We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakungs Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bakungs Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Tuban
Byford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Staff were friendly upon arrival but that is where the positives ended.

The room was old & outdated & we had to go up 2 flights of stairs to get there. There are stray cats living on the grounds (we saw at least 6). The room was infested with Mosquitos & my friend had bed bugs in her bed. The room is noisy by day & by night, during the night all you can hear is traffic, screaming from the streets & power tools being used at all hours.

We didnt even attempt to use the pool as it didnt look appealing & we went to have brekkie at the hotel restaurant but were stared down by other patrons/staff & the food didnt look good so we went elsewhere.

This hotel is more of a hostel & would barely be fit for a backpacker. Save your money & go for something a bit classier because this hotel certainly isn't worth it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    98
    88
    34
    45
See reviews for
62
109
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Simple small hotel and yeah they are not that organised at times but it is good location for the cost which was around Aus $25/night. The rooms are basic and nothing flash and you might have to get some glasses for yourself but there are little almost private balconies or terraces. The bed is a little too firm but have had that at expensive hotels. there is aircon and a fridge. Location is tucked away from noisy street and close to beach and Kartiki plaza shopping/restaurants etc.
Food at restaurant was basic but OK.

Room Tip: I prefer ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAAMOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

After looking through the reviews I must say I completely disagree with KYLIES negative review. If she wanted 5 star service she should've paid for it.

Well located off Jl Kartika Plaza 5 minutes from Nurah Rai International airport. This budget hotel has improved immensely since the arrival of the new GM with experience from a close by 5 star resort.

Don't let the price put you off, the staff are always smiling, friendly and willing to help.

The rooms have recently been renovated. If you don't like your room on arrival ask to be relocated.

I feel this establishment is rated very fairly and I'll be surprised if by stays end you haven't enjoyed yourself.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakatobi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stumbled across this hotel on agoda and got a very cheap deal. The rooms are large, clean and spacious and have comfy beds! Hotel is very central and very close to the airport. Downside is the restaurant is not great and there are not enough sun loungers by the pool. The service is fantastic from when you arrive, staff are warm, welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Room was spartan to say the least. Bed was decades old and uncomfortable and the sheets felt like plastic and were too small for the bed and came off all the time. The blankets were very old and scratchy. Bathroom was very dirty, with grime and mould building up between the tiles.

Don't bother with the restaurant. We had dinner one night and nothing was as described and the quality of the food was absolutely awful. It took forever for our meals to arrive, and when they did, they were almost inedible.

The pool area looked very nice, and the gardens were lovely at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tuban hotels

mandurah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

my wife and i love bali ,its culture and lifestyle . we wanted a traditional balinese hotel to stay in . this is bakungs hotel . not expensive , friendly with a nice atmosphere , beautiful gardens , pool and a nice restaurant . i have a bit of advice for new travellers in this new world . at check in ask to inspect your room to see if it is ok . if the room is not what you want ask for another . the staff at bakungs did that for us and our room was excellent . all the staff are just good people and we found them very helpful .like all hotels in the world there will always be problems for certain people .these problems are not difficult to solve . we love this hotel and i would have our next visit to bali penned in at bakungs hotel . thanks to all for a great time . we recommend this hotel to all . just a great piece of bali .

Room Tip: ask to inspect the room first before moving in . you can always go to a cheap warung for breakfast .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john and larysa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked this hotel through a hotel website as we wanted to do our short holiday on the cheap and $30 a night including breakfast seemed perfect. The photos on the website looked reasonable so we were happy to book it in. We arrived at about 1am in the morning and went really greeted at all. We were shown to our room where nothing was explained and then the person left telling us we needed to take the voucher down for breakfast between 7 and 10am. The room next to us has their TV up to ridiculous levels and as the walls were paper thin there was no chance of us getting to sleep. They finally returned at about 3am but continued to make plenty of noise and they were then joined in the room by at least 3 other people partying on until at least 4am. Finally exhausted and quiet we fell asleep only to be woken again by the workers at the new shopping mall using a grinder at 5.30am. Knowing we weren't going to get anymore sleep we decided to get up and shower. We then discovered we had no running cold water so the shower was piping hot (never needed in Bali) and the toilet wouldn't flush. Begrudgingly we went down to breakfast at around 7.30am with our vouchers. We handed them over and were told we could have one egg for breakfast, how would we like it cooked? ONE EGG??? Seriously. I ended up giving my egg to my husband and just had a cold piece of toast. This was the last straw as it was our wedding anniversary we wanted to enjoy ourselves so we went to complain. When we mentioned the noise they halfheartedly offered another room but when we mentioned the water problem their response was oh yes we know. Did they not think of letting us know?? When we said we were going to find another hotel as we weren't happy they just said okay and took the key back, no apology or anything. I would never recommend this place to anyone. In fact I'm writing this so no one ever has to have the unfortunate experience of staying there again. Very very disappointing!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.9 mi away
Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Radiant Hotel and Spa & Airy
0.1 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel Bali
Palm Beach Hotel Bali
#197 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Beach International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
#4 of 20 in Tuban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakungs Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakungs Beach Hotel

Property: Bakungs Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza, Tuban, Kuta, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bakungs Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bakungs Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakung Beach Cottages Hotel Tuban
Bakungs Beach Hotel Bali/Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing