We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, good people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Posada Don Jaime
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you have the time, it's good to stay in El Escorial overnight, rather than come up from Madrid for a few hours on the tourist excursion bus. In which case Don Jaime is an excellent solution, clean, ingenious, imaginative without overdoing it and very close to Phillip II's monastery/palace. Owners of hotel most attentive, courteous and kind. Parking is definitely a city-centre challenge, as so often even in small places in Spain, but the hotel does have a few garage spaces one door down, quite a steep turn to get into but worth asking for. We would definitely use it again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Located very near the center of town this hotel offers good, clean accommodations at very reasonable prices. Parking can be a challenge, but, in my opinion, not the “nightmare” described below. Upon arrival at the hotel, we parked street side directly in front of the hotel entrance and didn’t move the car for four days since everything of interest is within walking distance or easily accessible by public transportation.

Proprietor Ignacio is one of the most helpful individuals we ever encountered in a hotel. He provided lots of information on local walks, nearby cities, El Escorial, etc. And, where else could one find an owner donning his coat and running down the block to the local bakery for scrumptious napolitanas to go with our freshly squeezed orange juice and tasty coffee?

We selected this hotel as an alternative to dealing with city traffic in Madrid and were perfectly pleased with the outcome.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Penn_Pep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Parking a nightmare. Once you have a space you won't want to move even if it's a distance away. One way system is a difficult to navigate!!
We booked an attic room at extra cost and am still wondering why it was extra cost as it seemed more like a room knocked together in the loft of an old house as an after thought.
2 star maybe but at 4 star price.
Owner offers a personal touch on arrival with regard to visiting places to eat and visit. However his opinions are rather overwhelming !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hotel posada don Jaime

This 3-day stay was one of the highlights of our month in France and Spain! Our host Ignacio has created an oasis just 5-10 min walk from the monastery. We were in Suite 7, a spacious hideaway on the top floor with reading chairs and perfect en suite (jacuzzi w/ good shower option). Yes, there are stairs, but they are hardly the skinny spiral steps you see in many old houses, and besides, Ignacio was quick to carry our bags up. Before we left, we peeked in one of the standard rooms and felt we could also have been just fine there. However, the suite under the beams with skylight was especially cozy on the one day it rained and we enjoyed a nice afternoon reading and listening to the raindrops.

Wi-fi free, fast, and consistent. Breakfast was simple but excellent and served in another lovely room. Throughout the house, you'll see reproductions of famous Spanish paintings, artfully displayed and serving as props for some of Ignacio's suggested itineraries. TV in the living room.

Outstanding restaurant suggestion, too: Restaurante Fonda Genara a few blocks down.

Parking under the hotel with easy access IF you are prepared: either call when you're almost there or pull into the parking drive just at the end of the house & one person can ring bell for Ignacio to come out to open door and guide you. For most cars you'd have room to do this and others could get by' which would save the aggravation of circling the block. Be aware that San Antón is one-way street going down the hill, so if you miss it or traffic is a problem, you might need to circle the block. Lots of one-way streets in San Lorenzo, but this wouldn't keep us from the pleasures of being outside Madrid in such a beautiful locale.


Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mcbeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Light, clean, spacious and comfortable all in one, and very stylish. Eating recommendations were exactly right. Side street parking was easy. You are greeted with a brief mini-guide of where to go on arrival that is most helpful. (I have a plan to go back and make a painting of the building as it is so charming).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Would recommend this small charming hotel to everybody wishing to visit El Escorial. Our room was delightful (we did have their best room) and spotless with very comfortable beds and excellent linen and towels; the building is very well located and tastefully renovated: the owner charming and very helpful and informative and breakfast in the patio was simple but delicious.
Would definitely return if in the area.

Room Tip: No 8 is lovely....the most expensive but worth it I think, although I only saw one other on passing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very convenient, close to everything, nice price-quality, rooms ultraclean a very new or updated.
Mr. Ignacio & Nini so nice & helping in tourist, restaurants and Hike paths.
Very pleasant stay.
Thnks so much.
Rq & Jes

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RqyJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lorenzo de El Escorial
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Martin
Hotel De Martin
#2 of 6 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#3 of 6 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Lanceros Hotel
Los Lanceros Hotel
#4 of 6 in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel La Vina
Hotel La Vina
#1 of 2 in San Rafael
129 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Spa&Wellness Hacienda Los Robles
7.7 mi away
Galaico Hotel
Galaico Hotel
#3 of 4 in Collado Villalba
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Don Jaime

Address: Calle San Anton No. 24, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Price Range: £36 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Posada Don Jaime 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel located in a stately house in the historic inner part of San Lorenzo de El Escorial, in the middle of Guadarrama mountain range.The hotel has 8 rooms: 3 doubles, 4 junior suites and 1 senior suite, all with air conditioning, complete bathroom and suites with hidromassage showers or jacuzzi baths. The house has a garden, a mini summer swimming pool, sitting room with fireplace, dining room, meeting room, private car park, central heating and Internet facilities. Besides all activities which can be done in El Escorial and surroundings, indicated in our page, within a radius of 100 Km there are important historic cities, which you can visit in a very short time, either by car or train: Madrid (50 Km.), Aranjuez (90Km.), Alcala (70km.), Avila (60 Km.), Segovia (50 Km.), Toledo (100 Km.). We hope and wish you feel in our hotel like in your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Posada Don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Don Jaime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing