We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of The Sandi Phala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sandi Phala
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Tuban
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A little beach side oasis just on the edge of krazy kuta. Airport is 10 min away so less taxi time and more massage time. Genuine service with little extras provided at no extra cost. We had a late flight out so a late checkout was provided with no fuss. Would definately go again - a magic place

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

I got married at the ma-joly on the 5/10/2013 and i just have to say it was the best wedding ive ever been to! Fiers the event manager was second to none with all the details.....big to the tiniest!

Insane location, amazing food and service second to none!

Also stayed 2 nights at the Sandi Phala in a junior pool suite room and it just topped off the best day in my life.

BIG BIG BIG BIG THANKYOU to all at Sandi Phala and Ma-Joly!

Room Tip: for a little bit of luxury the junior pool suite was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyClarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

on arrival to sandi phala at 130am we were promptly escorted to our room. it was very efficient we were able to fill in all the boring paper work on departure so we didn't need to do it so late at night.
the room was lovely the bathroom was amazing.
breakfast was perfect alla cart instead of buffet which always excited me.
the breakfast is well cook but lets face it everything tastes good with a view like that.
the service was faultless we were served cocktails in the pool during happy hour.
the beach in fount is acctually owned by the hotel so there is no halkers bugging you during breakfast or layzing on the beach.
the cost can be expensive however we got an amazing deal AUD $160 pernight per room including breakfast.
TIP if you like walking to kuta or discovery walk along the beach it cuts a good 20 mins of the trip.
couldnt praise it enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chels-bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were impressed with the Sandi Phala hotel and would definitely recommend it.
As a smaller hotel it is has a much nicer feel than some of the big hotels on either side, and it meant we could relax much more with the kids as we felt like we had the run of the place.
We normally would have stayed somewhere a bit cheaper, but given the wedding we were attending was at the Ma Joly restaurant onsite, we decided to treat ourselves. We're glad we took that decision.
It's probably more of a couples hotel, due to its intimate feel, than a family hotel...though we always felt welcome.
The location is great. You can walk into Kuta in 10-15 minutes or get the complimentary transfer if you want to experience the Bali hustle and bustle. Or you can stay in our own little oasis, blissfully unaware of the congestion etc just up the road.
As we were staying with two kids, we booked the Sandi Phala suite. It is huge and the four of us lived very comfortably (the kids on very comfortable trundle beds). The decor is great and the bathroom is also huge. It's better value than booking two individual rooms and much easier to function as a family if you're in the same room.
It's nice that they restock the mini bar every day, free of charge, so you don't feel guilty having a cold Bintang in the warmth of the evening out on your own personal verandah at the end of the day.
The staff are very friendly and can't do enough to help you. They are great ambassadors for the hotel.
The pool is a good size and nice and deep too.
Apart from the wedding buffet, the only meals we ate at the Ma Joly restaurant were the breakfasts and they hit the spot, especially the banana pancakes.
All in all, we were really happy with the Sandi Phala.

Room Tip: Paying the extra money for the Sandi Phala is something you should consider
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ_from_WA_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This place was perfect for a couples getaway. We are always on the look out for places like this. Limited rooms, great pool, service and a great restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and chef Jay made the best food, whether it was for breakfast, lunch or dinner, it was divine. If you are after a hotel that you can relax in I would stay here, we had the pool suite which was roomy and the best bathroom i have used.

Room Tip: The pool suite was fantastic and big. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our stay here was the second of 5 stops in Indonesia in which our planning began with a week-long scuba booking at Wakatobi Dive Resort. In traveling that far around the world we decided to spend 6 nights in Bali before Wakatobi (in Sulawesi State) and another 6 nights back in Bali afterward. For reference, you may also see my reviews for Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Wakatobi Dive Resort, Damai Lovina and Ibah Warwick as continuations of our customized itinerary that was booked with the assistance of the Wakatobi VIP Concierge service (which I highly recommend).

Rather than brave the long, congested commute from Ubud to the airport my wife and I stayed here 1 night in order to comfortably catch our flight to Wakatobi Dive Resort the next morning. After wending our way through unending urban traffic it seemed as if our driver took a turn through a magic portal and we found ourselves inside this secluded beach-front enclave.

A smallish resort with, I believe, only 11 rooms (give or take) we enjoyed a sense of privacy that is appealing to us. The grounds and swimming pool area were well-groomed and the open, beach-front restaurant and bar were excellent for our delicious complimentary breakfasts. Free in-room wifi was good and also appreciated. I would stay here again as a strategic lay-over for a next-day airport departure.

Room Tip: The rooms all appear to face an interior courtyard with easy access to the front desk, beautiful swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvschmieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Great friendly staff, beautiful setting, will go back. The mini bar is free, yes really and the room is cleaned twice a day and supplies replenished. Free airport transfers both ways. The best thing is the staff.

Room Tip: The ground floor suites have great showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.4 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
1.1 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#23 of 252 in Kuta
5,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 252 in Kuta
2,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rama Beach Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandi Phala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandi Phala

Address: Jl. Wana Segara, Tuban, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tuban
#5 Spa Hotel in Tuban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
Price Range: £73 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandi Phala 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sandi Phala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandi Phala Hotel Tuban
Kupu Barong Beach Hotel
Kupu Barong Beach Tuban
The Sandi Phala Bali/Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing