We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Escondida Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
128
18
17
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
18
17
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnerspa treatmentsget awayhot tubno cell phone servicehill countryother guestsentire weekendcomfortable roomspork tenderloinland linepeaceful experienceabsolutely love this placeeveryday lifebehind the scenesprior to our arrivalwonderful weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

De-stress, unwind, relax, rejuvenate and enjoy. Pretty much says it all for this little piece of paradise in the Texas Hill Country. The staff, out of this world in the care and feeding department. Dawn, Pam and Jennifer were there for us and made us feel right at home. Speaking of home, the meals are home cooked, no institutional type stuff here. Breakfast is just right, the hosted wine & beer with appetizers before dinner is a great touch and the dinner is superb! The Spa is full service and a delightful experience. The rooms are spacious and comfortable - there is one fully accessible room for wheelchairs. If you are headed there from the DFW area, do yourself a favor and take the back roads and stay away from I-35 - as of this writing it's a mess. And the traffic around Austin will make you want to stay at Escondida another few days to get over the traffic induced pressure. We drove to Escondida on I-35, drove home on back roads and it took less time and much less traffic.

Room Tip: Make reservations well ahead of your planned arrival. 10 rooms 1 suite can fill up rather easily during the peak season. Call Dawn to figure out when the peak season begins, plan from there.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We celebrated our anniversary with a 3 night stay. Our room was nice, the food was good and the peacefulness was perfect. We had spa treatments on each day we were there and they were great. However, the resort seemed a little tired, it needs some freshening up. It has been around a long time and it shows. Also, there is a lack of attention to detail that was disappointing as we were really looking forward to being pampered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueSue2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

No other place that I've been compares to La Escondida Resort. On our honeymoon last November we enjoyed delicious food, peace and quiet, and hospitality like none other. We went just as the leaves were turning in the fall and it was beautiful Texas hill country. We were treated like we'd been there before by both another couple and Dawn/staff. Dawn herself is an all in one packager. Chef (and I don't say chef lightly), hostess, manager, and someone we would consider a friend even though we only knew them for a couple days. We'll go back any chance we can get. Thank you for your gift to us Dawn and company.

Room Tip: Corner room was good in winter since it had a gas fireplace. But there's good about any room you stay here. We plan on trying out the Owners Suite whenever we can. Home away from home.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I am very picky and really wanted something clean, romantic and remote and we got it... the staff was very helpful and so enjoying... The grounds were clean and very peaceful.. It is a must for a remote romantic getaway. loved everything about it and we stayed in the owners suite.. love love love

Room Tip: bring an ice chest with food.. you are very remote if you want a late night snack its 14 miles away..
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I spent three amazing nights to celebrate his birthday this past weekend. The weather was perfectly conducive for our get away - unseasonably cold. From the absolutely delicious gourmet food, welcoming room with a fireplace and beautiful views our stay created some unforgettable memories. Dawn and Pam are gracious hosts and made us feel extremely comfortable and fulfilled our every need. They went above and beyond to accommodate us. We had visited Escondida once before, last fall and are planning to come back again very soon.
Thanks Pam and Dawn, you two are wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews