We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING FIND”

Auberge Le Bouc Bleu
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Beblenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AMAZING FIND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Everything was great. True hospitality of the owners. We had an awesome dinner for 6 people....food was delicious, atmosphere great, true hospitality feeling. It could not have been better. Was our best meal in Alsace. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    26
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This restaurant looks like nothing from the outside, but as soon as you go through the gate you enter a little haven! It's basically a converted back garden with some tables under the barn roof, some under the sky and a few inside. It's run by a husband and wife who are both lovely and very passionate! The food was delicious, all fresh or locally sourced and the wine recommendations were spot on! All in all a wonderful evening, if I'm ever in the area again, I'll definitely be going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 07lmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Based on the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor, we went with high expectations. However we were underwhelmed by the food. The front of house was super, warm friendly service with good wine recommendations. But the kitchen did not perform as highly: cooking was solid but overcooked salmon? Average presentation? Inaccurate description of dishes e.g. expecting a "strawberry GRATIN" but getting a warm sauce poured over fresh strawberries? Lackadaisical timing so that waiting times between courses was inexcusably long. Such things happening when there are only several tables .... we were not impressed.

There are other restaurants in Alsace with much higher standards of food preparation and presentation, for prices not as rich.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank springmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It Was Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The restaurant was recommended by our B&B hosts as one of their favorites for our anniversary celebration. We couldn't have been happier with their suggestion. The décor is charming. Madame Friess oversees the dinning room with grace and an easy smile. Her recommendation for the wine was spot on. Hardest decision was what to eat. Although the menu is small, the choices are all tempting. We started with the duo de foie gras de canard -- exquisite! And it just kept getting better. If you're lucky the table by the kitchen window is available and you can peek in and watch Chef Daniel at work. This was and exceptional evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBtexasfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Alsace Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Only 22 covers, this is truly a wonderful experience as the husband and wife (chef and front of house) team serve the tastiest food in the region. Excellent atmosphere in a restaurant you would easily walk past - make sure you don't - and book in advance!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge Le Bouc Bleu also viewed

Beblenheim, Haut-Rhin
Beblenheim, Haut-Rhin
 
Riquewihr, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Auberge Le Bouc Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing