We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, meals were average.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Garden
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Tuban
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean room, meals were average.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

A little noisy, because the rooms all over looked the common pool area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room very clean and tidy, bed comfortable. Had a room safe for valuables. I wouldn't recommend eating dinner there. The food wasn't great, but passable- my vegetables and noodles tasted like fish, in a bad way. Otherwise, a nice place, and good value. We're going back for a night at the end of our trip, but we'll definitely be getting dinner somewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen69901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    77
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
124
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Lovely pool, no kids allowed (therefore not aloud). Lovely Balinese decor rooms. Very good spa, breakfast ok...just. Overall a feeling of peace and serenity. A good walk to main shopping area, but taxis are cheap. Always take a bluebird metered taxi,they are well controlled and saves bargaining with taxis that want to charge double or more over the metered taxi fares.

Room Tip: No elevator, so stay one 1st level up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel is situated close to the airport, which is convenient for a late arrival after a long flight. Room was spacious and clean. We were on the 4th floor, knew about the absence of elevators, but got help from 2 boys carrying our luggage upstairs and downstairs. Upon arrival we were offered a welcome drink. No WiFi in your hotel room, but free wifi in the reception/breakfast area.

Breakfast was fine, we could chose from 4 different menus, and always catered our needs. It could take a long time before coffee was served, sometimes even after our breakfast, but we solved that by asking to start with the coffee first.

We could rent bicycles for free from the hotel, which is great. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

When using the walkway on the beach you can walk to Kuta in about 20 minutes. It's quiet at night, most of the nights. We were unfortunate that there was a big group celebrating by the pool till very late, very loud and noisy. It would have been nice if the guard had stopped them at a decent hour.

When booking trips outside the hotel make sure to mention more than once which Green Garden hotel your staying, we had twice that the driver was waiting for us at the wrong hotel...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

This is good for an overnighter I suggest if you have an early flight out or a late arrival into Bali as it's very close to the airport but only a few steps from the beach too. There are few staff around if you arrive late at night but eventually I was taken to my room. They are a little tired but very roomy with a private balcony overlooking the pool (which looks lovely but I didn't get to try it out).
The staff are helpful and the tradional Balinese breakfast was good value.
There are no lifts but only two or three flights of stairs.
Oh by the way, if you get a taxi be aware that there are two hotels with the same name. I did end up at another one firstly and it was about 20 minutes before they could organise a complimentary pick-up from the hotel I had actually booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

There are 2 green garden hotels so don't get them confused. This one is located at the non crazy end of Kuta at a beach called Tuban (South Kuta). Look for last minute deals in October if you plan to travel in the lower season of November as prices drop. However if you book in Sept for Nov, no discounts are offered.

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in end Oct/Nov 2012. What one's expectations of this 3 star hotel are will determine whether or not you will like it or not. If your expectations are of an idyllic 5 star resort and spa right on the beach then you will be disappointed. If you are looking for comfortable and spacious room without the 5 star frills then you will like it. Here are the good and bad points:
Good:
1. Very spacious rooms with King sized bed in the double rooms. Other rooms have 2 singles which are sometimes pushed together-these appear to be on lower floors so do ask when booking.
2. Large bath tub (jacuzzi sized but no jets) on top floor-not sure about about lower floor. Can take a while to fill up. We stayed in room 43 and (4th and top floor) and water pressure was a bit slow.
3. Large and deep pool at one end with small waterfall feature at shallower end. Water was not too cold and not too warm but it hadn't rained for a couple of months so it is probably a little warmer when we were there than normal. The pool is its selling point.
4. Food quality for lunch and dinner was very good and reasonably priced for hotel standards. Both local and western food was available. Bali food is cheap compared to Australian prices (about 1/4-1/3 the price)
5. There were 4 set breakfasts available to choose from as part of rate deal. They were ample for our needs but a little repetitive like any hotel after 2 weeks.
6. Staff are very friendly but some trainees are used and were a little inexperienced and found it difficult communicating in English (we are in Bali don't forget). The experienced staff are brilliant.
7. The nearby beach (50-100 meter walk away) has magnificent sunsets....there are a number of resorts that front the beach to enjoy the sunset from. There are half price cocktails at happy hour at some of these places if this interests you.
8 They have a wonderful free massage included if staying more than 7-8 days. The spa is expensive by Bali stds at $18 (normally $5 up the road for similar but the hotel spa is better ambience and facilities-more professional)
9. Large balcony on upper floors. Ground floor is right at the pool with a patio area which is not so private. The top floor has a distant sea view from your balcony with a nice breeze

Not so good:
1.The hotel infrastructure other than pool is a bit dated but acceptable for 3 star.
2. Staff have limited knowledge about flight bookings etc. For example I had to help out another customer as they didnt know how to help her book on line and didnt know who to contact at the airline to get assistance. So apart from first level of service there could be a void.
3. There was a smell from the nearby road drain for a few days whilst footpath works were being undertaken. However this is not the fault of the hotel. However the thin bamboo fencing was not able to keep the smell at bay. This should be resolved tho in the next 2 weeks when the works have been completed.
4. The hotel is located on a road which has some noise but not as bad as other roads as it has a cul de sac. Try and get a room away from the road side and it wont be a problem
5. The hotel is not on a beach frontage but a 50 meter walk to the beach. There is a short stretch of 50-100 meter beach which has a lot of rubbish on it but either side of it is quite clean. There is a nice promenade walk along the beach which can be take to the centre of kuta about 20-30 mins away. Be aware that the beaches have a strong rip all the way along this part of the coastline right up to the other end of Kuta.
6. Don't book transport or tours through the hotel as they charge an extra $10 on top. There are heaps of transport vans and taxis who will take you to where you want to go. Just check they can communicate with you to your satisfaction and that they are experienced. Tours commencing at 8.30am and ending at 8pm will cost only $50 not including lunch. Look after the driver and they will look after you.

Room Tip: get a room on top (4th) floor away from road side for a view to sea if you don't mind climbing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank izramSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutherland Shire, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We only stayed here for one night and a half day and chose the hotel because of its proximity to the airport for our departure on the second day. We were allocated a room on the 4th floor which we had requested. Unfortunately there are no elevators and after a few trips up and down the exceptionally steep stairs we regretted this request despite being reasonably fit and used to hiking. Our room was quite spacious, nothing fancy but the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was also spacious and we had a small balcony with a glimpse of the beach. We did have a problem with a leaking air-conditioner which was rectified fairly promptly. Drainage in the bathroom was poor and the hot water was a little unreliable at times. The staff were lovely and service was pretty good. We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast and lunch and it was quite good, nothing fancy but the food was fresh and tasty.

We did request to stay in our room for an additional hour after the 6.00pm late check out time but our request was denied. Never mind, we walked across the road to the Holiday Inn and enjoyed a cocktail at their beach bar instead which we found to be better than sitting in the reception area at Green Garden Beach Resort. The hotel did include complimentary airport transfer which was punctual and efficient.

One thing we did not realise was how close this property is to the road, with only a bamboo fence separating the pool area from the roadway. The constant traffic noise and lack of privacy did not encourage us to spend time around the pool. This noise was also noticeable in the restaurant and in our room. During the daytime there are very few shaded areas around the pool to escape the sun and the cabanas are not comfortable as they have a large table in the middle which makes them difficult to access and sit inside.

For us, our stay was just average, and we would choose a property with more Balinese charm and one which is set back from the roadway in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daisy_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenbali, General Manager at Green Garden, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear DaisyDoolittle59,

Thanks so much for your one night and a half day transit stay at the Green Garden. Your feedback details are much appreciated too.

It is a pity that you did not like the top floor room despite your request for it. In fact, our Reservations took quite an effort to allocate your booking there after moving other guests around. From your booking correspondence, I learned that you knew about the facilities prior to confirming your booking that the resort had no elevator but stairs. Your feedback on the bathroom drainage was noted and had been rectified as soon as the report was submitted. I apologize for the discomfort you experienced from this.

I am sorry to learn that you did not like spending time around the swimming pool. From the many reviews in the T/A, many guests loved the pool a lot as well as the outdoor jacuzzi and the available steam room. Although the pool is located close to the road, it has high fence and surrounded by trees that should provide ample privacy and shade. On the contrary, some reviewers even suggested to cut down the trees in order to have more sun...?

Road work was taking place along the street in front of the hotel during your stay. Since last year every now and then, such road works have been happening around Kuta and the visual/noise disruptions have unfortunately been present when the works are in process. Our local government is currently revamping the gutters and pedestrian walk ways to make Kuta a more viable destination for disabled travelers. We apologize that the works were heard from your room which was located the closest from the road than any other rooms.

Regarding an additional hour after your late check-out, the Reception on duty reported that you asked for 2 extra hours (not 1 hour as outlined in your T/A review). An hour was most likely OK but 2 hours were a bit too much for that evening. Your Room Attendant had to clean & refresh the room for the following guests. I am glad that you utilized our safe storage facilities for your bags while enjoying your sunset cocktail at the beach bar across the street from the resort and that you liked our complimentary transfer to airport.

Despite the above, I am glad to learn that you liked your bed and mentioned that our staff were lovely, our foods were fresh & tasty, our service was punctual & efficient. Your review on your SLEEP QUALITY being VERY GOOD is much appreciated too.

Again, thank you for your short stay and your reply to my follow-up message. I sincerely hope the resort will be given another opportunity of hosting you again. Hopefully the next time will be a longer stay as with other hotel patrons who had generously written their reviews in this forum.

With warm regards,

PAULUS WIBOWO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Green Garden Beach Resort in Bali is located close to the airport, it will take only around 10,000 rupiah to get you there by a regular Blue Bird taxi, which you can avail outside the gates. An airport taxi will cost you more. The location of the hotel is good, they have large rooms and wifi access is free, however in the room the signal sometimes is too low. I already suggested the manager to improve it....hopefully that will be done. Breakfast is good, many choices, luckily also nasi or mie goreng, cause we all now Indonesian bread is not the best at all. The pool is large, there is a spa also and a jacuzzi. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It's just a 100 mtr walk to the beach, which in this area is pretty quiet, but enjoyable because many foodstalls there right on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are, acc to my information, all the same, large and with all amenities we can wish for a simpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.5 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Sandi Phala
The Sandi Phala
#6 of 20 in Tuban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
0.1 mi away
Rama Beach Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Ramada Bintang Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Garden

Property: Green Garden
Address: | Jl. Wana Segara, Tuban, Kuta 80361 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tuban
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tuban
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On behalf of all the staff & management, we thank you to all lovely patrons of Green Garden Beach Resort & Spa who have visited the hotel and become our extended families. The hotel will soon undergo a major renovation and will be closed as from 20 September 2013. Hopefully the schedule will be on time and we will be again seeing you all in the first quarter of 2015. You will be dearly missed but will see you again with our new face - more functional, more stylish, and definitely younger and fresher.... :-) Nestled in the peaceful Tuban village of South Kuta Beach, this intimate & small boutique resort is designed for couples looking for a romantic holiday. It is located less than 50 meters away from a beautiful sandy beach with clear calm water protected by off-shore coral reefs. Attractions of Kuta are within easy strolling distance including shops and a wide range of restaurants. Comprising of 15 guest rooms, only a few steps away from its well-kept frangipani garden and relaxing swimming pool with cascading waterfall, this intimate boutique resort is probably one of the most renowned budget hotels in Bali and provides superb facilities that will impress even the most discerning travellers. The spa is arguably one of the best in Bali with exotic traditional treatments and spa cottages, performed by skillful therapists. Being popular among lovers and honeymooners, children under 18 years are unfortunately not welcome at this resort as serenity must be maintained at all times. However this will change after the renovation is fully completed - families with children will be welcome in 2015. Currently the hotel consists of 4 levels and there is no elevator to the upper guest rooms. Ocean view is available from the upper rooms. Please feel free to contact the Resident Manager for any special requests. Thanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Green Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Beach Hotel Tuban
Green Garden Beach Resort
Green Garden Bali/Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing