We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice vacation, Room just OK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice vacation, Room just OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just returned from a week at Grotto Bay Beach Resort and had a wonderful time!! The place is very unpretentious, staff all very friendly, lots of fun activities available. But our room (433) was outdated, lighting poor, beds were not great and worst of all, we could hear every word of the people in the next room! There was a door connecting the two rooms where the noise was coming through. We were in the room for a few days before anyone was in the next room, so we didn't complain to management...but at one point we did knock on the door and asked the noisy neighbors to tone it down, and they did (mostly). But we certainly were not going to let any of that keep us from enjoying such a beautiful island, and such happy people. We rented the little skiffs a few times, explored Coopers Reserve beaches, took the buses and ferries from end to end, visited forts and churches, enjoyed the heated pool and the caves, and made it for tea and cookies (which they served every afternoon) once or twice. There were lots of activities for kids, but not much going on for teenagers. We enjoyed watching the kids kite flying on Good Friday, a Bermuda tradition.
Reading other people's reviews makes me think we just got a bum room...wish I could've seen some of the other rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancerap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    914
    261
    108
    68
See reviews for
584
1,113
88
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
146 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We were very taken by our visit to Grotto Bay. We were only passing through to hire a Boston Whaler on the shores of the hotel.
Passing through I loved the homely colonial feel and the friendly staff.
On the way back up the hill someone pointed out a cave to the side. Low and behold it was a cave with a pool where you could swim. So we did - what am unexpected treat.
I also believe there is another cave where they have a spa and do massages.
This is next on my list!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miss-sip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were a little nervous about this trip, as it was a last minute booking!
A review had commented about the feral cats around the resort and our son is terrified of cats. However, when we got there, we found out that there were around 4 cats in total who have lived at the resort for years. They must be well looked after, as they came nowhere near the outdoor food area. In fact they actually stay in one area near the caves and are well behaved. Our son was not bothered by them at all.

The resort has a community spirit to it and everyone we had dealings with from Reception, Dining, Concierge and the pool area, really could not do enough for us at every level. Nothing was a problem. Even the hotel customers were so friendly, everyone we passed would say hello or good evening.

We were on the all-inclusive package, which I would highly recommend. The food was excellent. We had a choice of continental or buffet breakfast. Lunch was a la carte by the pool and then we had a choice of 2 restaurants with a la carte menus for dinner. One evening my younger son was exhausted and couldn't get up for dinner, so my husband had to stay with him in the room. The waiters noticed 2 of our party missing for dinner and insisted we take dinner for them in the room. They packed up the dinner in takeaway boxes without any trouble. They were so attentive!

The hotel is a 2 minute drive from the airport which costs around $10. Having said that, we didn't hear the planes taking off or landing but you can see them.

The hotel had given us bus passes for the duration of our stay. The bus services are excellent and adhere to the timetable. We managed to see the Island with help of those passes. There are bus stops right outside the hotel for both directions, all very convenient. These passes also allowed you a 20 min trip on the ferry to the Docklands.

I can't recommend this hotel enough, we had a fabulous trip and will have fond memories of Bermuda because of this hotel. We would go back tomorrow. Apart from the rooms probably needing a little updating, I would call this a 5 star hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms will give you the morning sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

What an incredible place to stay. From the warm greeting at the front steps to the staff throughout the resort, the entire trip was indeed magical. What started as a vacation we changed to a wedding and the wedding planner on site was amazing. She helped with ordering the bouquet and even helped with getting the bride ready. The concierge helped with our wedding lunch in town and the staff made us feel that this was indeed a special occasion. We were known throughout the staff as the cute honeymoon couple (having met 34 years ago).
The food at the resort was incredible. Not only was it well prepared, but presented beautifully, by an excellent staff.
The room was excellent, clean and very comfortable. We loved that we could look out at the water and at a palm tree off our balcony. We used the tree to gage the wind because the forecast everyday was "Partly Cloudy with variable winds". We laughed that it wasn't so.
We can't wait to go there for our anniversary.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KathrynTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from 3 nights in Bermuda and have to say Grotto Bay was great. When we arrived guest services gave us a complete run down of where to go and what to do. Hamilton Friday, St. George Saturday, and the Dockyards Sunday in that order since Sunday's hamilton and St George was closed.
When in Hamilton go to Barracudas, great food, best we had all weekend.
When in St. George's eat at Art Mel's for a fish sandwich, you can split it, it's huge. Best fish sandwich
Swizzle inn -everyone says you have to go, if drinking go, food is ok
Dockyards for Sundays - tourist area, historical fort
Beaches- Horseshoe is best. St David's has some nice beaches as well

Now Grotto Bay:
Real cool cave, if you have kids you book based on that alone
Pool- heated
Very pretty bay with small beach
Convenient to airport
Clean updated rooms
Main lobby attractive with nice views of bay on a hill
Staff very friendly- guest service lady hugged us. Who doesn't need a hug? Forgot her name but she has worked there 40 yrs!

Would highly recommend

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Schneiderusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was warmer in Maryland than it was in Bermuda this past week, however, that was not Grotto Bay's fault. Though we didn't get to enjoy a "beach" vacation, which I knew originally was a long shot given the time of the year, we still totally enjoyed Grotto Bay Resort and beautiful Bermuda.

I want to share some thoughts about the "all inclusive" package for those adults over 50 who have been to other resorts in Jamaica and Mexico. It is very different. First of all, we always go to adult all inclusive resorts. Grotto Bay, I feel, is a much better place for families. I can't tell you how many times I said to my husband that I wished that we had brought our two sons here when they were between 10 to 15 years of age. There is an amazing cave that you could swim in (too cold for us, though!), tennis, kayaking, fish watching, a heated pool, etc. I enjoyed watching the youngsters frolic! The pool was a bit small and filled with young kids jumping off the sides with noodles, etc., so it was not inviting to us. But, families seemed to really enjoy it!

The very positive side of this resort is the food and drink. We loved having burgers by the pool. Their fried calamari was one of the best I have ever had. Salads were delicious. Breakfast was anything you could ever ask for. There was a breakfast bar set up if you wanted to just toast a bagel, get a croissant and OJ and coffee with trays to bring back to your room. We often did that and sat on our beautiful balcony overlooking the sea. For dinners, you could eat at either of the two restaurants and pick from either menu. On Friday, the dinner buffet was huge and included prime rib and a pasta bar. Now for the drinks, the only thing that wasn't included in the all inclusive price were things like Grandmanier and elaborate coctails. The Goslings rum and ginger beer drinks were fantastic. Also, for you beer lovers, they had the best choices than any other all inclusive we have been to. You could order Heineken, becks, stella artois, bud, bud light, Amstel light or guiness in cans and bottles. How the all inclusive works is that you just have to sign for everything that you order with a zero balance. You can give a tip, however, it is included in the price. You have the option to leave more of a tip for special service. This leads me to reviewing the service at Grotto Bay.....

We did leave the staff extra tips because I can say, hands down, Bermudians are the nicest people I have ever met! Nothing was ever a problem for them! Because it was a slower time of the year , the bartenders and waiters spent so much time telling us of Bermuda's history, tales of their childhood, where to visit on the island, etc. I have to point out that Renee, Shakara, Richard and Charlie were so helpful and just so nice to us. We were treated so well, with their amazing service.

We took the bus (which is also included in your all inclusive pass) to Hamilton, which is a nice city and to St. Georges, which is a cute small town. I suggest taking the tour and seeing the wench get dunked when you go. It is only offered on certain days, so ask the concierge about it. We got to hear about Bermuda's history by a really interesting gentlemen.

Bermuda is just beautiful and the people were so friendly, wherever we went. Would I go back? Certainly, but only when we become grandparents and can go as a family. I would go back just to see the dear staff that I mentioned!!!:) For anyone who drinks more than a couple of drinks a day, I would suggest the all inclusive option, as drinks are anywhere from 6 to 9 $'s and lunch around $70, and dinner well over $100 for two.With this option, you are able to take a few beers or drinks back to your room. They will also give you bottled water as well. . Plus, you get the bus pass and all privileges at the resort. We look forward to coming back again in the future with our family.

Room Tip: 121 was private enough and close to the pool and beach. A great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank marboe1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have just completed a 7 day all inclusive stay at the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, it's a fantastic hotel with the most helpful attentive staff you can find, the service was 5 star, great food great facilities, our 2 boys aged 6&8 loved the pool and the pool attendant Richard, this guy brings sunshine to your day a,

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,651 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
6.5 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing