We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brillaint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duck Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Duck Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ladner B&B and Inns
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“brillaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The owners made us so ........ welcome running us about in their car . leaving us alone when we wanted, takig uss to the tube in Hamilton? and to top all this a wonderful place - great start to our Canadian Holiday

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in the Water garden unit for my partner's birthday. We were met with birthday balloons. The soaking tub on the deck was great at night. Trumpeter swans landing in our front yard(the river), sherry, smoked salmon, cute little unit.

Ladner is a cute little town, and the Sunday market was a special bonus. We will be back again to visit the Reifel Bird Sanctuary in another season, to see different birds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

My husband and I stayed in the lower suite this time for our 19th anniversary. It was so lovely. Smoked salmon and sherry. Everything you could possibly need in the kitchen and room. Just wonderful! Highest recommend! (more smoked salmon needed - mmm. yum.) Canoeing on the river (free with stay) and candlelight double super-deep soaker tub on the deck plus the best hosts to boot.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolaandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Am I ever glad a friend recommended the Duck Inn.
The first thing that struck me was the beautiful view of the Fraser River with all it's wildlife.
Loved the warm glow of the fireplace and felt peacefull and immediatly at home and at ease.
Felt like a princess in the king size feather bed, everything was nice and clean and the owners have thought of everything.
In the mornings I had the freedom to choose when and what I ate, the fridge was well stocked.
The coffee is always fresh and the aroma fills the whole cottage while you grind your own beans and brew it to your liking.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heron5382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We arrived late on Friday night so we couldn't completely appreciate the location until we woke the next morning. Mother Nature did not cooperate, but we made the best of our stay, watching birds outside our window and the tide come in and out.

We didn't have an opportunity to explore the area in the canoes - too windy, too rainy, and when the weather finally cleared, too shallow - the tide had gone out.

It was a unique experience in a unique location. A great place to escape from the ordinary.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank local181793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

This was our 6th or 7th stay at the Duck Inn, and it was as lovely as always. The owners are wonderful enjoyable people who are never too busy to chat for a moment, or share their love of the area and travel stories in general. If they are off exploring the world in their own travels, their house and inn sitters are always a joy, people who share a passion for making your stay special.

We have been coming here for 10+ years, and have stayed in all seasons and all weather. Walking in the front door is like coming home. Our stresses instantly melt away, and no matter how much is on our shoulders it is all lifted. Both cottages are lovely, and we have stayed in each, however our favorite is Willow Cottage, for it's homey comfortable touches, wood fireplace and use of the floating hot tub in the Florida room.

This last stay was a last minute getaway from our busy life, and 3 busy teenagers. We made a beautiful dinner, played a few board games, watched a movie, and soaked in the hot tub enjoying a nice bottle of wine from a local winery. We fell into the king sized feather bed, and were instantly asleep, the deepest most satisfying sleep we have had in ages. Woke to a gentle sunrise over the river and enjoyed a spectacular breakfast with a even more impressive view! Allen's smoked salmon is amazing! I wish we could stay more often as it is the perfect way to reconnect.

Parking is never a problem, and you are easily within a 5 min drive to anything you could want, including some lovely restaurants in case you don't want to stay in and cook.

Make sure to check out Westham Island Winery , Reifel Bird Sanctuary, and Keith's Veggie Market, all within a 10 min drive.

Tip : Willow cottage is up a fairly steep narrow set of stairs, so if you are mobility challenged, or prefer a level entrance, make sure to book the Water Garden.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlitmists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

The owners double booked us with another couple. After making our daughter sleep on the floor of a cottage designed for a couple, they were then forced to move her down the road to another bed and breakfast because they could not accomodate us. The owners insisted that it was our fault and that we had shown up early until we showed them the e-mail they had sent us confirming our reservation for the dates. Double booking and blaming the customer- awful, awful, awful!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twilight8047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanticRiverfront, Owners at Duck Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2010
We are very sorry to hear that this family, who stayed at the Duck Inn from July 12 to 18, 2008 (not 2009) were so dissatisfied with their visit. We did make an error with their reservation, but it was not an overbooking, nor did they arrive a day earlier than scheduled.
What happened was that when we were discussing their stay on the phone, we told them that Willow Cottage, our two bedroom suite, was only available July 15 to 18, but that they were welcome to spend their first three nights in the smaller Water Garden Cottage at a lower rate, with a foam mattress for their young adult daughter. They agreed to this plan. However, in our confirmation letter to them, we mistakenly wrote that they would only be staying two nights in the Water Garden and then moving to Willow Cottage for five nights. They arrived on July 12 and were disappointed to find that they would be spending three nights in the smaller cottage.
The next morning, when they told us their daughter was unhappy with the sleeping arrangement, we voluntarily reserved a cottage for her for two nights at a B and B a short distance away, and paid for it ourselves. Everyone seemed satisfied with the solution and we thought the parents enjoyed having the Water Garden to themselves.
On July 15, the family moved to our Willow Cottage, where the daughter had a room and half bath to herself. She celebrated her birthday on July 16 and we gave her a blown glass heart paperweight to mark the occasion. She seemed pleased and thanked us for the gift.
We felt that we had done everything we could to rectify our error, and certainly did not hold them responsible for what was a mistake on our part.
Since they seem to feel very strongly about this, we would be happy to refund them the amount of their first night’s stay if they wish to contact us privately to arrange the details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 2 in New Westminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Inn

Property: Duck Inn
Address: 4349 River Rd W, Ladner, Delta, British Columbia V4K 1R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Delta > Ladner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ladner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two romantic waterfront cottages, perched on pilings on the Fraser River in the historic fishing village of Ladner just south of Vancouver. Fireplaces, king featherbeds; living rooms with TV-VCR-DVD-CD, phone, high speed internet; kitchens with gourmet breakfast treats; large private balconies; wonderful water views. Unique floating Hot Tub and deep soaker tub. Explore the river in our canoe, barbecue under the riverside weeping willow, relax in hammocks, feed the ducks and swans from your private dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Duck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing