We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Las Ventas de Velazquez
Ranked #3 of 219 Restaurants in Getafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We were shopping in the area and found this place on Trip Advisor. The reviews looked good so we thought we would give it a try. The bar was full of people eating, which is a very good sign in Spain. We ordered a couple of drinks at the bar and were offered to select the tapa. Which was delicious. We decided to go with the Rabo de Toro between us and it was excellent. In fact it was too much for both of us to share. We would definitely go back again.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank P2173XQtimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent service, very good food! Traditional spanish dishes. The restaurant speciality is bull tail stew.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Szatmari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Visiting Spain again, now a year later, we looked very much forward to dining at Ventas. Took a cab from Madrid city center to come out to this wonderful, local restaurant and again we weren't disappointed! It is a family-run business and the same servers welcomed us back. It felt like home. The sangria, the decor and the delicious homemade bread (we dipped in olive oil and salt and pepper) were a good way to enjoy the experience while awaiting our order. We had to force ourselves to stop eating the bread so that we could have room for the food! The food comes out quickly and is beautiful. The Dourada, the red mullet, and the lamb chops were all divine. The large, fresh, fried calamari are the best, along with the huge, sweet, green asparagus grilled in sea salt and olive oil. We were treated to a chocolate (like Bailey's) and a lemon aperitif to help digest this amazing meal. A true, local experience.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gabymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The food was just like your grandmother would cook. The artichokes are great and the stewed meat was tender and a bit spicy.
This more like a museum than a restaurant and it's amazing. There is bull fighting photos, costumes and mounted toros-bull heads on the wall.
There is a bar in the front area and the restaurant is in the back.
It was closed on Tuesday.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank TaniaProsdocimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

One day I saw a lot of people in this restaurant so next day I tried to eat there. I ordered Dorado fish, squid and white vine. Fish was very dry, squids were the same as everywhere and vine was okay. For this pleasure I had to pay around 30 eur it was not worth it in my opinion. Of course interior shows that this place has a history.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mantas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Ventas de Velazquez also viewed

Getafe, Community of Madrid
Getafe, Community of Madrid
 
Getafe, Community of Madrid
Getafe, Community of Madrid
 
Getafe, Community of Madrid
Getafe, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Las Ventas de Velazquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing