We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, Romantic & Inviting, co-existing with nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahwahnee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite
GreenLeadersGold level
Knoxville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, Romantic & Inviting, co-existing with nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2008

I'm writing this review on the wrap-around deck of the lodge with a freshly brewed cup of coffee from their 24 x 7 lobby/kitchen watching the sun rise!! PRICELESS. We've enjoyed the warm hospitality of Brenda & John the Inn Keepers. Both full of insightful information regarding the local area and Yosemite National Park. Glacier Point in Yosemite is a MUST-SEE! (If push for time skip doing the Yosemite Vally and do the Glacier Point. Especially during later afternoon when sun is low on horizon.) Staying at the Lodge, my wife and I managed to have a romantic vacation even though we have two young children with us. We stayed in the Sterling Suites facing the Sierra range. The photos on the web site does not do justice for our suite. It is prettier and roomier than the photos elude. I would highly recommend this B & B and would have loved to stay longer. Maybe our next visit to Yosemite.

June 8, 2008 Walt, Sharon, Madision & Tyler C., Knoxville, TN.

  • Liked — location to Yosemite, staff/owners, surroundings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank walt_c_knoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

Stayed for four nights beginning of May after we had seen the info on their Website. We were greeted in a very gentle way by John, one of the innkeepers, a few minutes after our arrival. We had booked the Sunrise Suite, which has corner views of the garden and a far range of trees as well as a mountain range in the distance. The property extends to a small creek; we saw quails, a deer and a friendly cat.

Our two-level room was large by all standards, and meticulously clean. I loved the free WiFi which I used to surf and call. The kitchenette had basic furnishings and a copious amount of coffee. What we really liked was our bed, very comfy and a welcome sight after a long day on the road to and in Yosemite. For those who are not so mobile: you'll have to walk down 14 stairs from your upstairs to the ground floor of your room to use the restroom; we did not feel that was a problem for us. The verandah is big, has your own seating and is a wonderful place to hang out and take in the view. At night, after the outside light is switched off at 4:40, you'll have a fantastic display of stars, weather permitting, from your porch.

Breakfast and gourmet coffee are offered in the living room as a self-serve: Sausages and hard-boiled eggs; waffles and toppings; yoghurt and cereals; all ready for you to give you energy for the day.

A word about the innkeepers: John and Brenda are a really lovely couple, the well-being of their guests is always on their mind. They are a great source for information and were always there with a nice word or two. Other than that, the place is really quiet and oozes a feeling of relaxation and gentleness.

Coming up from Oakhurst, make sure you pass Road 601 and take Road 610 to your right, then another right to their property. Cheap gas is to be had at Vons in the shopping mall before you leave Oakhurst for a 15 minute drive to their lodge.

We enjoyed the fact that from the lodge, we could use both the southern entrance to Yosemite, as well as the western access - the two offering totally different aspects.

  • Liked — The quiet, natural surroundings and the kindness of the innkeepers
  • Disliked — You have to use the car to do any shopping
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2composers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yosemitebee, owner at Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite, responded to this review, 15 May 2008
Please correct the directions given on this review. Guests take Highway 49 from Oakhurst pass Road 600 and exit Highway 49 on Road 601 to first street on right.
Dont want anyone to get lost!
Happy traveling,
Innkeepers, John & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

room amazing, breakfast ok, john (the host) outstanding. OMG. mountain man.

  • Liked — john
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2007

My new wife and I stayed here on our honetmoon whilst travelling down the coast and into Yosemite, all I can say is that if you get the oppurtunity you must stay here.

From the booking process to the directions, how we where met when we arrived and above all the rooms and the view this is a first class experience for anyone and can recommend it 100%.

  • Liked — The view and quality of the rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MostinLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2007

This B & B is the best. Quiet location, but very close to the major park entrance (Yosemite Nat'l Park). The owners give 110% with everything they offer: Cleanliness, Breakfast, Friendliness... Definitely a place to know! Thanks for everything, guys!!!

  • Liked — Large rooms. Free wireless internet access
  • Disliked — Loved it all...
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2006

This is a new BandB in the area and I have to tell you, it is very nice. It should be called the Sierra Mountain Suites. Beautiful view of the mountains from the room we stayed in. There were 2 floors in our suite. Bedroom upstairs and bathroom, kitchen, and living room downstairs. Rooms had such items as a sink, refrigerator, satellite TV, wireless internet for you laptop users, a sofa or chairs, etc... The continental breakfast was great. Fresh fruit, coffee, muffins, cereal, etc...
There was a nice sunny deck to sit on just outside our room.
We went to Yosemite every day and even though this BandB is about 9 miles further from the entrance than other BandB's, it is worth the extra few minutes of driving...believe me. It is so peaceful and quiet. You will never get a better nights sleep anywhere. The price was very reasonable as well. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. Believe me, we tried another B and B and the owner of the Sierra Mountain Lodge was nice enough to save us at the last minute from that horrible experience!! Thank you!!

  • Liked — Quiet, good breakfast, friendly innkeepers, great value
  • Disliked — Can't think of much
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wentworth37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2006

We decided to bypass the overpriced hotels in Yosemite Village to stay at this B&B near the south entrance and Mariposa Grove. We were not disappointed! Our room was huge with all of the amenities (SAT TV, DVD, two bedrooms, kitchenette, etc). The continental breakfast was beyond 'deluxe'. The lodge had a beautiful view of the surrounding area. It was a a short drive to Oakhurst which has many restaurant options. While it is a bit of a drive to the valley, it is worth it, in my opinion. The room was a great price and was the perfect place to relax after a day of hiking.

  • Liked — Cozy room, breakfast
  • Disliked — about 75 minute drive to Yosemite Valley
  • Tips/Secrets — It's worth the drive.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pugman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahwahnee
19.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
7.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
5.9 mi away
Narrow Gauge Inn
Narrow Gauge Inn
#3 of 4 in Fish Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sierra Sky Ranch
Sierra Sky Ranch
#8 of 10 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite

Property: Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite
Address: 45046 Fort Nip Trl, Ahwahnee California 93601, Ahwahnee, CA 93601-9774
Region: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging oasis centrally located between the Southern Entrance and Arch Rock Entrance of Yosemite National Park. 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and studios all with king or queen beds. Guest BBQs & Free WiFi. Sierra Mountain Lodge 45046 Fort Nip Trail, Ahwahnee Ca 93601 (559) 683-7673 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Mountain Hotel Ahwahnee
Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite Ahwahnee, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing