We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best, but not for everyone”
Review of Cambridge Beaches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cambridge Beaches
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2007

My wife and I spent five days at Cambridge Beaches in June 2007. It was our eighth trip. Obviously, we are fans of Cambridge Beaches. However, I understand why some here are disappointed. It is not a Ritz-Carlton type experience. I’d summarize CB as a 6-star location with 4-star service. Averages out to 5-star.

The staff is fine, but they are not the highly trained group that one would expect at a top hotel in New York or London. The food is very good, but, again, not up to the standards of the top restaurants
in a major city. This island is the third most isolated in the world.
Staffing for dinner is too light – they need about three more wait staff for the evening meal. Breakfast and lunch service is fine.

Cambridge Beaches is serenity. It is a place you go when you want to unwind and, as a general rule, not do much more than enjoy the beach,
pool, and an occasional stroll all while enjoying great comfort. The setting is absolutely sublime….this is what you are paying for in abundance. It is absolutely beautiful. But, there is zero night life and little excitement of any type. If you are looking for excitement or a wild evening on-the-town, go somewhere else.

Having said that, one is well advised to insist of getting one of the recently remodeled rooms. The rooms that have not been remodeled are definitely 3-star. The remodeled rooms are great. As of June 2007, the Westerly and Longtail cottage rooms (suite and double rooms) are beautiful. Very private, and have great ocean views. Westerly Suite is probably the best. The “pool suites” are also remodeled, but, for us, having a small private swimming pool (very small) is not worth the premium. Avoid cottages in very close proximity to the main building.

We will be back to CB soon…but it is not very everyone.

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank wjlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,111)
There are newer reviews for Cambridge Beaches
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

995 - 1,001 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2007

After having lived on the island and spending much of my childhood at Cambridge Beaches, it was great to finally be back after 14 years!
It was a relief then to find that the staff were as welcoming as ever. The food was great and the accomodation modern, clean and elegant!

Cambridge Beaches is the ideal place to switch off and relax!!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MarianneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2007

Our stay at Cambridge Beaches was the most wonderful vacation we've ever had, it was the most romantic experience with candle light dinners and ocean view balcony . We stay in a suite with ocean view overseeing the beautiful property, and my husband and I were more than happy with the service!!! it was excellent, they were so very helpful and made our stay unforgetable. We can't wait to come back. It was the best experience we've had. We love Cambridge Beaches!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank encb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2007

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 20th anniversary at Cambidge Beaches. From the moment we arrived our stay was everything we hoped for plus more! We stayed in a Deluxe Room overlooking Long Bay and the views were beautiful. Our room was perfect with an extremely comfortable King sized bed and a sitting area. The screen door opened onto a tiled patio with a table and chairs and beyond was a grassy area with 2 lounges and an umbrella all overlooking the beach and the stunning water.

The service we received at the resort was outstanding. Everyone went out of their way to smile, say hello and to be helpful. Any request was met with courtesy and expedience. They really go out of their way there to make you comfortable and happy.

We did the breakfast only meal plan and found the buffet breakfasts to be wonderful. The food was plentiful, fresh and, again, anything you requested was brought to you immediately and with a smile. Tea time at 4p was terrific with delicious finger sandwiches, pastries and fruit. For dinner we ate at Breezes, had the buffet by the pool at Shutters, had room service (and a movie) one night and capped our stay off with a romantic dinner on the beach our last night there. Our captain, Tony, made sure that every detail was attended to and that our special night was everything we hoped for.

I've read several of the negative reviews on this site and cannot imagine that these folks stayed at the same Cambridge Beaches resort. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway, if you prefer to be without the kids for a few days, and if you're hoping for a place where you can be active or just comatose on the beach than this is very definitely a place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heymin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2007

Oh, what a disappointment Cambridge Beaches was. We had booked this holiday as a particularly important celebration and had such high expectations but, despite its absolutely lovely location and views, Cambridge Beaches is severely let down by its poor customer service which we attribute entirely to slack, 'don't care' management.

Although many of the staff were very pleasant and willing, these were, in the main, non-Bermudians and very recently recruited and inadequately trained. The management appear to be attempting to run the hotel on a shoe-string and it is quite simply not up to the standard required for a 5 star hotel.

We arrived around 7.00 pm on a Saturday night and, after a long haul flight, were not impressed by a very slow check-in and having to wait half an hour in reception for someone to take us to our room. We had a deluxe waterview room and were obviously lucky that we were in one of the re-furbished ones. However, for a 5 diamond rated resort, we felt it was a little basic, with none of the extras we normally find when staying in a hotel within this price bracket. Where were the bottles of water, the fruit, the flowers? Even in the bathroom, the toiletries provided were rather limited - even 3 star hotels provide shower gel. Having said that, the bath and bed linens were high quality, clean, and changed frequently.

However, we were keen to start our holiday in the best of spirits, so putting our slight disappointment to one side we took ourselves off to the bar - which we were surprised to find empty. One or two dispirited looking guests wandered in, had a look around, and left again. The main dining room was also almost empty, and the whole atmosphere was rather gloomy and unwelcoming. A little dispirited ourselves, we went to bed.

This first night was actually a good indicator of the atmosphere around the communal areas in general. The next night we decided to eat at Shutters, which we were told had an 'informal, barbecue style menu' . In fact only one other couple was eating there, and we were treated to a very mediocre spread of cold food laid out on the bar, together with a selection of hot dishes over warmers which had obviously been there for some time. Even the food looked dispirited! The waiter had disappeared to the kitchen, only emerging very occasionally, and never bothered to mop up the big puddle in the middle of the floor which we had to step over to get to the food.

We tried again the following night at Tamarisk - the main dining room. Suffice it to say that we christened this one 'God's Waiting Room' and never bothered again. The only restaurant worth patronising in the evening is the Beach Bar, where the food is at least edible and Tony and his staff do provide a welcome. However, even there, we had the distinct feeling that they were just trying to get service over as soon as possible and to get the guests to leave so they could go home. Most evenings we simply went out.

Breakfast was also interesting: there is a reasonably good spread, but the service is very patchy. I have never before seen waiters helping themselves to food from the buffet and taking it into the kitchen well before the end of service, whilst guests remain unserved and tables remain uncleared. What are the managers thinking of? Room service is an adventure - if you try it, don't expect them to get the order right!

On the subject of customer service, the guest services and front desk staff are unhelpful at best and often surly, whether the request is to arrange a game of golf or assist in arranging transport. It all seems just too much trouble, except for Florenta, who is charming and very helpful.

In the Fitness Room, one of the three treadmills was out of order for the whole of our stay and another was dangerously unpredictable. Although we reported this, it was not fixed whilst we were there. The step machine was also not working properly, the water machine was often empty, there were often no towels, and the place was dirty. All the equipment was covered with a thick layer of dust, unpleasantly compacted with perspiration. It was obvious the place is never properly cleaned - once again, where is the supervision?

The beaches are lovely - soft sand and crystal clear water though too shallow for swimming unless you venture out into the boat lanes. However, we don't expect to go down at 11.00 am and find the sunbeds in disarray with yesterday's towels and drinks glasses still lying around. It appears they don't get cleared up until the napkins have been folded for lunch. We were also surprised that, in a hotel in this bracket, there isn't regular beach service. It is down to one overworked individual to find time to serve the odd drink when he is not busy with other duties. At all the other beach hotels we have stayed in, we have always found sun beds tidied up and (several) people going up and down the beach all day with refreshments.

We were also disappointed to find that, although the beaches are supposed to be private, the hotel encourages non-residents to eat at the hotel. This means that, in particular on public holidays and at weekends, large numbers of boats anchor just off the beach and the visitors wade in, colonise the sun beds, leave their children to race about and play, and retire to the beach bar for lunch. Several times we were unable to get a table for lunch until after 3.00 pm because they were so full with visitors, and our peaceful afternoons were disturbed by loud music and conversation from the boats and general to-ing and fro-ing. No attempt at all is made by the hotel to stop this happening, and we can only assume that they are more interested in the revenue than in their resident guests, who have already paid handsomely for the privilege of privacy.

We travel extensively, both for business and pleasure, and have never before encountered such a lack of management care or attention to detail in a hotel of this supposed quality. I am amazed they have so many repeat guests, though during the course of our stay we met several (repeat) guests who were disappointed with the declining standards of service and said they would probably not return.

I would urge anyone thinking of staying at Cambridge Beaches to scroll down the other reviews and consider carefully the unfavourable ones - I wish I had. I have since read them all and would endorse every point they make.

Stayed: May 2007
10  Thank Dendrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2007

First, I would have to disagree with the previous reviewer's comments about staff being surly and breakfast being poor. Those are two areas we felt the hotel excelled in. We are well travelled and really appreciate an attentive and willing staff, and at Cambridge, most everyone went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. ANd breakfast we felt was a wonderful array of items,well displayed (it is a buffet) and fresh. The fruits were delicious, the choices were plentiful. We ate on the terrace outside and it was lovely. Those are the positives...
Now for the negatives...this hotel is rated as a AAA 5 Diamond resort. Our rooms were $630 per night...much more than we usually spend for a 5 day getaway, but since it was our anniversary we decided to splurge. First of all, the entire hotel is in desperate need of updating...carpeting is old and ratty in lobby, and elsewhere. We understand the renovating has taken place in SOME cottages...unfortunately, not the cottages that cost $630/night. THOSE cottages have wall-to-wall carpeting (in a BEACH resort?) full of mold and mildew. The room they assigned us reeked...I wouldn't have paid $100 to stay in it. Yet they said they could not change it that night (even knowing we had an 8 hour delay in air travel that cost us an entire day in Bermuda!) The smell was putrid. The next day they did move us, to yet another room with a similar, yet not as pungent, mold problem, and again, fully carpeted. By this time, we just wanted to move on and stop packing and unpacking, so we settled and tried to stay out of the room as much as possible, After another two nights, we coulnd't take it and I went to the general manager, Mr Quinn, and explained our disappointment. He was extremely pleasant and understanding, and immediately put us in an obviously updated cottage...with tile! Then we saw what you get for 1,000 as opposed to 630 per night...yet even for $630 you should get clean, airy, and fresh smelling! It's still a lot of money.

SO basically, you need to know what to expect, for what you will pay...if you want 5 diamond, you really must be willing to do a premium cottage, or suite...most of the cottage are not near to being updated. We were not the only guest that week to move a few times...people were grumbling. And it always gets around!
You should also know that this hotel is a bit stuffy, very quiet and caters to a crowd that is not interested in a more lively scene...I don't mean a bar scene or party atmosphere, but for sure, don't being the kids, they will be bored...and expect a bit of an older crowd...nothing against an older crowd, it just may not be your speed...we are in our 40's-50's and it was too slow for us.

The beach is nice on the ocean side. The pool is new and very modern, I found it totally uninviting and un beach-resort like...if that means anything. It's a cold feel rather than a warm, palm tree atmosphere. lots of stone walls, wooden deck levels, angular.
The dinners are OK...nothing to rave about, and rarely hot. The wine steward, Heath, seems very knowlegeable, however, beware he may convince you to purchase a very expensive bottle and you may not even realize you spent that much. It happened to us, we were looking at bottles in the 40-50 dollar range and asked him for recommendation....he had the menu in HIS hand and went thru the options of our choices and mentioned a wine he said was far superior than the other 3 we looked at...and we mentioned that we did want a good wine, but not one that would be much more that the others. His comment was, hey, at $5 more how could you lose? SO we went with his suggestion, only to choke at the $129 cost when the check came. IT was very embarrassing as we were having dinner with other guests we had just met and didn't want to make an issue...when we asked him if it was correct and why it was not just $5 more, he didn't really address it, just asked if everything else was ok.!!! We just let it go.

ANyway, I know this is a long review, but we feel it is important to know what you are in for if you go here...it probably will be very pleasant, but for the amount of money we spent, we feel very disappointed and cheated. I will reiterate that management WAS very helpful and did finally accomodate us, but all in all, the hotel wasn't what we expected. They have a lot of work to do.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank faithngd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

We just returned from Cambridge Beaches. We were there to celebrate our birthdays. We have to say the resort is dissapointing, to say the least. We paid 5 star prices for 3 star service. Upon arrival, our room was not ready. We were shown to a courtesy suite to change in, and were assured that our luggage would be taken care of. On our way back from the beach three hours later, we came upon our luggage, still in the drive. All of our cosmetics were melted.

Our room had several small but annoying things wrong. The AC in the living room did not work, the remote for the television did not work, and the sliding glass door required Herculean strength to open. As a special bonus, there were several mangy stray cats that accosted us every time we sat on the patio.

Dinner was fine, though certainly not the best we've ever had. Breakfast was a disgrace. The wait staff was surly. The fruit on the buffet was covered in tiny flying insects. Tea was served in tea pots smeared in jelly and syrup. Waiting 20 minutes for coffee was not unusual, and the tables were not properly set with utensils.

Despite reserving a taxi a day in advance to bring us to the airport, none were available at the time of our departure. There was a backup of about 12 guests waitng for taxis. We thought we may miss our flight. A hotel that charges $1000.00 a night should have a courtesy van.

The only staff members that treat the guests well are Nadja, who was wonderful and did her best to make us happy, George and Tony. The resort may have been wonderful in the past, but it is not any longer. We will never stay there again, and compared to Pink Beach Club, it stinks.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarecrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandys Parish
10.0 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
684 reviews
5.0 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
853 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,968 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,643 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Beaches

Address: 30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range: £205 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Beaches 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AAA Four Diamond Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda’s premier cottage resort, provides the ideal sanctuary for adults seeking an intimate and relaxing escape from the demands of contemporary life. Guests indulge in a serene and romantic getaway while experiencing the Island’s rich history and distinctive culture. Cambridge Beaches invites guests to discover breathtaking panoramas of the Atlantic Ocean. Relax, renew, reconnect or simply do nothing at all, and do it well. Whether you seek activity or tranquility, the resort beckons with a wealth of amenities, from the indulgent Ocean Spa and four private beaches to an onsite marina, kayaks, croquet and putting greens, tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Not to mention the seemingly endless private coves, providing the perfect setting for an intimate escape.Cambridge Beaches offers guests all the sophistication of an internationally acclaimed resort in an authentic Bermudian environment. Accommodations are provided in elegantly appointed traditional pink Bermuda-style cottages and customary afternoon tea is served in the historic main house. And all of this may be enjoyed without the demands or distractions of traveling with children, as Cambridge Beaches is the island’s only resort that caters exclusively to adults.The resort’s casually sophisticated environment encourages a sense of total relaxation, romance and renewal. Idyllically set on a 30-acre peninsula on Bermuda’s western coast, the property boasts 4 private beaches, a nature reserve, private gardens and spectacular water views from every vantage point of the property. Additionally, guests enjoy unique treatments and wellness options at the seductive Ocean Spa, and a range of culinary delights in three restaurants, including the celebrated Tamarisk Room, rated by Food & Wine Magazine as one of the Bermuda’s best restaurants.Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is legendary Bermuda at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cambridge Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Beaches Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Hotel Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing