We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip, would definitely recommend”
Review of REO Rafting Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
REO Rafting Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome trip, would definitely recommend”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We came to REO from the UK as part of a longer trip round Canada, spent a weekend at the resort and rafted for one day. Everything about the resort was great, the staff, the food, the accommodation, and the atmosphere.

The river is incredible. I have been rafting and kayaking at other locations and the Nahatlach is by far the best white water for the job. It has so many rapids there is never a dull moment!

The accommodation is great, we had our own cabin tent complete with proper beds and linen right next to the river. The sound of the river actually helped us to sleep and the beds are super comfortable.

The guides were very good and really set us at ease, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Hats off the chef, the food was great for every meal, and of a better standard than I expected for a camping trip!

The location of the resort is right next to the river down a logging road. The Nahatlatch River Road is a gravel road for part of it so expect pot holes but these are avoidable. Once on this road, there are REO signs quite often which is reassuring as it feels like you are driving into the middle of nowhere. It all added to the adventure! It is a semi wilderness setting so we saw lots of wildlife, even on the road up to the resort, and it's great to able to truly get away from it all and relax! At the same, the resort has wifi and I got phone signal so being out of touch is optional.

The hot tub was my personal favourite facility. After a trip on the river getting splashed by very cold water, the hot tub was the perfect post rafting activity to soothe those aching muscles!

There were other activities available as well such as rock climbing, zip line, archery, but we chose to chill out on day 2 and go for a walk on the nature trail which is lovely.

All in all it was a great retreat. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring a flash light, the electricity is provided via a generator which is only on in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    30
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
69
46
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just back from a fantastic weekend in REO- the staff were so friendly, facilities were perfect, the hot-tub was the icing on the cake! Rafting was amazing- the theory was given in a lot of detail and it was all very well organized- highly recommended. We slept so well after a night by the campfire under the stars- felt like a real adventure just 3hrs from Vancouver. Thanks to all the staff for the great food, fun and for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earl10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I've been to REO twice, and can't say enough about it.

The first trip was for a work retreat. the guides, staff, and everything about the facility impressed me. If I were to make any recommendations, it would be to add more things to do while not on the river. But for most folks once you've gone down a run all you'll want to do is rest and talk about it anyways.

The second trip was for my stag. Again, amazing staff & an amazing experience. This place is top notch.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phynixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent the morning rafting August 29, 2013 for my husband's birthday. He had been once before several years ago but for my son and I it was a first that will be repeated again and again! So much fun on the river. Would love to camp next time as the tents look really cozy.

I would make this an excellent but found that $10.00 each for lunch was a little much for what we received. The website says....

Note: Lunch is not included on the regular day trip. For $10, you can add a delicious lunch featuring multi-grain bread or wraps with sliced deli meats, cheeses, condiments; choice of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetable, seasonal greens or chips; and a choice of hot or cold beverages. Deluxe and resort-style lunches for guests are also available.

That was not the case here. Next time we will pack our own lunch, otherwise, it was a spectacular day on the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our family spent six days and five nights at REO. My wife glamped, I rafted four days, rested one and the boys rafted all five days. We were offered other adventures, but even our seventeen year old couldn’t accept anything more.

Brian and Karen are too accommodating. They upgraded our tent where my wife loved the chest of drawers and shaded porch overlooking the river. Brian took us on an extra special adventure to a remote river and Karen invited my wife to eat with her family and visiting friends because we were getting back late.

On the river every day was different. We had different guides who attacked and played in the river with their unique style. The boys went on an extra guide training one afternoon. We watched Brian bump his daughter into the water to the delight and screams of her fifteen friends and sister. And the last day Brian took us through Rose Garden and Meat Grinder which had been out of bounds due to high water and timber. He then took one son and the training guides down to the pull-out at the camp to end their training and our rafting adventures.

The professional cooks made tasty, hearty meals shared by all the staff and guests alike. I was concerned when the cooks were off but the staff and their friends kept the quality, quantity, and taste to a high standard. Besides a birthday cake with a gaggle of girls, on our last night we shared a roast beef dinner putting me over-the-top.

Our family can’t say enough about the people, the place, and the trip. I recommend making your visit more than a day trip. The longer you stay, the more you will get back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin-tent right on the river. You can see the white corner in the photo. The higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The staff at REO continues to be excellent. On this trip our guide was a Kiwi named Mike who was very skilled and friendly. The kitchen staff went out of their way to accommodate our special needs. Since I was last up in 2008 the resort has obviously been undergoing continual improvement. New bathrooms, additional tent cabins, added stuff to do (zipline) and a new sandy beach.

The road on this trip was good - enough that I wasn't that worried about being on a street motorcycle - but it does vary so you should ask when you make your booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

From my experience I would definitely not recommend this company for your river rafting trip. They seems incredibly disorganized.

My husband and I booked a half day trip for our anniversary, paid for it in full almost a month in advance. They called a week before the trip to reschedule us, no big deal - things happen.

Then they called us late afternoon the day before our scheduled trip (for the next morning) to cancel it completely. Apparently they didn't have enough people to run the trip despite the fact that it had been pre-booked, payed for and already rescheduled once.

We had a hotel booked, car booked specifically for this trip. We couldn't book with another rafting company due to the extremely short notice they gave us. Very disappointed and would never book with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bend
16.9 mi away
Totem Motel
Totem Motel
#1 of 1 in Lytton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kumsheen Rafting Resort
6.7 mi away
Canyon Alpine Motel
Canyon Alpine Motel
#1 of 1 in North Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
10.0 mi away
Old Towne Inne Chuckwagon Bar & Grill
0.0 mi away
The Mighty Fraser Motel
The Mighty Fraser Motel
#2 of 2 in Boston Bar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to REO Rafting Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about REO Rafting Resort

Property: REO Rafting Resort
Address: Nahatlatch Valley, North Bend, British Columbia V0K 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > North Bend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in North Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REO Rafting Resort offers world-class whitewater and outdoor adventures on the beautiful jade-green Nahatlatch River. Only 2.5 hours from Vancouver and 4 hours from Seattle. Our adventure-style resort features 1 km of private river frontage with spectacular mountain and river views. Go whitewater rafting on the most continuous whitewater in North America suitable for first time rafters! Our upper river features 24 amazing rapids in just 8 km. That's 3 or 4 times more than most other rivers in Canada. Our safety standards are impeccable - REO has a perfect safety record for over 34 years! Back at camp enjoy the sound of rushing rapids, our private river's edge beach, hiking trails, hot tub, campfire entertainment area and volleyball. You can choose to rough it by camping in your own tent, or try "glamping" in one of our cozy cabin-tents. We have King, Queen and Single bed options. Our most popular are the Luxe King bed units and our family units that sleep 5; both styles feature river's edge decks overlooking the Nahatlatch Canyon. All overnight packages are all-inclusive of meals (no packing, no cooking, no cleaning). Our chef-prepared meals are delicious and home-style nutritious. Join REO in 2015 and find out why AAA, Frommers, international travel guides and over 85,000 happy clients recommend REO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your REO Rafting Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing