropuerto T4
#1 of 6 in San Sebastian de los Reyes
296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rafaelhoteles Madrid Norte
Rafaelhoteles Madrid Norte
#1 of 8 in Alcobendas
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amura Alcobendas Hotel
Amura Alcobendas Hotel
#4 of 8 in Alcobendas
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas

Property: Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas
Address: M-603 Carretera de Fuencarral Km 15 | Esquina Calla Metalurgia 1-3, 28108 Alcobendas, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Alcobendas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Alcobendas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn Madrid Alcobendas, your best selection to stay in the North of Madrid. Easily accessible through the Motorway A1, the hotel is located close to the Industrial Park of Alcobendas next to the Rio Norte shopping mall and at only 500 meters from the Moraleja Business Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Alcobendas Hotel Alcobendas
Holiday Inn Alcobendas
Alcobendas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing