We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel near El Escorial”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Escorial Victoria Palace
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Good Hotel near El Escorial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

TA have this in Madrid! It is actually very close to the Escorial Palace in San Lorenzo de El Escorial. We were very pleased with it. The only drawback is that you cannot park there but there is an underground park nearby.

Our room was slightly small but had the quietest and best aircon of our Spanish tour. Breakfast was really good with some healthy juices we had never seen before and did not again in Spain. You take breakfast in a long period room that overlooks a nice park. The fit out of the Hotel is very good with a lovely old central staircase preserved amid modern rooms. Wifi was good too,.

We were there at the same time as a Porsche team meeting so perhaps it has their stamp of approval too. We would recommend it over the Best Western and other Hotels for its situation and service delivery.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    125
    70
    28
    17
See reviews for
73
167
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We went to San Lorenzo for a conference, but the place where it was held and where we were supposed to stay messed up so they put us in this hotel for just one night. I had a huge room on the third floor. It surprisingly did not have any bathroom door - I guess it was meant for cupples or something. However the room was very nicely furnished with a coffee maker, electric kettle, selection of teas and coffee and there were even some slippers in the bathroom and a robe :-). The view from the window was quite spectacular. I liked the large selection of flavored lose leaf teas you could make yourself in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was my first time in El Escorial and it was a great weekend. The town is quiet but there are a lot of places where you can eat really well and not expensive and during the weekends there is a geat atmosphere in the town. The Monastery is a must visit only 5 min walking from the hotel. The staff in the hotel were so nice and the rrom was great with a balcony with the view of the town and a small living room between the balcony and the bedroom. The best advice I can give you, go in the summer time if you can in order to enjoy the swimming pool. It is gourgeous and even the day we did the check out in the hotel, they allowed us to use it all the time we wanted. Great service as always in NH hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaisie7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel is in a great location close to everything in El Escorial. The website is impressive and the building is very grand. Unfortunately the room we had did not match this grand impression. It was small, the red MDF furniture was chipped, the walls were scuffed and it was generally shabby - not like the ones on the website. The staff where very friendly and helpful though but couldn't help when we asked for the double room we had booked or to change the sheet that was ripped. It's a shame because it has so much potential. The website also shows a very appealing pool which wasn't open in late may - no mention of this though. Like other visitors, you could also hear people in the other rooms opening windows!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights in mid-November 2012, to attend a seminar held in the nearby Euroforum Infantes. Reception desk, lobby aera and breakfast room seemed old, but were very well maintained. Room was spotless, cosy, offering nice view out of the window in both sides of the hotel. Beds were very comfortable and all accomodation facilities were sufficient. Wi-fi connection was occasionally slow. Breakfast was delicious, with a fine selection of hot dishes, mainly omelettes, prepared upon request. Only a 5-minute walk to both El Escorial bus station and the Monastery. Overall a nice experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drazen1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We drove into El Escorial very late at night, and left early on the following morning. There was not much parking space available in the hotel area but the staff helped us to squeeze in. We had a basic room without any extra upgrades: it was a bit worn out but clean, with a lot of space and nice views.

The monastery was just behind the corner, and within a few blocks there were several nice cafeterias/bistros offering breakfast, also outdoors. It was very straightforward to drive to the hotel, it was located along the way from the Madrid highway exit to the monastery.

Room Tip: The rooms on the entrance side have a streetview, the garden side has wider views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London / East Midlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Monastery here is a must see and no better base to have is this hotel located just a few minutes walk away.
We paid a trifle more for a large room with a large bathroom with plenty of toiletries. The buffet breakfast was more than sufficient and we were offered plenty of freshly cooked food if so required by the on hand friendly waiting staff.
The prices charged would put most of our UK hotels to shame let alone our so called 'budget' establishments! Well maintained, clean, quiet accommodation at budget prices. No contest.

Room Tip: At these prices pay the extra for superior accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lorenzo de El Escorial
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Martin
Hotel De Martin
#2 of 7 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Don Jaime
Hotel Posada Don Jaime
#1 of 7 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Lanceros Hotel
Los Lanceros Hotel
#5 of 7 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#4 of 7 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Torreblanca
Hotel Rural Torreblanca
#1 of 1 in Guadarrama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Los Cinco Enebros
Hotel Los Cinco Enebros
#1 of 1 in Robledo de Chavela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Escorial Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Escorial Victoria Palace

Property: El Escorial Victoria Palace
Address: Calle Juan de Toledo 4 | El Escorial, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain (Formerly NH El Escorial Victoria Palace)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Hotel Class:4 star — El Escorial Victoria Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 kilometers from Madrid in a setting of exquisite natural beauty, the NH El Escorial Victoria Palace hotel in San Lorenzo de El Escorial can be found just 200 meters from the El Escorial monastery and palace, which is considered to be one of the architectural marvels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Escorial Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing