We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Total relaxation, awesome resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tuban
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Total relaxation, awesome resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children aged 4 and 7, for 9 nights/ 10 days in a Studio Garden Access room (formerly known as Kid's Suite) in late October. In summary it was the best family holiday we have had in years.

The hotel has pretty much everything you could think of and is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta to be quiet and oasis like, yet close enough that you get wherever you need to in a heartbeat.

Hotel airport pick up service was great. More expensive than a cab/ driver but worth it on arrival for peace of mind (still only $10USD). Holiday Inn sign waiting for us as soon as we disembarked in arrivals hall and whisked away to our car.

Only 7-10 mins from the aiport is also a godsend meaning you can be relaxing by the pool within 30 minutes of landing at the airport.

Checkin was extremely quick and efficient. Staff were very friendly and served us cold towels and welcome drinks on arrival. We arrived on time at about 2pm and our room was ready, clean and waiting for us.

Room itself was everything we expected. Clean, modern, plenty of space and privacy for parents away from the kids. These rooms, although smaller than the interconnecting family suites, are in a much nicer location in the resort, opening out onto gardens and looking straight out to the ocean. Very serene.

Complimentary bottles of drinking water x 4 in our room every day was great also.

As many others have said, the empty fridge in the room and the onsite shop/ mini mart is a great idea that we used constantly. Such great prices and so convenient. A large 1.5 litre bottle of water for example was 60 cents! Beers were $2 a bottle etc etc. Slightly higher than the Circle K down the road and a smaller selection but much more convenient.

Beds and pillows very comfortable. Only negative with the rooms was the air conditioning. It worked very well but was very noisy at night. We got used to it though so not really a big deal.

Bathroom set up is a little strange with an enormous open/ walk in shower with a bench seat (not quite sure what for) and this area becomes extremely slippery as the water doesn't drain away well after showers. Our little ones slipped over twice and hurt themsleves on the tiles as a result. Probably something management should look at. Nice to look at but not very practical/ safe.

Pools and grounds were stunning. Immaculately maintained, with workers pruning and watering all day every day. Pool bar and service was good and represented value for money. Cocktails were $9.50 AUD all day and half price at happy hour. Beers around $4 for Bintang or you could get a bucket of 4 Bali Hais for $13.

Breakfast was good and consistent. The egg ordering menus on your table were a great idea meaning no waiting in queues at the chef's station. Only downside really for us was the fruit. Not much variety at all. Really all you got was watermelon and some rather average honey due melon and canteloupe. No strawberries, some rather strange looking bananas and apples. We thought in such a tropical oasis fruit would have been better. Also the quality of the bacon was terrible - almost burnt beyond recognition. Still, there was plenty to choose from otherwise.

If you like vegemite, make sure you take a tube with you because this is next to impossible to get in Bali, let alone the Holiday Inn.

Hotel restaurants (including Envy) were ok but really depended on what you chose. Surprisingly the local food was average but the Western food was good. This was disappointing as you can get a pizza or burger anywhere and while in Bali we prefer to sample local cuisine.

There were however plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the resort either up the street (Green Garden, SA Cafe, de Bali), along the beach path (Pantai) or on the main drag into Kuta (Mozzarella, Queen's of India and Boardwalk).

Rascals Kids club was great. They did a wonderful job of keeping the kids amused - from fish feeding to sand sculptures to Balinese offering making to painting to of course Wii playing. When you drop the kids off they give you a local mobile phone so that they can contact you if needed. That way you can go wherever you like with peace of mind. Great idea.

Hotel staff were generally very friendly and helpful but in many instances were more interested in writing down our feedback rather than actioning it.

Only real disappointment for us was the tour service and transport service. The prices for day and half day services with drivers seem to vary depending on who was working each day. This is the sort of thing you would expect to encounter outside the resort on the street, not within the resort with the tour desk and concierge. It left us feeling that we were being taken advantage of. Other reports on TA had stated that the hotel had arranged daily drivers for 250,000 Rp. We also spoke with a couple in the pool who said likewise but when we mentioned it to the tour desk they denied and quoted double the price.

In the end we negotiated directy with drivers ourselves and paid 400,000Rp for the day and 200,000 for 3 hours which we thought was fair.

All in all, Holiday Inn is a wonderful resort in a very quiet and convenient part of Bali. It represents excellent value for money and is the perfect choice for families with young children.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the garden side looking out to the ocean, much quieter than being in the wing that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JK_family_of_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane_Varoquier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear "JK_family_of_4",

Thank you so much for this very detailed account of your recent experience in our resort. I really appreciate you taking the time. It does help us a lot.

I am glad we were able to provide you with the best holiday ever for years. I note though that we could have done even better on a few occasions.

The air conditioning noise and shower drainage have now been fixed (I have personally inspected the room). This was an isolated incident as we almost never had such problems reported in a long time. I could not find any report of this in our log. I wish you had shared with us while here so we could attempt to make it right.

Breakfast fruits: you are right, one would expect top quality and tasty fruits on a tropical island. Sadly, a great portion of top quality fruits are reserved for export (the same goes with fish). We still can get quality but supply is very inconsistent. Further more, given our strict hygiene standards (we are the only Bali hotel to be HACCP certified), we restrict ourselves to responsible suppliers. It is tempting to buy better quality sometime but if the suppliers production/delivery chain doesn't agree with our hygiene standards, we won't. Although we put the priority on hygiene, rest assured we never stop looking for that perfect hygiene/quality balance.

Bacon: we actually have soft bacon available on request. Your message helped me to realise that guests were not necessarily aware. I am fixing this...

Your perception of the transportation service is really concerning to me. Guests have two options for transportation within the resort premises. The first one via Tour East (the travel agency located in the Resort Hub). Tour East is one of the leading agencies in Indonesia and as such have very high standards, insurances,.... Their prices reflect their services.
The second option is with the desk located just outside the lobby (third party too). We support this local company in our quest to maintain great relationships in the communities we do business in. As such, they manage to offer a more affordable option for guests not interested in "luxury".
Anyway, to avoid further similar cases, we have recently clearly posted official prices at the desk just outside the lobby. It is not standard and accepted practice for anyone in the resort grounds to offer anything than official prices. I encourage anyone to report such events directly to me.
You mentioned unbelievably low prices. However many questions come to mind, distance? size of the car?..... I can assure you that the hotel has never ever arranged daily drivers for 250,000.
If anyone thinks otherwise, I urge you to let me know directly at stephane.varoquier@ihg.com

Anyway, all in all, we are all excited at the fact that your family had an excellent stay, at an excellent price. Your support is greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Many thanks,

Kind regards,

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    441
    110
    26
    14
See reviews for
649
426
63
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was the first time we stayed at a hotel in the Tuban area. We were only here for 2 nights and needed to be near the shops so based on the reviews we read, we booked our stay at the Holiday Inn. This hotel lives up to its high reviews. Some of the nicest staff i have met, so helpful and friendly, quick check in service and just a pleasant stay overall. The walk along the beach to the shops is a great way to travel if you are using a stroller, helps to avoid the potholes on the roads. The only point i would make and i advised this upon check out was that they need to include some more vegetarian options on the menus. From my understanding, they are reviewing the menus and will focus on this a little more. Secondly, in all my travels, this was the first resort i have been too where there is a charge for using the kids club. I don't feel this is necessary and maybe should be considered. Overall, we loved this little hotel and will definetly we back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vish1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane_Varoquier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear "Vish1979",

Thank you for your love and confirmation that we lived up to our high reviews.

According to our records, I believe that the night room service menu (limited menu) was the one lacking vegetarian options. Room service menu will be changed before the end of the year and we'll make sure it is more appealing to vegetarian. In the meantime, we are happy to take special requests. Vegetarian options during the day in all outlets are available.

Kids Club: some hotels chose to have a "free and easy" kids club where any kids can go in and out anytime. We have chosen the paying option as we wanted to deliver great value (plenty of activities, lunch included, mobile phone for parents in case we need to call,....) and deliver a great experience to both kids and parents. Please note that kids club entrance is free for suite bookings.

Thank you very much for trying us and we are looking forward to welcome back your family for a longer time in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Being a travel agent I scour the trip advisor every hotel I put my clients in and I am no exception for myself. I chose this hotel based in its consistantly high reviews, I was not let down.
This hotel is in a lovely mix of Eastern and Western. Open and clean with a fantastic pool and pool bar with 2 resturants and an icecream bar right next to the beach. The rooms are clean with firm beds and the room is changed daily. The staff is what makes this hotel truely special. The staff is always ready with a big smile and friendly chitchat, they are all very well trained and served with efficiency and fun. We made really good friends with the guys that work in the pool bar and Envy Resturant.
The location was perfect for us as well. We are in our early twenties and wanted to go out but didn't want to be in the heart of Kuta. This was literally within walking distance (but why not get a taxi for $0.80c australian cents) of the main strip of Kuta and the shopping mall Discovery Plaza and eateries. Kuta square was just a little bit further and we would have dinner on the main strip and walk to Kuta square for the nightlife.
My brother and I stayed in a Deluxe Twin room and it was perfect for what we needed with a good safe.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again and will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asinoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane_Varoquier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear "Asinoe",

Perfection is what we strive for and I am delighted to see that on this occasion we delivered against our goal.

Rest assured that your comment will be share with our beloved staff. It is always a pleasure for any of us to make our guests feel special.

Thank you so much for your support and I hope I'll have the pleasure to meet you on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Great family hotel just out far enough from the hustle and bustle of Kuta. Easy and fast checkin with our rooms being ready before we got there. The hotel was extremely clean and rooms are of a decent size. Breakfast was good quality. Pool was a little small to cater for lots of families. Service around the pool was quite slow you had to go over to order your food. Apart from that would recommend the hotel for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheskilfoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane_Varoquier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear "cheskifoyle",

We are all happy to see that your family enjoyed the experience in our resort. I am sorry about the slow service around the pool. I shall watch this and make sure we make the necessary adjustments.

Thank you for staying with us and recommending us.

Kind regards,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is our second stay at the Holiday Inn. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. The hotel has everything you need for a great family holiday.

What we loved:

• Great family rooms. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it has two separate rooms. There is a main bedroom for adults and another room with double sofa bed for kids. Room has 2 TVs which comes in handy. Rooms are great value for families.
• Excellent kids club. There is a lot for kids to do and they run lots of activities. Lunch is included for free. Staff are lovely.
• Envy restaurant. This place is located on the beach and serves delicious meals and great cocktails.
• Excellent staff. It seems that staff are well trained, very efficient and friendly.
• Location is a short walk to Discovery Plaza and to the restaurants and shopping in Tuban. Also it’s very easy to catch a taxi and they are cheap.
• Excellent pool bar
• Pool is not over run by children even though it’s a family friendly hotel.
• Cabanas by the pool.

What we didn’t like:

• The smell/dampness in some rooms. Our room was good but we travelled with a group of friends and one had a problem with the smell and dampness in their room. However, the hotel was efficient to solve the issue and moved them to another room.
• Pool did not seem as clean as last year.
• Lawn area was not as green and luscious as last year

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return again if staying in the Tuban area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nards72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane_Varoquier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear "nards72",

Thank you very much for coming back and glad to see that, once more, you had a great stay with us.

I am not sure why you felt the pool was not as clean as last year. We thoroughly clean and treat our pool on a daily basis. We had no guest reporting any pool issues. Kindly let me know at stephane.varoquier@ihg.com why you felt that way.

The wet season was supposed to start in October and as of today (6 November), it hasn't started... The very hot weather and lack of rain bring some challenges to keep the grass in tip top condition. Water is very scarce in Bali. We only use recycled water for the grounds. We could use fresh water but to play our part for the environment, we chose to limit ourselves to recycled water (usually enough but now limited given the exceptional weather conditions). Nonetheless, we are working on solution to improve the situation.

Until we welcome you again,

Very best regards,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed there for 8 nights in a junior suite room with my family (2 adults, 2 children, 1 infant). The room exceeded my expectation. We really enjoyed our stay.

PROS:
1. Hotel location is great (3 min walk to reach the beginning of Kartika Plaza St in the heart of Kuta area).
2. The room is large with small dressing room connected to the bath and shower.
3. There is a table with 4 chairs for dinning in.
4. The sofa bed is wide and I used it as a bed for my 2 children.
5. The balcony is equipped with a porch and cloth drying rack.

CONS:
Nothing much I can see or feel. The only thing that I noticed that is not directly related to the hotel is that you can see locals walking and coming from beach side of the hotel. I heard that is a common problems at all Kuta area's hotels facing the beach.

Conclusion:
The hotel and staff are great. Highly recommended for a great vacation with the family.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AhmedJan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane_Varoquier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear "Ahmed J",

Thank you for your patronage. Good to see that your stay was enjoyable and that we surpassed your expectations.

You are right, locals are patronising the Kuta beaches. in fact, all beaches in Bali are public. As such, anybody is welcomed. We treasure our relationship with the local community and are proud to live happily in harmony respecting each other. Our beach front is really the quietest part of Kuta. I am sorry if it did disturb you somehow.

Your recommendation to others is highly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Kind regards,

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed for three nights at this hotel and we were satisfied with the choice. They have beach even though isn't private. The room is rather small but modern style. The beds is on small side especially the twin bed is really single bed. The room have access to the garden and pool. The breakfast is very nice, try the pancake and it is one of the best. Hope we will be back sometimes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.6 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#25 of 248 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Rama Beach Resort and Villas
0.4 mi away
Bali Dynasty Resort
Bali Dynasty Resort
#15 of 248 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Address: Jalan Wana Segara 33 | South Kuta, Tuban, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tuban
#1 Family Hotel in Tuban
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tuban
#1 Spa Hotel in Tuban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort(R)Baruna Bali seamlessly blends with the alluring white-sand beaches of Pantai Segara, locally known as Pantai Jerman, which stretches off the southern coast of Kuta in Bali. A mere ten-minute drive from Bali's International Airport, South Kuta's relatively quiet beaches are a haven for relaxation while a short walk leads to central Kuta's vibrant streets lined with restaurants, bars, shops and markets; the newly completed boardwalk along the beach enables visitors to enjoy a scenic stroll from South Kuta to the famous Kuta Beach in the North. Holiday Inn Resort(R)Baruna Bali offers 193 guest rooms and suites, ranging in size from 28 to 75 square metre, all with private balconies boasting stunning vistas of shimmering azure sea or the Resort(R) 's pool and verdant lawns. Sleek contemporary furnishings with Balinese tropical accents optimize the space for rest and relaxation and have been designed to appeal to families and couples as well as individual travelers. All rooms come conveniently equipped with high-speed wireless internet connectivity, 32-inch flat-screen televisions with over 60 cable channels, CD/DVD players, iPod docking stations, mini refrigerators and tea and coffee making facilities, while hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms with separate bath and power shower areas and 40-inch televisions are standard in all suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali Hotel Tuban
Holiday Inn Baruna Bali
Holiday Inn Tuban
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing