We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not more/ bon mais sans plus”
Review of chez julien

chez julien
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Rouffach
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but not more/ bon mais sans plus”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The decoration of the restaurant is a bite luxurious and the waiters are well dressed. We were surprised because we could eat handmade burgers. The main dish which was fish was good with many flavours but the quantity was quite small. However the dessert was nothing special, i was so disappointed and we waited a lot for ordering our dishes. Finally nothing special. Le cadre luxurieux est sympatique avec les serveurs qui sont habillés élégament. Le poisson avait beaucoup de gout mais le dessert était rien de special! Le temps d'attente etait trop long. Bref bon mais sans plus.

Helpful?
Thank Mieschtel_Pech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    126
    62
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Brasserie kitchen”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very friendly staff. Very fine cuisine. Wide choice from snacks, pizza and hamburgers till typical Alsace specialities. Nice wine list. Good value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henlo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Buffet”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We had a Buffet here on the Sunday of our wedding anniversary. Didn't know exactly what to expect as we've never been in this town. The town itself is rather charming and the restaurant is inside one of the most charming in the whole town.

Now the buffet itself was a impressive looking spread and the individual items on it look scrumptious. Walking past the dessert table was the hardest but it's incentive to start your Sunday gorge!!

We had a main course of noodles with meat in a puff pastry ring. The pastry was nice and light and the filling well cooked.

We had also lots of sides of regional cheeses, smoked fish and fish terrine, meat terrine, páté, salad, lovely French sourdough bread and an assortment of other lovely things which I can no longer recall. We had a white wine, dry, and it was very nice. At the end we had a selection of desserts such as tiramisu in a pot, chocolate mousse, Black Forest cake, home made ice cream and little raspberry tart. They were all tasty, some more than others.

All together for the two of us we left with spending no more than 70 continental smackeroos which is really not bad.

We were so full after our meal we went for a little walk around the village and had only a very light dinner that night.

All in all, we thought it a lovely treat for us and would do it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good alsatian food”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Nice place beside the hotel hostellerie de lyon. I ate a menu for 23 euros, the fresh salmon starter salad was good, the main dish with salmon, sauerkrauts, potatoes was VERY good and tasty. The only minor problem was the dessert, the crem brulee had an exaggerated egg flavour, thus making it VERY (TOO MUCH) heavy ...
The service is very good, they are very careful to wine serving. I took half a litre of white wine and they served it into a nice plastic colored box with fresh water inside to keep it at the right temperature.
The cheapest wine "of the house" was a quite good riesling, considering the price ... usually these wines are awful in 90% of the cases, but in very good wine regions, even those wines are usually of an acceptable quality, and this one was not an exception.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pettaspagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izegem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant.”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Friendly reception, good and quick service with attention to detail.
I had a three course dinner (carpaccio de saumon, cuisse de canard, panacotta aux fruits rouges):all dishes are  beautifully presented, taste is good, portions are ok.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDessein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed chez julien also viewed

Rouffach, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to chez julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing