We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flexible and superb service!! ”

Somerset Country Squire
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flexible and superb service!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived 10 minutes to 8 pm and the manager - who is also the bartender - just welcomed us, gave us the menu and poured a cold beer without hesitating. The waiter made sure we had a taxi before it got too late and the food was delicious and fresh. The local people greeted us as if we were friends and joked with us. We felt we had walked in at Cheers!!!

Great place!

The Corona's

Helpful?
Thank The_Coronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“views and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

As always fish and chips (or a fish sandwich) and a draft beer with some of the best views in Somerset. This restaurant stays on a consistently high level and certainly gives customers good value for their money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Some of the better fish and chips since we arrived on the island. A little chilly on the deck as the evening wore on but to be expected at this time of year. Plan on returning soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were staying at the Cambridge Beaches Spa and went exploring and found the Squire.
The staff and local customers were very welcoming and gave us great tips on where to visit in Bermuda.
We also took the free boat tour that runs from the Squire.
The food was lovely and the few evenings that we stayed for drinks were great fun.
Donald the owner made this truly a highlight of our holiday and we would love to return again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swannanoa, North Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not my idea of fun”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Used to live across the other side of Mangrove Bay years ago, so thought a stop at this pub would bring back old times looking at our old house and beach across the beautiful water. Wrong! Although the place was empty, where was the service? Lacking. Had to more or less drag somebody out to serve us. Without making this worse, the beer was cloudy, the food undercooked (I said well-done not RAW!) and we left with a promise not to be back. It's a shame, my Dad used to go here for a pint or two and bring back some snacks. How things change.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Somerset Country Squire also viewed

Sandys Parish, Bermuda
Somerset Village, Sandys Parish
 
Somerset Village, Sandys Parish
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Somerset Country Squire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing