We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great option near Yosemite”
Review of Homestead Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homestead Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the cottages for our recent trip to Yosemite. It is a bit of a drive but a worth one to come home to a nice, clean, comfortable cottage. Also, Larry had excellent advice on how to stage our visit to the park. His recommendations were right on; we were able to enjoy the best spots in our three day visit and then he also showed us the best way to go out to the coast.
The cottage is set for four people: one king size bed in the bedroom and a comfortable sofa bed. Our only issue is that my parents had to actually enter the bedroom in order to use the bathroom , as there isn't a separate entrance. It wasn't a big deal for us, because we are family, but it wouldn't be a good set up for two separate couples for instance. Anyway, it was otherwise a great stay. Larry and Cindy are awesome hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Homestead Cottages for our honeymoon and we were absolutely satisfied in every way. The location is secluded, peaceful and very quiet, we really enjoyed the early mornings sitting outside of our cottage enjoying coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice and delicious muffins, all of which are replenished daily by the Homestead Cottage folks. The cabin was fully furnished and well maintained, comfy beds, pillows and linens make you feel right at home. Oakhurst is only a few miles away and has everything you could need, grocery stores, gas stations, movie theater and restaurants, small town atmosphere and friendly people. If you're looking for a honeymoon destination or a quiet place to stay for your Yosemite vacation you will not regret your choice if you stay at the Homestead Cottages. Thanks again to Larry and Cindy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Homesteads are awesome! We were greeted by friendly owners Larry and Cindy! They checked us right in, and showed us to our cottage. They were instantly comfortable and nice people to talk to. Larry showed us a few things around the cottage and then he was gone. They pride themselves on a nice quiet get-away and that is exactly what we got and cherished every moment of it.

Our cottage was the "Garden" Cottage and it had all the amenities of home, and even a nice muffin and granola breakfast for the next day; along with milk and fresh squeeze orange juice in the refrigerator. The muffins were delicious, the coffee was great (cream and sugar provided too) and the orange juice was out of this world fresh and refreshing! It was great as they really seemed to think of everything you might need.

The cottage was beautiful decorated, very clean, and since it was about 100 degrees when we got there, it had been carefully cooled down by central air conditioning; that was a welcomed feature! The bed was comfortable, on the firm side, but perfect for my sore back! There was a sunken tub in the bathroom, which we didn't use, but I'm sure in the winter time would be lovely!

We will definitely be back, as there is plenty to do in the area! We drove up to Glacier Point and saw a coyote, deer, chipmunks and squirrels a long the way. It was about 74 degrees up there, so it was a lovely space to hang out for awhile to beat the heat (unseasonably warm, as we were having a heatwave).

Hope you get the opportunity to stay here. Pictures attached.

Room Tip: We were in the "Garden" Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IHeartSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed in the stargazers loft for 2 nights 21st and 22nd June. We were immediately impressed with the slick operation and excellent welcome on our arrival. We were bowled over by the loft itself which has everything that you could want. Very handy for Oakhurst for restaurants and shops and yet beautifully secluded. Loads of great information from the friendly owners. If you are staying near Oakhurst or visiting Yosemite - this is the place to go without any doubt. I would like to roll it up and pack it for every holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JURNEYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Perfect place to stay for short periods or longer ones, when visiting the Yosemite area. Comfortable, clean, well-appointed loft or cottages are just what you need to relax from or prepare for the mountain visits. Hosts Larry and Cindy run a nice set up- they give you space and privacy when you need it, without any un-necessary intrusion, but they are also there when you need anything, and are genuinely happy to do their best to meet your every need or request. They also offer excellent and honest recommendations for local restaurants.... Breakfasts are included- simple, but tasty and copious- homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, juice, milk and hot drinks....I highly recommend Homestead Cottages- Good for them, good for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelCutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We chose the Homestead after reading all the positive reviews--and we're glad we did! Tucked back off the main road to Yosemite, we booked a 3-nite Anniversary stay in the most adorable, private, tranquil and lovely 1-bdrm cottage we've ever had the pleasure to stay in! The cottage itself was beautifully decorated, had a full kitchen, large bedroom, and a very spacious living room equipped with romantic fireplace! The grounds were as spectacular as well. We walked the property taking pictures as a deer ran by....We were also very impressed by the hospitality of the owners, Cindy & Larry. When we couldn't get the TV to work, Larry was over in minutes. It was like a little home away from home...beautiful, comfortable and exactly what we were looking for! Thank you Cindy & Larry for making our 15th Anniversary perfect in every way! I'd recommend the Homestead in a second--and can't wait to return to Yosemite again just to stay in this quaint little Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbgtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Homestead Cottages. After a day of hiking in Yosemite we were delighted to have such a wonderful place to rest and relax for 2 nights. The cottages were comfortable and made us feel at home. They are a great location to many of the area highlights including Yosemite, wine tasting, rafting, trails, etc. We will definitely return when we are looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahwahnee
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
22.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,229 reviews
11 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
633 reviews
22.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,130 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nature's Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601-9625
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range: £113 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Minutes from the South entrance of Yosemite National Park. Private, luxury, romantic and family friendly cottages located on 40 wooded acres . Each cottage has 1 or 2 bed rooms that can accommodate 2-6 guests and includes a fully equipped kitchen, a romantic bedroom with a queen size bed, a cozy living room with a queen size sofa sleeper, and a spacious bathroom. Complimentary WiFi. Free continental breakfast is provided in your cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee
Homestead Cottages Ahwahnee, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing