We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENTLY RUN HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel les Freres Ibarboure
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bidart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed 4 nights late May. Much enjoyed our stay. Hotel is very well run and welcoming, especially Soline who takes a great interest in all guests and very helpful.

Had a large superior room with vast bathroom and balconies overlooking the nice gardens and pool. Very peaceful - yes you can hear the autoroute if the wind blows from the west, but it is hardly intrusive. Breakfast, served in room on a large tray, is enough to set you up for the day and one of the best we have had in France anywhere. Whole place spotlessly clean.

Dinner excellent. We took demi-pension and were given a nightly selection from the Carte, with great dishes, lots of entreplats. Very high quality, varied and just the right sized portions. Very well chosen and extensive wine list. Professional service from very pleasant staff.

A good base for exploring the area, both coast and towards the mountains. Secure parking. Check directions as not so easy to find until quite close by.

On demi-pension very good value and much recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FirstclassSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed two nights here, the room was very nice, and looked onto the garden, but unfortunately the motorway is very close and we were kept awake by the noise. The restaurant menu is extensive, but the food is very rich and rather ostentious. The breakfast was expensive and a strange mix of items. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troton66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We went there with my fiancée for St Valentin , the room was perfect, large, nice decoration , wide bathroom , fully equipted . The dinner at their restaurant was a big pleasure and the chefs (father & son) came at the end to check if everything was perfect, and it was. So no doubt you can come and stay !!!

Room Tip: N° 4 Room at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I stayed three nights at this hostellerie as we wanted sufficient time to explore the beautiful Basque region. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room, “Echo de la Foret” on the first floor over looking the gardens and swimming pool, was just lovely. The bathroom was very large and the towels and toiletries all of a good standard. All rooms have electronic shutter blinds and an effective air-con system.
The chef is of Michelin star status and its shows in the food and service. We tried various items on the menu, the likes of langoustines, oysters served two ways, turbot, rouge barbet, foie gras, crab, chicken served two ways, desserts to die for but my personal favourite was the soufflé ……all food was beautifully presented and just fantastic to eat! Also, I ordered camomile tea which arrived and much to my delight was real camomile not the normal tea leaves or even worse, bags. A taste explosion on all levels. We are lovers of French wine and are quite knowledgeable but the sommelier was very helpful and offered good recommendations of local wine we had not tasted before.
We decided to take breakfast in our room as it had a nice large balcony. It was a real surprise - all products are made in house. Yoghurts, jams, patisseries along with fresh fruit. Very yummy.
The hostellerie is more like a restaurant with rooms which, for us, is perfect. We more or less had the swimming pool to ourselves for the whole 3 days. Would we return – definitely. Loved every minute.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in a chambre luxe overlooking the swimming pool and the park. Direct access to the swimming pool I must say (think this was the only room with this access). Huge, modern and a great shower and bath room. The shower and bath "mechanics" tend to be a bit ole ole but still no problems to get clean for a nice dinner. We had 2 dinner at the restaurant which is inside the park. I, for my part, find the room a bit too "cold". It is not as cozy as one can except (or me). We had some delicious warm oysters and the service was excellent. The next day I had the "boeuf Wagyu"(this is the pendant of the boeuf Kobe of Japan) but I don't know, maybe I was not prepared to such a meat, but it did not reach my full expectation. My friend stayed with local dishes and he was... in 10000 skies. We will come back, that s for sure

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolofinwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2004

We spent two night at this hotel/restaurant this past summer. what a joy. the rooms were HUGE. The service was gracious and attentive. the maid even ironed our clothes on short notice. there is a pool and beautiful gardens around the small hotel. but the best was yet to come. dinner at the restaurant was superb. we chose the tasting menu.there must have been 12 courses.and it was only about 80 or 90 euros per person. we had foie gras, shrimp, langostinos, duck, blue lobster, stuffed zuccini flowers and rabbit, just to name a few. i cant say enough about how wonderful it was there. we plan to go back this summer and stay longer.

11  Thank mocdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Thank Michel33160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bidart
2.1 mi away
Domaine de Bassilour
Domaine de Bassilour
#5 of 15 in Bidart
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa L'Arche
Hotel Villa L'Arche
#2 of 15 in Bidart
112 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
298 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Itsas Mendia
Hotel Itsas Mendia
#4 of 15 in Bidart
142 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Freres Ibarboure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Freres Ibarboure

Address: Chemin Ttalienea, 64210 Bidart, France (Formerly L'Hostellerie des Freres Ibarboure)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Bidart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bidart
Price Range: £138 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel les Freres Ibarboure 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Frères Ibarboure hotel is a Relais du Silence establishment, a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of the Basque Coast. This unique destination has 12 guest rooms and is set in the heart of grounds covering 5 acres so guests can experience a feeling of peaceful harmony with the surrounding nature. The spacious guest rooms each have a private loggia overlooking the garden and the hotel's heated swimming pool, inspiring guests to enjoy the simple pleasures of the season... A business center is at your disposal with WiFi connection. Pets are welcome and the hotel provides free and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel les Freres Ibarboure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing