We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bakungs Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Tuban
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Back Again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

This will be the 4th time I've stayed at Bakungs. I've always found the staff pleasant, ready to help and eager to serve. I must say, for a 2 * hotel it compares with some higher rated establishments. Maybe not as up to date, with older facilities and mountainous front office steps that are slippery after rains BUT its hard to argue against clean linen daily, room fridge, good air con lovely little pool that's well maintained and close to everything. I mean where else is all this including a fair breakfast for less that $AUD40 a night?

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    98
    88
    35
    45
See reviews for
62
109
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

It all depends what you are looking for ! We have been coming to this hotel now for a number of years and although old and in need of a good upgrade it is happening. We are currently staying here and the manager showed us one of the rooms that are almost finished being upgraded and what with the new tiling floor to ceiling in the bathroom. With new washbasins and toilet pedestals lovely floor tiles throughout, the finished product will be lovely. We are.pensioners and can not afford to stay in the other upmarket hotels and would recommend this hotel to anyone who are not over fussy. I can not speak more highly of the friendliness of the manager and his staff (and no I am not on the payroll). Pool is lovely and the gardens pretty except for the moment while the upgrade is in progress. We have never encountered beg bugs or fleas. The linen, yes is old but always clean.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank empirestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Look this hotel was cheap but we didn't spend much time in the room . Our phone didn't work and the shower was awful . But we did the holiday cheap . So as the saying goes you get what you pay for . Pool was a nice area gardens were pretty beds comfortable room nice bathroom needs work not the cleanest. If you want to do it on a budget it's live able staff are friendly . The dark alley out the front at night was my only concern walking back alone was a little daunting

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Recently stayed here and found the hotel, staff and location very nice and suitable. Loved walking down the lane and through Pantai Restaurant to the beach........Then taking a 10min stroll along the beach to Discovery Mall. Everything at my fingertips.....as you walk out the front of hotel very quaint little shops providing everything one would need. .........The bathrooms need an update but not a problem, usable thats the main thing.........got a great deal on Asia Rooms. The pool area is nice but once again could use an upgrade. Hotel, Front Desk and restaurant staff very helpful. Great value and very pleasant for the not so fussy .:)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

this was the first time staying at Bakungs and have to say that i was suprised .after reading the reviews was expecting the worse, yes its old and a little mouldy but the air con worked well and the sheets were clean. the staff are friendly and the highlight had to be the breakfast each day.considering how little it cost to stay i have paid more and stayed in worse. for those who see the room as some where to sleep and save their money for shopping i would recommend Bakung Beach

catherine

Room Tip: the ones down the back had better plumbing we were told
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathj72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Ok now this place was old but it was cheap and it matched its dollar value, the rooms were clean and the bathroom as clean as they could get it, but the bathrooms are in seriouse need of an up grade, but back to $ value again it's ok.
The towels were clean but grey. One thing that was weird was all the light switches were filthy, they took the trouble to clean everything else but these looked like they hadn't been cleaned for 20 years, I just sprayed them with glen 20.
The pool and the grounds were lovely and staff polite but not over friendly like Balanese normaly are. I'd still recommend this if your on a budget, you don't spend much time in your room.
PS no coffee or tea facilities in the rooms or water .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzard711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tuban hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I've stayed at Bakungs on a short visit which thankgod was only a one night stay. This hotel is old and dirty. On a second visit i stayed here but only for a few hours as i had a long wait before my flight and for $40 i didnt mind so much as i only wanted to use the shower and have some where cool to relax for a few hours. This is probably the only time i would reccomend for anyone to try out Bakungs. A few hours tops! Any longer go some where else you will find better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRDBSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.9 mi away
Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Radiant Hotel and Spa & Airy
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel Bali
Palm Beach Hotel Bali
#204 of 251 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Beach International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Solaris Hotel Kuta
Solaris Hotel Kuta
#72 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakungs Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakungs Beach Hotel

Property: Bakungs Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza, Tuban, Kuta, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bakungs Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakungs Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakung Beach Cottages Hotel Tuban
Bakungs Beach Hotel Bali/Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing