We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel - Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rama Beach Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rama Beach Resort and Villas
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Tuban
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

We were on honeymoon and this was our first trip to Bali & did not know what to expect, only what other people had told us. We decided on Rama Beach as it was reasonably priced & thought Tuban would be a good location away from the centre of Kuta which from what we had been told was busy and hectic.

We arrived in Bali around 8 am and were met by the one of the Hotels drivers. As check in wasnt until 2pm we expected to have to put our luggage in the luggage room and find something to do until check in time, however as soon as we arrived we were given welcome drinks and checked in straight away which was great as we could start relaxing & enjoying our holiday.
We noticed the room looked different to the one we had booked (deluxe room) so went and asked at reception if it was the same room and they told me they had upgraded us to a deluxe cottage at no extra cost.

Breakfast was always great, huge amount of choice and an egg station too. Breakfast usually kept us going until dinner time.
Staff were always friendly and greeted us with smiles and hellos each time we saw them. The tours & activities lady (Merri) was friendly and got us good deals on tours we wanted to do with extra discounts.

The location was great, it was only a 15-20 min walk into Kuta for shopping & restauarants, or Rama Beach offered a free shuttle service there & back, or you could take a taxi into Kuta for only dollar or two. There are a few massage places within short walking distance of hotel and a good tattoo place (Bali Dreamz) which we visited a couple of times.

Pool was always sparkling clean and nice and cool. There is no longer a swim up bar but there is a poolside bar where the waiters will serve you in the pool anyway. Drinks a little pricey but what you would expect for a hotel.

We went to the Saturday night BBQ which was US $25 each and included Balinese dancers and a big variety of BBQ's food - satay sticks with chicken, fish, squid, lamb, and a suckling pig aswell as vegies, salads and desserts. Absolutley delicious food.

Overall we would recommend Rama Beach for its friendliness, location and generally great feel about the hotel.

Cant wait to get back to Bali in 2010!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairenandy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    514
    101
    23
    21
See reviews for
346
621
56
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

The villa we stayed was 10min away from the lobby and restaurant and a considerable walk for my young children ages 3 & 5. The room was dirty with dead insects found in the bathroom and bedroom. The air-conditioning was not working so we requested the technician to fill up gas every night in order to keep the room cool. However, the pool was big and clean.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_jbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed at the Rama for four days at the end of our trip in Dec. After getting great reviews from friends about the Rama, we were expecting a lot more. They no longer have a pool bar which is very disappointing, as this takes away lots of atmosphere in the pool area. We were upgraded from a Deluxe Cottage to a Garden Villa which was nice, but only due to the renovations going on while we were there, which were very noisy and we found it hard to get our one year old daughter to sleep with all the noise. The resturant is very exxy for Bali and meal sizes varied each day, even when we ordered the same things. When we went to check out, they tried to charge us twice for room service that we had paid cash for and were very rude when we questioned it. This is def NOT a place to take young children, there was no shade around the kids pool. We didnt think it was worth the extra money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

We stayed in this hotel for our whole trip to Bali, from 07/12/09 to 17/12/09. Our first impression was ok, we have backpacked for most of our previous travels so have seen a lot worse. We had to wait about 2 hours for our room to be ready so lounged by the pool. We were disappointed that the pool bar had been closed down, another has been built a few metres from the pool but its not the same. Our room was nice, big bed and spacious with nice bathroom.
For the first two nights it was fine, we are out of the room most of the day anyway. But then they decided to tear down the room next to us and renovate us, so we came back to our room to hear walls being torn down, drilling, banging etc. We thought we would put up with it that time because surely it would not be as noisy later, but the next day from 8am-7pm it was non-stop noise. When you want to come relax in your room between activities, this is very annoying. I also think that this should not be carried out in the first place, with guests paying to stay in surrounding rooms. We complained the next day when they started up again, with the staff being indifferent at first. I really had to make a fuss, and they offered an upgrade to the deluxe cottage later that day.
The deluxe cottage is lovely, no complaints there. From then on our stay was lovely, nice and isolated and no noise at all. We ordered room service and found it quite disappointing, and all drinks we got made at the pool bar were very weak. All in all, we were very put off from our first room. We would recommend this hotel only for those wanting to stay in Kuta on a budget, and make sure the renovations are not taking place. We also found the atmosphere in Legian to be much nicer and will be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zo389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

Stayed here from 19-23 Dec 09. We were a family of 2 adults, 2 kids and 2 senior citizens.
I was very pleased with my experience at this resort even though it was not my first choice when looking for accoms.
Reception:
Staff were welcoming. No problem with reservations and check-in even though we arrived near midnight. Staff spoke both Bahasa as well as English with relative ease.
Environment:
Well manicured gardens. Nice architecture with villas and landscaping. Only problem was that if it rained, it's open all the way to the reception. Nonetheless, umbrellas were available in each room.
Rooms:
Spacious and clean. TV had local and foreign channels. Wifi available for a fee. Internet vouchers can be bought from the front desk. Think it was 50,000 rupiahs for 4 hours. Bathroom was big with tub and fixed shower. Hairdryer available.
Restaurant:
Breakfast spread was good enough with local and western dishes.
Swimming pool:
Very nicely done. Sufficient for swimming as well as just playing around, Enough tanning chairs to go around. You can also have your drinks while sitting in the pool.
Check-out:
No problems encountered with billing. They were having problems for a few hours with the line connection for the credit card machine. Although inconvenient for some of the other guests who had to rush to the airport, I think the manager handled things professionally to the best he could.

Cons:
1. Wish internet was free
2. No in-room safe for superior and deluxe rooms.
3. Bathroom flush a bit weak and the water could smell a little funky at times.
4. The tiles of the swimming pool are very rough. It's prob an anti-slip feature but if you brush against it, it could cause abrasions. Also, the depth was either very deep (2.4m) or very shallow. No in between.
5. Pretty far walk from Kuta but they have hotel shuttles at 10, 2 and 4.
6. The beach outside (Rama beach) was dirty. Maybe it was cos of low tide but it definitely wasn't meant for swimming. A lot of small boats in the water. The only clean part of the beach was directly in front of the Holiday Inn next to the hotel where it was combed over. But the beach was very very quiet ie no activity.

Conclusions:
If you want to be in the midst of the action, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a pleasant and comfortable stay where kids can have fun in the pool away from the crowds, then this is perfect. I would probably consider this hotel again if I caome to Bali again. Maybe try out the villas next time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reeyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Rama beach was the first hotel that my partner and i stayed in Bali. Actually this was our second choice since the hotel that we wanted was fully booked. I was ready for disappointment since I've read some just average reviews. But our trip turned out to be really great!! As soon as we arrived in the airport, there was someone from the hotel waiting to pick us up (forgotten his name) but he was really nice. The hotel wasn't far from the airport, around 10 to 15 mins ride. When we arrived we received our welcome drink while waiting for the registration process to finish (It took like10 mins). The lobby was nice, with lots of statues depicting Bali arts and culture and there's a small corner with a staff to help if you wanna get some tours info.
The walk to our room was pleasant. The garden look well tended and the people in Rama Beach was really really nice. They were full of smiles and everywhere you go there's always people who greet you and help you get around. The room was spacious and has a nice balcony. We've got a twin bed although when booking we asked for a double bed. We were a little disappointed but it wasn't a problem. Yes, the room and the furniture looked old but we weren't in the room 24/7 and the fact it was cozy appeal to us. The bathroom was really big, with huge tub and nice big mirror. They provide hair dryer but it wasn't strong enough so if you're fussy it's better to bring your own. The socket in the bathroom was faulty i think because i can hear the electric current so be careful when you plug in any electrical appliances. It might turn some people off but the water was salty in the bathroom and it tasted weird. It bothered us at first too especially when need to brush teeth and wash our faces.
When it comes to breakfast, we didn't have anything to complaint about. Even though some reviewers said that their breakfast was 'okay' we found that Rama Beach breakfast was really good. Lots of choices from western to local and we had the nicest coffee there. Get your egg the way u like it from the egg station and toast your own bread (the toaster need a lil' time to get used to). The staffs were really great and we loved our time there. We went to the pool bar to have drinks. Benny and the rest of the crew were wonderful. We had an excellent time. We ordered pizza and it was good. Room service was fast. Rama Beach does provide shuttle service. The shuttle service is available at a certain time and will only bring you up to Kuta Square. If you want to use the service make sure you ask the front desk for info. We didn't really use the shuttle because we prefer to walk to Kuta. There's a walking path build alongside the beach not far from the hotel. We really had an enjoyable time staying at Rama Beach. I'm sure we'll be back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v_elle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

Arrived at Rama Beach for 8 nights after a tiring day snorkelling full of expectation only to be greatly disapponted.
Firstly they didn't put us close together with our friends room, then our friends rooms toilet didn't flush & A/C didn't work, so after what seemed like endless hours of waiting in a hot room for them to 'fix' the problem we asked for them to be put into another room,you would have thought we'd asked for the Taj Mahal!!! the staff were unco-operative & not willing to help, careless attitude.
Our rooms TV only had reception on INDO TV, we asked them if they would look at it, said they did but no change.
Pool was excellent! But had a group of "local" guests swimming in their underpants, i must admit, i was hesitant to swim in it that day! staff couldn't have cared less after some
complained, noyhing done.
They have just started renovations the week we arrived,so i would chose elsewhere.
Rooms were a big let-down, breakfast ok...if you like eating amongst a cloud of cigarette smoke, pool was nice, music WAY too loud.
Personally i would NEVER recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balitraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.5 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#8 of 248 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Beach Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Beach Resort and Villas

Property: Rama Beach Resort and Villas
Address: Jl. Jenggala, Tuban, Kuta 80001, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tuban
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
#2 Family Hotel in Tuban
#2 Spa Hotel in Tuban
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Beach Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAMA BEACH Resort & Villas is located in Tuban, South Kuta, only a few strides away from the famous Kuta beach,Airport and offers guests a choice between Deluxe rooms or private Garden / Pool villas, surrounded by spacious tropical gardens. The elegant pool area, with its contemporary style and flowing cascades,sunken bar is a blissful place to relax in the midday heat while the sportier guests can make use of our tennis court in the cooler morning or evening. For the ultimate relaxation, spoil yourself and discover the emotional serenity and physical rejuvenation of our therapeutic SPA. When the urge to shop strikes, our shuttle bus plies between the hotel and the popular Discovery Shopping Mall, Lippo Mall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Rama Beach Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Beach Resort And Villas Hotel Tuban
Rama Beach Hotel
Rama Beach Resort And Villas Bali/Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing