We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Basic Sundanese Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pawon Pasundan

Pawon Pasundan
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Tuban
Price range: US$0 - US$5
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Halal and Healthy Sundanese Food located near Bali's Ngurah Rai Int'l Airport
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Basic Sundanese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times over the years in a number visits to Bali and it has never failed to satisfy. Billed as a Sundanese restaurant, the establishment serves up a variety of chicken, fish and beef dishes and guests can choose from a number of 'komplit' meals, meaning that each serving came with vegetables, fermented soya cakes or tempe and a 'sambal' or spicy sauce.

The restaurant is also well known for its ikan and ayam baker or grilled fish (tilapia) and chicken.

Situated around five minutes from Denpasar Airport it is an excellent last minute stop before leaving Bali.

Simply mouth wateringly delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seika61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PawonPasundan, Owner at Pawon Pasundan, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Many thanks for your kind review! Our set menus offer various delicious savory meat options with Nasi TImbel steamed rice and fresh vegetables, chili sauce making a perfect dish for either lunch or dinner. Look forward to your next visit to Pawon Pasundan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    42
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“enjoyable Indonesia meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were brought to this restaurant by our drive cum guide when we asked him to recommend a Local food outlet and we were not disappointed. The atmosphere is Very Indonesian and you may even request to dine in one of their floor sitting dining hut next to the inner garden, yes they have a garden too. The food are great and the price were very affordable for a Restaurant set up. Most set meal are around Rp45,000 which comprised of rice, main dish and vegie. Good Value and great place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lukesmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PawonPasundan, Owner at Pawon Pasundan, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Lukesmary, you should also try our other delectable menus on your next holiday in Bali. And be sure to book our traditional hut "saung" for more unique eating experience at Pawon Pasundan. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malacca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had my dinner here after walking around Kuta Beach.

Had ayam bakar and es cendol. Service was good and fast.
Food was good and a good portion (not too small) for dinner.

Will visit again. Cost me 60k rupiah for meal and drinks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PawonPasundan, Owner at Pawon Pasundan, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Keii, thank you for your compliments, that ayam bakar and es cendol will be waiting for you on your next visit to Kuta, Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I ordered gurame asam manis and es cendol. The gurame was good, ice cendol as so. . . What be my concern is the parking lot, its so small. I even can't see the entrance door coz of there was a car park right of it. . .

Helpful?
Thank adi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PawonPasundan, Owner at Pawon Pasundan, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello Adi, we are glad you have enjoyed our sundanese food and the special drinks with your special ones. Your concern on our parking space issue has been noted by our management. Being in the midst of hustle and bustle Kuta, near airport and other main tourist spots in Bali so that most visitors could access our place more easily has brought some consequences to us : busy traffic, and lack of parking spot. We have enlarged it by renting a land space specially for parking area, next to our current restaurant, still during the busiest hours of lunch or dinner some big buses will block most of the parking lot. In your case, you could hardly see our entrance door. We truly sorry for the inconvenience and wish you will come back for more culinary experiences at Pawon Pasundan. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loooovvveeee the Gurame Terbang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I can really say that my trip to Bali has not come full circle if I haven't visit Pawon Pasundan.. It has become sort of a ritual for me and my family to have at least one meal here before we go back home, and we've been returning since the year 2000.

We've seen this restaurant grow! From a smaller establishment to a place that can easily seat more than 150 people at once..

The Gurame Goreng is just amazing! Somebody needs to start a fan club for this dish! Super crispy but tender on the inside.. With the sambel kecap and piping hot nasi timbel.. This is heaven on earth!

And the es puter kopyor! Wow! I haven't find any other es puter kopyor up to par with the one they serve in Pawon Pasundan..

What also amazes me is their tea.. I still can't figure out the brand of tea they use.. (I know my tea very well) and it's really good served both hot and iced..

Very friendly service.. Very friendly price too!

I wish they have bigger parking space, yes even bigger than what they already have now, since it seemed to be always occupied by the tour busses..

All the best for Pawon Pasundan! And the very friendly Ibu Rita & Ibu Indri :)

Helpful?
Thank Ayshee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PawonPasundan, Owner at Pawon Pasundan, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Ayshee, you have just made our day. Your high praise on our food and service is actually what makes us more motivated and determined to serve you even better! With your great support, who knows what future would bring us, we might have much bigger space, and larger parking lot, as you wish! Thank you again for being no.1 fan of Pawon Pasundan Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pawon Pasundan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing