We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Double booking ruined our trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duck Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ladner B&B and Inns
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Double booking ruined our trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

The owners double booked us with another couple. After making our daughter sleep on the floor of a cottage designed for a couple, they were then forced to move her down the road to another bed and breakfast because they could not accomodate us. The owners insisted that it was our fault and that we had shown up early until we showed them the e-mail they had sent us confirming our reservation for the dates. Double booking and blaming the customer- awful, awful, awful!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twilight8047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanticRiverfront, Owners at Duck Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2010
We are very sorry to hear that this family, who stayed at the Duck Inn from July 12 to 18, 2008 (not 2009) were so dissatisfied with their visit. We did make an error with their reservation, but it was not an overbooking, nor did they arrive a day earlier than scheduled.
What happened was that when we were discussing their stay on the phone, we told them that Willow Cottage, our two bedroom suite, was only available July 15 to 18, but that they were welcome to spend their first three nights in the smaller Water Garden Cottage at a lower rate, with a foam mattress for their young adult daughter. They agreed to this plan. However, in our confirmation letter to them, we mistakenly wrote that they would only be staying two nights in the Water Garden and then moving to Willow Cottage for five nights. They arrived on July 12 and were disappointed to find that they would be spending three nights in the smaller cottage.
The next morning, when they told us their daughter was unhappy with the sleeping arrangement, we voluntarily reserved a cottage for her for two nights at a B and B a short distance away, and paid for it ourselves. Everyone seemed satisfied with the solution and we thought the parents enjoyed having the Water Garden to themselves.
On July 15, the family moved to our Willow Cottage, where the daughter had a room and half bath to herself. She celebrated her birthday on July 16 and we gave her a blown glass heart paperweight to mark the occasion. She seemed pleased and thanked us for the gift.
We felt that we had done everything we could to rectify our error, and certainly did not hold them responsible for what was a mistake on our part.
Since they seem to feel very strongly about this, we would be happy to refund them the amount of their first night’s stay if they wish to contact us privately to arrange the details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

My partner and I celebrated our legal marriage (we both just moved from the states) and as usual I planned our trip last minute. I actually found the Duck Inn on www.vrbo.com. We arrived late at the Inn after a whirlwind day of getting married and going out for dinner with our family. It was so beautiful, and welcoming to come to the Water Cottage. The suite was warm and welcoming. We loved the deep tub on the veranda, the treats that waited for us. The gas fireplace was so warm and homey. We loved the feather bed and the rainwater shower. The owners thought of absolutely everything. They gave us a gift to celebrate our love, there was sherry to drink and chocolates by our bedsides. The view is awesome, the best part of the place is the privacy and that every need is thought of before you even think of it yourself. I think every couple should stay there at least once in their lives. I already dream about the day we can return. If it had been possible, we would have moved in.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pokergirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

very, very expensive for what you get. 200 per night? Frilly, tacky, kitchy and lots of dirt collecting in the nooks and crannies. Interesting neighbours who like to party into the late evening. Not very noise proof. Would not ever consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consumerreport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanticRiverfront, Owner at Duck Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2009
This couple did not stay at the Duck Inn at any time between July1 and July 5, 2009 as they claim.
$200 a night? Not this year!
And many colourful adjectives have been used to describe the quirky collections of ducks in our cottages, but "frilly" has never been one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with this B & B we decided to go into the B & B business ourselves. We were on the last leg of our trip around the world and stayed with B & B's all through the trip and found this place truly one of the best world wide. The host are wonderful and the place is magical. Location is perfect. The accommodation is second to none. A few years later after the trip, if somebody asked me to describe the place I still can. Truly a memorable place.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daycare58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

if you weren't aware of it already,the Duck Inn is one of the most unique and beautiful places in Vancouver.My wife and myself were planning a trip to see my daughter for her sweet 16th and a belated honeymoon.well we had no idea what to expect ehen we booked but when we arrived we were met by the two most wonderful, beautiful people you could ever meet.Owners Jill and Allen bent over backwards to meet our every whim.i would have to spend 3 hours typing to fully explain our experience,but my typing is limited(lol).I will say this "it's a little piece of heaven" that they have and it is sooo comfortable and warm that you have to check it out for yourself.i would recommend it to lovers,family or naturalists as everything is there for you to
explore ...ocean,wildlife,food or just plain relaxation.We were treated as if we were royalty..thanks again Jill and Allen and of course Willow..hope she gets better!...and the ducks,swans and sea lions.
thanks again
Jerry,Kelly and Kelsey

  • Liked — warm and cosy
  • Disliked — didn't get to feed the sea lions! "their cute"
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeytweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takapuna, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

My wike and I stayed at The Duck Inn for 2 nights in the Water Garden on the way back to New Zealand from a 2 month holiday in Europe. We wanted to break the long flight and scheduled a 4 day stopover in Vancouver with 2 days at The Duck Inn in Ladner to have a look around Vancouver thinking of a longer stay in the future.
Vancouver and our hotel were OK, but the Duck Inn was so fabulously peaceful we didn't want to leave. From the moment we arrived and Allen showed us around until we left 2 days later, we just lazed around on the deck, cooked dinners on the bbq, soaked in the relaxing 2 person bath on the deck, ate the fantastic breakfast left in the fridge for us including Allen's smoked salmon and fed the ducks.
The kitchenette is well equiped, the bed soft, the shower soft and wet, TV, DVD, Gas fireplace, bbq.

  • Liked — Peace, solitude, great supermarkets nearby, bathtub
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wigwam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

We stayed at the Duck Inn for 3 weeks over the Christmas holidays. There was 3 of us, my husband, myself and our fur-kid (dog). We have family on the lower mainland but didn't want to stay with them as we were there for a significant period of time, and we were delighted with our choice of the Duck Inn (B&B). They have 2 suites, the Water Garden (lower) and the Willow Cottage (upper). The inn is right on the river and overlooks the river and north shore mountains, there were swans and ducks swimming by all the time - and there is bird food provided for you to feed them if you'd like.

We stayed in the Willow Cottage, it was cozy, clean and comfortable. It is overflowing with duck "nick nacks", pretty much everything is a duck - but it's cute, not annoying. The suite had a great wood fireplace and an amazing view of the river, it was so cozy! The king size bed was covered with a feather bed, and had amazing pillows - very comfy! There is also a small room at the back of the suite with two single beds, it's totally geared towards kids, they would love it. The suite had a full fridge, stove, microwave, and every other kitchen appliance or utensil we needed.

From the very first correspondence we had with Jill and Allen there were pleasant, friendly, welcoming and very helpful. They are lovely people, and really go above and beyond to make you feel at home. Their version of breakfast was perfect for us as we don't really care for traditional B&B style "group" breakfasts. At the Duck Inn they stock the unit with old-fashioned milk (so good, trust us on this you will not want to go back to the other stuff!), cereals, coffee, tea, bagels, baguettes, pancake mix, farm fresh eggs.... and on and on - it's terrific!

They were very welcoming to our dog, they set up a welcome basket for her and were very kind to her.

On occassion we could hear the people downstairs, but only once was it late at night, and I'm sure if we had notified Jill and Allen they would fix it right away - they have a quiet hours policy, which we welcomed.

We would not classify this as a luxury inn or B&B, but it's clean, cozy and comfortable and much better than staying in a hotel - it's a home away from home with everything you need for a great getaway.

We recommened staying here, and would stay again ourselves.

  • Liked — The cozy wood fireplace!
  • Disliked — Occassionally we could hear people downstairs, but I'm sure they could hear us too, and it wasn't that bad.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank strattc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Inn at the Quay
#1 of 2 in New Westminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Inn

Property: Duck Inn
Address: 4349 River Rd W, Ladner, Delta, British Columbia V4K 1R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Delta > Ladner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ladner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two romantic waterfront cottages, perched on pilings on the Fraser River in the historic fishing village of Ladner just south of Vancouver. Fireplaces, king featherbeds; living rooms with TV-VCR-DVD-CD, phone, high speed internet; kitchens with gourmet breakfast treats; large private balconies; wonderful water views. Unique floating Hot Tub and deep soaker tub. Explore the river in our canoe, barbecue under the riverside weeping willow, relax in hammocks, feed the ducks and swans from your private dock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Duck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing