We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The people who manage this hotel should be ashamed of themselves. This has been the worst hotel experience I have had by far. 1. The room is not big enough for one person let alone 2. There literally wasn't room for me to walk out of bed to the door without hitting into the desk. 3. The cleanliness is atrocious.. The bathtub had pink and black mildew in it when we checked in. They did not change the sheets or towels the whole time we stayed. Just refilled them and re made the bed. 4. Walls are paper thin. I could literally hear every word of my neighbors conversations. 5. If you want to go anyplace other than el Escorial during your stay it is a headache and a very long trip there and back. 2 hours atleast there and back to Madrid. 6. The wifi never works. Days at a time without it working.
It has just been a nightmare. The main problem for me has been how disgusting the bathroom was and knowing that those same people who "clean" the bathroom "clean" and change my bedding too. I just felt gross during my whole stay. I'm checking out and going to different hotel as we speak it has been such an awful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Customer5389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCORIALHOTELES, Director General at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Customer5,
Thank you for the time you took in writing your opinion. There is always a lot to learn from our customer’s opinions.
After reading your opinion, we can say that we know exactly who you are, but due to professional reasons we won’t mention it here. Although, this is very important for us and helps us a lot to know how things developed.
First of all, you say your room was small. Your room is exactly 26 m2. We definitely think that our Superior rooms have a good size to accommodate 2 people. And they would be more than great to accommodate one person as it was your case. When you say that there was no enough space to move around. We think it was most sure because of your stuff spread out as we will say about it later.
Regarding the cleaning matter. We don’t really know exactly what you mean. It is reported that you didn’t allow the waitress to clean your room almost half of your long stay at the Hotel. And by the time the waitress entered the room there was a lot of your stuff spread all over the floor of the room (clothes, empty bottles, food, etc…) so it was almost impossible to clean the room in an appropriate way.
Regarding the paper thin walls. Most part of our building, and more exactly the room where you were, is located on a building from the 16th century. Some of our outside walls are 1 meter wide. It is very probably that you could hear some conversations from your neighbors but for sure the walls are not than thin as you think.
About the distance to Madrid. Sure we respect your opinion, but you should know that we are only 45 minutes’ drive from Madrid downtown. You have different options to get to Madrid either by bus or train. This is exactly one of the reasons that makes El Escorial a singular place not so far from the big city of Madrid.
Regarding the wireless connection issue. It is not true that the connection has been down for some days. We assumed that there was some periods where it was not working as well as it should. May be you forgot what your Director first told you about this. “There is not local institution capable of giving good internet connection to 100 persons of our group at same time”.
You finally decided to change your room to other Hotel. It is good to mention that the other Hotel you moved to already knew about your behavior. It seems that you had visited them before and had maintained an inappropriate behavior around. That’s probably why they couldn’t give you a room at the first time. After talking to them we both agreed to share costs and give you a free room for your last 2 days of stay in El Escorial.
Thank you again for your rating, which help us to improve our services.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Hotel Florida certainly sets the bar high for customer satisfaction - and they have succeeded in all aspects. From check-in to check-out 7 days later there is not one negative to be found.

Pre-booked over TripAdvisor through Expedia I was somewhat uncertain of what would be in store on our arrival. We were upgraded to a large room with a balcony and view over the street to the Monastery with a large bathroom, good shower - a great place to call home for a week. Reception staff were so friendly and accommodating with nothing a problem and they went out of their way to ensure we were happy. Look out for Camelia - she is a gem and couldn't have done more for us.

We ate (and drank) at the restaurant - mainly on the street which was a great environment for our own quiet moments or when socialising with colleagues and newly acquired friends. The restaurant staff were excellent - friendly at all times and always cheerful and of great assistance in translating our English to Spanish.

We recommend the Hotel Florida very highly (as high as we possibly can) as they deserve your patronage and We are sure that you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Although the front rooms overlook the street the atmosphere is great. If at leisure during the day t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCORIALHOTELES, Director Comercial at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Estimated Mike R,
Thank you very much for the time spent in reporting such a positive and detailed opinion about our Hotel. It makes us so happy to hear that you have obtained such a high satisfaction level in all the services we have offered you in your long stay : the choice of room was very successful for your needs, our restaurant staff, to which will move your greeting, especially to our colleague Camelia.
We will be pleased to assist you again if you return to visit us from your beautiful country.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have been here with friends visiting some other friends at El Escorial. The hotel was nice, good relation price-quality. We were in a triple room with views to the Monasterio. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donatofirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESCORIALHOTELES, Director Comercial at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Donatofirenze,
Thank you for your opinión about our hotel. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your experience in Hotel Florida.
If you visit us again please ask us about our restaurant with a grill and a wood oven. I am sure you will also like the menú we can offer you.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It took us quite some time before finding a decent accommodation for a reasonable price in El Escorial.
We checked the hostal los tres arcos: very far from the center, on a very noisy and stinky room, no breakfast included. The price was 40 euro for a 2 person room without breakfast.
We after checked the hotel Parillia Principe, which was offering a small room for 50 euro excluding breakfast.
Eventually we went to the Best Western Hotel Florida. There we got a price of 50 euro including breakfast. The normal price is 72 euro for the room plus 7.50 euro per person for the buffet breakfast.
The room was good. The water from the tap was disgusting to drink and it tasted too much of chlorine. I am not sure if it was a problem with this hotel or with the whole city of Escorial. The shower did not have a decent stream. The restaurant area could use some refurbishing.
The learning we got from this experience is: sometimes cheap hotels are more expensive than better ones. And this is what we have seen in Spain: cheap hotels are often too expensive compared to the better ones. The quality drop quickly with the price, but the price not as quickly.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vegabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Best Western Hotel Florida has one of the best locations in San Lorenzo del el Escorial. Right across from the monastery. Thew view is amazing, especially if enjoying a drink in front of the hotel. The staff is acommodating, professional and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front of the hotel provide the best views. Get a room in the second or third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTWESTERNFLORIDA, Director Comercial at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Mr. Roy,

Thanks for the time you took on writing about our business. We are very glad to hear your comments about our hotel and staff.
Your opinion is important for us.
Best regards.


Pedro Muñoz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I think this hotel can be judged in different ways, according to the room in which you stay. We were lucky to have room 114, a very large room with a big, comfortable double bed, huge bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and separate power shower and two large basins. A fridge is provided and a flat screen TV with some English language channels. The room has incredible views of the Monastery. Decor a bit tired but perfectly OK.
I imagine that if you stayed in some of the rooms used by other contributors your opinion could be completely different.
Breakfast was a bit of a joke, the waiter, although pleasant, was completely dopey and didn't seem to understand "bacon", same word in English and Spanish. Very basic breakfast, could do a lot better.
Reception staff friendly and helpful, parking OK once you know the ropes, park opposite, unload your luggage, get directions to the garage from reception, no problem.
We paid 110 euros for the room including breakfast and 10 euros for 1 night's parking, reasonable prices for such a tourist attraction area.
Be sure to visit both the Royal Monastery, best time is around 6.00pm to avoid the crowds and The Valley of the Fallen, very near to El Escorial, both very creepy places.

Room Tip: Room 114 or the room directly above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenorCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTWESTERNFLORIDA, Director Comercial at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Mr. Charlie,
Thank you very much for the time you took for writting about your experience in our hotel. This type of information is very helpful for us and allow us to improve the quality of our services.
We apologize for the misunderstading you refer at your comment. We will work on it so it won't happen with any customer again.
We thank you again for choosing us as your Hotel and invite to visit us again any time. We will be happy to serve you again.
Best regards.

Pedro Muñoz Perez
Best Western Hotel Florida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just in front of El Escorial: with wonderful morning views.
Family rooms are large and nice. The rest of the hotel is just average

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank withchildren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lorenzo de El Escorial
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Don Jaime
Hotel Posada Don Jaime
#1 of 6 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Martin
Hotel De Martin
#2 of 6 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Lanceros Hotel
Los Lanceros Hotel
#4 of 6 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Torrelodones
Hotel Torrelodones
#1 of 1 in Torrelodones
139 reviews
7.8 mi away
Galaico Hotel
Galaico Hotel
#3 of 4 in Collado Villalba
146 reviews
13.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Las Rozas
B&B Hotel Las Rozas
#1 of 7 in Las Rozas
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Floridablanca 12-14, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain (Formerly Best Western Hotel Florida)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Price Range: £41 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florida
Best Western Madrid
Best Western San Lorenzo De El Escorial
Best Western Hotel Florida
San Lorenzo De El Escorial Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing