We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prehistoric delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grotte Bara Bahau

Grotte Bara Bahau
Ranked #8 of 11 things to do in Le Bugue
Attraction details
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Prehistoric delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We really liked this cave. We arrived at the same time as a French family, and the guide who took us around, translated her explanations for us.
Whilst it was not always obvious immediately what we were always being shown, it mostly was. You were able to get a real feeling for the Prehistoric man.
I liked how this cave was not massively commercial, unlike others in the area

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank rosiem17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations - a special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visiting out of season, there were only 4 of us on the tour of this cave and the guide was excellent; she was very enthusiastic/knowledgeable, spoke very good English, took care/time to explain the animal 'engravings' (uncoloured, outline carvings into the cave walls), answer any questions and gave us time to look at the works in silence by torchlight. This appears to be one of the lesser known caves, but there were more engravings than we expected and its low-key nature gave it a special atmosphere for us. We visited 7 caves over 3 days and overall, this was our favourite cave visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ElaineWindsorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Brought it all to life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Traveling With two teenage girls and we were all enthralled with the knowledge that was shared with us, it was a very private tour which was lovely because you didn't miss anything and could ask questions. Well worth the outing , we loved it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb_Trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“caves mainly in the dark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

small cave with faint outline of carved drawings, very quiet place and although in la Bugue is not visited as much as other caves. The entry fee does not give you value for the visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A_EWells_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Prehistory without the crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

A minature Lascaux without the crowds and pretty much as it was discovered, we were shown round this grotte by an excellent guide. She was very well versed in her subject , spoke excellent English and took considerable care to ensure that we could properly see the animals carved into the cave walls. We loved the visit.

Note that access is difficult for those lacking physical mobility and that the surface is rough. There are handrails.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank maritimevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grotte Bara Bahau also viewed

 

Been to Grotte Bara Bahau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing