We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and great hosts”
other traveller has booked this property
John Smith Bay Beach
Only a 5 to 7 minute walk from the front gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
John Smith Bay Beach
Only a 5 to 7 minute walk from the front gate
Our pool deck with a beautiful view of the South Shore and beyond. Pool area, with a full bathroom and changing area, should you have a late flight or early arrival.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
John Smith Bay Beach
Only a 5 to 7 minute walk from the front gate
Our pool deck with a beautiful view of the South Shore and beyond.
Pool area, with a full bathroom and changing area, should you have a late flight or early arrival.
Bedroom set as a king size bed
La Garza Suite set up with 
2 x Single Beds
Lounge has Cable T.V., Wifi, and security system. 
This is your private entrance from the deck.
Your private Deck overlooking the beautiful South Shore and beyond. In spring you can Whale Watch.
Looking east down the South Shore
A beach near by.
Modern Laundry with ironing facilities .
Passion Flower, growing on our property. Plus we grow our own bananas and have a vegie garden.
Bathroom with Shower
La Garza Suite. 
We stock make up remover pads, Hair drier and shavers.
Rent a, 'Twizy' !
An electric car with room for 2 persons. We have charging facilities on property.
Our Tennis Court open 
8 AM to 6 PM Daily. Reservation may be required, depending on number of guest
Modern Bathroom
Sunrise over the beautiful South Shore, from Watch Hill Manor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Smith's Parish, Bermuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

stephen l
1 review
“Great location and great hosts”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Brian and Ineka were gracious and warm hosts and helped us out in every way while staying in the B and B and the Apartment. My partner and I traveled there with my 80+ year old parents and Brian was most helpful and made sure that they were comfortable and well taken care of. He knows the island so well, having grown up there and had access to great restaurants and golf courses! If you stay with Brian and Ineka be sure to swim in the pool, play tennis on the court, drive golf balls in the driving range and enjoy amazing wine and appetizers on their beautiful porch. There is plenty of privacy and the apartment has a very well provisioned kitchen where we had dinner several nights.
It is a perfect place to stay to really enjoy Bermuda and get the inside scoop from a true local.
Thanks Brian and Ineka!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: solitude, pool, decks for reading, location, tennis court
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Hi Jennifer & Steve,
Both Ineke and I very much enjoyed meeting you both and also your lovely parents. We're delighted that everyone enjoyed their time with us here at Watch Hill Manor and look forward to perhaps hosting you once again. ( ? ) Next time you must come for a bit longer than just four days, as you only had a glimpse of what BERMUDA has to offer.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, it is very much appreciated.
Until next time,
Brian & Ineke
P.S. Steve, you still has another 7 golf course to play. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy D
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
“This is the only place to stay in Bermuda”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My wife & I, along with another couple, had the great fortune of meeting and staying with the Hetzel's for one week in November, and may I say we have met life-long friends in Brian and Ineke. As soon as we met the Hetzels, their warmth, friendliness, and welcoming spirit immediately ignited a fondness within the heart which festered a feeling of trust and relaxation to begin our fantastic vacation. The property is a beautiful tropical paradise situated atop a hill which over-looks a spectacular panoramic ocean view. The Hetzel's have done tremendous work in creating and maintaining a floral landscape on the property which one would expect to find portrayed in the most elegant of magazine spreads of the rich and famous. The apartments are unbelievably clean and pristine, and the quiet, cozy atmosphere makes the weary traveler feel quite "at home". It has been far too long since I have felt this relaxed and comfortable, and I dare say this is the best sleep I have had in months! Brian's breakfast feasts which he prepared for us were nothing short of a dining miracle, those which would be expected from the finest, and most expensive restaurants. We always left his breakfast table feeling quite full, refreshed, and prepared to tackle our day of traveler's explorations around the island. Brian is quite the tour guide as well. He is always willing to offer tips and information of what to see on the island, and how we would go about getting there. The amenities are very close to public transit, and well situated to get anywhere you wish to go. WHM is also a short 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach for those early morning swims before breakfast. We always looked forward to returning to back to Watch Hill Manor after the day's exploration because it usually meant a very enjoyable evening of chat and drink with Brian and Ineke after dinner. I very much miss these visits and do hope we can one day return to visit our new friends. Ladies and gentlemen it is very simple: if you wish to stay in a relaxing, cozy, elegant atmosphere during your stay in Bermuda you need to stay at Watch Hill Manor.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brian and Ineke's personable & caring attitude
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Dear James and Irina,
Thank you both for such a "Glowing Review". We enjoyed having both you and your lovely friends, Vitali and Lora and look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Also, thank for the "Compliments" on the breakfast; it was always a pleasure to see the clean plates come back to the kitchen. :)
It's been a bit rainy since your departure and Ineke and I were sitting in the, "Moon Gate Bar" and reminiscing and wishing we were all together. You guys made our week as well and we'll look forward to seeing you again, for that diving excursion we spoke of.
In the mean time, we wish you a joyous Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Brian & Ineke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lelagrg
Haines City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too good to be true.....but it is!”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Oh my gosh! Where to start? At the entry to the property, maybe? As you go up a winding rise to reach a stupendous view, you see such beautiful properties along the way. Reaching
Watch Hill Manor with mitaculous gardens you are greeted with a choice of 2 Bermuda signature cocktails, one is a "Rum Swizzle" and the other a "Dark & Stormy" either in our room or on the patio overlooking the pool with a view of the South Shore and golf courses. Our room with bath was beautifully furnished with soothing colors and had another georgeous view and fragrant ocean breezes. After a very restful night (you sleep to a tune by Mother Nature's own 'tree frogs') you rise to a breakfast buffet of real goodies along with local fruits and breads. It's hard to believe that a B & B could have such amenities. My husband, an avid golfer, enjoyed the golf cage along with tennis and squash courts. I enjoyed the pool, sunning deck, spectacular scenery and quiet time to just read and chill. A truly relaxing vacation. I found that being so close to a public bus line to go into the city to shop or site see was very convienent. I find that not being in the "hub" of activity more relaxing. Local restaurants not far away made trying the local cuisine really easy. John Smith's Bay, a local public beach is well within walking distance and a place you can see amazingly colored fish swimming in the rocky areas. You might also get lucky and find a food truck there at the time. Our host and hostess had answers to our myriad of questions about local culture and the politics of Bermuda. Our time with Brian and Ineke came to an end way too soon. We have booked again for 2016. Hoping to get in for the America's Cup in 2017. Bermuda is truly "another world" with The Hetzel's at Watch Hill Manor.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and view
Liked least: Not enough time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
Dear Tom & Lela,
Looking forward to seeing you again for the Christmas Holidays. Also looking forward to playing golf with you both at Mid Ocean Club.
Take care and we'll have the Swizzles ready for you.
Warmest regards,
Brian & Ineke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bermuda Hospitality Par Excellance.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect and Immaculate accommodations with genuine and sincere Bermuda hospitality. Beautiful and tranquil setting with unbelievable scenic views. The amenities of a golf driving cage, putting green, tennis and squash courts and an inviting pool are world class. A great location, convenient to spectacular beaches, golf courses, restaurants, and the airport. Brian and Ineka are fabulous hosts and truly understand giving the ultimate in service. I have been traveling to Bermuda for over 50 years and as the song clearly states
" Bermuda is Another World", so too is Watch Hill Manor.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Dear Bob & Patti,
Thank you for your kind words and also for choosing Watch Hill Manor as your preferred accommodation. It was great seeing you both again and with the golf season now in full, "swing", remember we are just 1 1/2 hours from Boston.
I've moved the golf putting mats to an indoor location for the moment, as it's been quite rainy. This has allowed me to practice my putting ...... so beware, I could be dangerous when we next play at Mid Ocean Club. :) Looking forward to seeing you both once again in the near future and in the mean time we would like to wish you both, a very joyous holiday season and a prosperous New Year.
Warm regards,
Brian & Ineke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracythor...
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury with a stunning view!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Watch Hill Manor was luxurious and relaxing. Beautifully comfortable bed and all the luxuries provided in our suite. Our hosts created amazing food and drinks (swizzle on arrival, we are now addicted!!). The views over South Shore from the house were stunning. We spent a lot of time looking out at the view, seeing both sun rise and sun set! The location was upmarket, private and quiet, close to beaches, golf courses and supermarkets. We swam in the pool and had fun playing tennis. We would recommend Watch Hill Manor to anyone wanting privacy, luxury and location.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Host hospitality, luxury and the view!
Liked least: We didn't stay long enough!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Dear Tracy and Craig,
Thank you both so much for choosing Watch Hill Manor for your Bermuda Holiday. It was great having you here and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We know it's a long way to travel but we look forward to seeing you both again in the not to distant future.
America's Cup is here in July 2017 and the Kiwi's will be here,
so perhaps we may see you then?
All the best to you both and your family.
Warmest regards,

Brian & Ineke

P.S. The "Swizzle" barrel has been replenished! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.