We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic eastern vacation”
Review of La Metairie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Metairie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mauzac
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic eastern vacation”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just spent three wonderful days in La Metaire in Mauzac. We travelled with our 7 yr old and loved it. Fantastic staff, food, and wonderful rooms! They were beautifully decorated in great style and extremely tidy, clean, and well served. The beds were great and very comfortable. The views and the property are idyllic. They have 2 ponys in the property and our son loved feeding them ( they are not for riding). They have a beautiful pool we could not use because it was somewhat chilly this first week of april. The food is top ! we had dinner the first night and the menu was very plentiful and delicious. The breakfast was great ( breads, cereals, etc) and you can order eggs or other things if you want. The surroundings of the property are gorgeous. In addition , Charles (co-owner) is a splendid host and superbly nice and warm welcoming. He has certainly done a outstanding job running this place. I highly recommend this place if you want to visit and spend a week in the spring, summer or fall. There are plenty of things to do, but it is 1 hour away from Sarlat, and the main attractions in perigord, however the scenery is so beautiful it is worth the drive. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: if you can book the Eglanine suite, it sleeps three very comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    35
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
116
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We spent a wonderful week end with our children. The lunch near the swimming pool in the garden was really wonderful! The chef (he is also the owner) is really kind and helpful. The hotel quite difficult to find... You need a very good gps...! I suggest this hotel to everyone plans a trip in Dordogne, wonderful during the summer!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daua_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel is located in the heart of Perigord in a beautiful park. It is goood starting point to discover Perigord and have a quiet break. The outdoor pool is large and clean.
The rooms are individual furnished and the bathroom is large and modern.
The hotel has a very good restaurant, we enjoyed a delicious menu on 14th of July 2011 on the terrace.
The service is excellent in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melinda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley, Surrey.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This was to be a luxurious ending to a lovely holiday in the Dordogne. It looked promising when we drove up the drive, although the hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

However, the room we were shown to smelled of damp (there was a deodoriser plugged in to try to disguise the smell), there were patches of damp on the walls, the bath was chipped in two places and there was mould down the side of the bath.

I asked the manager to get us a better room and he said he would look into it but later I found he had gone for the day without doing anything. Eventually, I found the restaurant manager who offered to help and showed us to another room which was very small and he claimed it was the only other one available. Reluctantly, we settled for the original room as we were, thankfully, staying only one night.

Much of the attraction of the hotel is the outside tables of the restaurant but despite it being a lovely evening it had been decided not to lay these as the weather forecast earlier in the day had been doubtful. That was the last straw really and we were glad to move on from this relatively expensive, excessively twee and much overrated hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asurreytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had a wonderful time here. Our room was just lovely and the setting was rural and peaceful. We spent our days exploring the beautiful surrounding villages and chateaux and came "home" to our beautiful hotel which is tucked away from the rest of the world. Charles was wonderful and actually forwarded on our camera battery to our next hotel after we had inadvertently left it in our room! That is real service!
Darrell & Gillian Price, Gold Coast, Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Charles is a real character. He will do his best to make your stay comfortable.
rooms are comfortable. Very quite and beautiful suroundings.
Food is overall quite good. Just one "pate de campagne" could have been better.
I really recommend to visit the near towns of Bergerac, Lalinde, and several smalls towns. Saturday and sunday they have weekly markets.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramoncelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEst Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We wrote a review one year ago under the name of Normallyeasygoing2,and have just had a 5 night stay exactly one year and one month since Charles took over control of this gem.He has done exactly what he promised to do one year ago and has invested every euro he has made back into the hotel.It is extremely well run,the food is exquisite and varied using only the best of regionally sourced produce.This hotel is well on it's way to 4stars.......the only problem will be then availability!!Well done Charles for making a good hotel better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normallyeasygoing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mauzac
1.8 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
409 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
229 reviews
8.3 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
296 reviews
16.2 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
237 reviews
20.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Metairie

Property: La Metairie
Address: Lieu Dit la Metairie, 24150 Mauzac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Mauzac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mauzac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Metairie 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Metairie Mauzac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing