We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely, restorative place”
Review of La Metairie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Metairie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mauzac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

a visit to the Perigord region should include a stay at this lovely, intimate oasis where you'll find a warm welcome from the manager Charles and his colleague Nicole. They had plenty of good advice for us during our 1 week stay (Eglantine suite), including local markets and regional festivals. The food at Le Metairie was excellent as were some of the regional restaurants we discovered in Tremolat and Limeuil. Our stay was truly restful and memorable - we look forward to visiting La Metairie again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MuseofMarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at La Metairie and highly recommend it. It is a lovely small inn in the countryside from which you can drive to many Dordogne attractions. The rooms are decorated nicely, the beds comfortable and the restaurant excellent. We had dinner there both nights and these were some of our best meals in France. The owner Charles is very friendly and charming and made our stay great.
We highly recommend La Metairie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NancyW1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent three nights here in the middle of the countryside. There is nothing here to disturb your rest and there are some delightful walks to take.

The standard of accommodation was very good, although the rooms could be a little larger.

it was delightful sitting outside having a drink in the late afternoon sunshine and our dinner in the evening was excellent.

It wasn't warm enough for us to try out the pool but it was quite large and I'm sure would be good in hotter weather.

The wifi in our bedroom was sometimes a little hit and miss but, if it wasn't working well enough, there was always a full strength signal in the sitting room.

Charles was very accommodating and it was a pleasure to meet Nicole.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed at this delightful inn for a 5 night all-inclusive vacation. It was our third time visiting La Metairie and we were greeted warmly by Nicole and Charles. The inn is situated in a quiet, rural setting, and features traditional French décor in the comfortable bedrooms. Looking out from our room, we could see two grazing ponies, and a pasture filled with spring wildflowers – a peaceful, tranquil view.
The restaurant may be the most picture-perfect dining room in France, with stone walls, crisp white tablecloths and sumptuous cuisine. Chef Claude served bountiful breakfasts, with a good selection of meats, cheeses, pastries, and eggs to order. Dinners were exquisitely prepared, and we were treated to a daily selection of French culinary favorites, ranging from foie gras to delicious fish dishes. The wine list featured regional selections which paired well with the meals.
The team at La Metairie has always been first rate, but this year, we were extremely pleased to have made the acquaintance of Nicole, Jean-Jacques and the manager Charles. All were professional, but with a friendly ease that made us feel completely at home. Their attention to detail was perfect, and we felt very well taken care of throughout our stay. Merci!
We highly recommend La Metairie and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at Le Vieux Logis in Tremolat for 3 nights. On one of our nights, the hotel's gastronomic restaurant was not open, so we decided to dine at La Metairie -- some 3-5 miles from Tremolat. (Make sure you have GPS to find it in the dark!)

From the moment we arrived (the owner, Charles, greeted my wife at the front door, personally, by name!), we knew that we had found a special place in the woods.

Charles, the owner, guided us through a most-scrumptuously gastronomic experience, treating us as though we were his only guests. From the foie gras starter to the decadent desserts, yes desserts!, we spent a most romantic evening at La Metairie.

Normally, non-guests are not able to dine here unless they are guest at the hotel. We were lucky enough to be there on a nite when La Metairie's hotel occupancy happened to be low due, in large part, to it being the end of the season.

Highly highly recommended and thank you again Charles for a most memorable evening!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I had knots in my stomach as we approached the area where the hotel might be according to the detailed map. The hotel has no address for your Garmin and in fact there are two "Millacs" in the Dordogne. However our fears dissolved as we finally saw the sign and turned up the dirt road. It is about an hours drive to anywhere but if solitude is what you crave, this is your place. Our room was small but lovely. We ate splendid meals in the dining room all three nights and were pleased. Our host loaned us bikes for the afternoon and we took a short(3k) ride to Mauzac-all downhill ! One disappointment -Charles was to make us reservations for Lascaux II the day before but neglected to do so. He made them the next morning and this resulted in a mad dash to the cave. The pastoral setting and beautiful facilities made this a memorable part of our trip. If you are near Martel, by all means stay at Relais Sainte Anne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pasture with a private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stems22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We can only add to the already great reviews. The room was comfortable and clean. The meals were wonderful. Jean Jacques and Charles made our stay warm and friendly. Our vacation was slow and easy so we enjoyed the location tremendously. It was not difficult, however, to get into Bergerac, Les Eyzie-de-Taynac or any of the other fantastic sites. We certainly recommend the hotel for a good rest or a great party!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mauzac
1.8 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
437 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
247 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Le Manoir De Bellerive
Le Manoir De Bellerive
#1 of 1 in Le Buisson-de-Cadouin
36 reviews
16.2 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
273 reviews
20.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Metairie

Address: Lieu Dit la Metairie, 24150 Mauzac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Mauzac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mauzac
Price Range: £101 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Metairie 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Metairie Mauzac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing