We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Why not stay in a tourist attraction?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Why not stay in a tourist attraction?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

The chateau was very authentic and typical of the region. Sure, the stairs were designed to fight off attackers with a sword and not for bellhops, but that is the reality of staying in something like this. The rooms have smallish windows (obviously if someone was firing arrows at you, you wouldn't want them too big!), but that is the nature of castles.
It is a great privilege to be able to stay in something that is of the same character and standard as the Cathar castles that are tourist attractions!
Has a nice little pool in the garden and a good (if not cheap) restaurant. Great breakfast venue in the central courtyard.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gra1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    109
    34
    12
    1
See reviews for
75
201
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had a room with twin beds up a tower of the castle. Going up those tough stairs was difficult although our heavy luggage was taken there by a very lightweight hotel attendant. We felt so bad for him. We had to drag the luggage down by ourselves... If you go there, travel very very light or leave them in the car. We saw rooms one story higher than us and felt sorry for those people too...The beds were very stiff and the pillows are uncomfortable. The bathroom is nice. The window opened on a loud mountain stream which was delightful. Nights are chilly if window is open. We could not sleep well that night.

The pool was not heated and there is no changing area at the pool. It is also a bit of walking distance from the chateau, so forget about it.

The breakfast is served in an uptight snobbish hush-hush type indoor environment, very pretty and chateau-esque. Quality of food is good. If we wanted to eat outdoors, we would have had to carry our meal on a tray, which we didn't. It was cold and far to go back and forth to the buffet.

Overall, it is a chateau experience that was nice to experiment but not to renew. Very pretty to see if you don't care for the quality of sleep or money spent for that. Lodging in the surroundings of Limoux is just very difficult. That's why we ended up in Couiza.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pourpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in June and we loved it. Romantic building and setting, great dinner, quite room with river view, will be back for sure! The only thing disappointing was the tennis court in disrepair and the lack of playable balls.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheModoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We enjoyed two nights here at half-board. As other reviewers have indicated, the surroundings are not quite as bucolic as the website indicates, and Couiza is not the most charming of towns, but the Chateau offered us an excellent dinner both nights and a comfortable, spacious room. Only two weak spots: breakfast on the first morning was a disaster (we arrived at 9:30 AM, well within the appointed hours, and there was simply no food); the second morning was fine. Also, if you are tall, you may want to inspect your room in advance: our room, large in other respects, had a very low and wide doorway. Despite taking care, I whacked my head hard on the door jamb: not a high point (pun intended) to the vacation.

Room Tip: Check doorway dimensions if you are a tall traveler
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanTrav71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We only stayed at Chateau Joyeuse for 1 night, but wish we had stayed for more. After visiting Rennes Le Chateau, it was a great pleasure to walk around the town of Couiza and by the stream that runs behind Chateau Joyeuse, before relaxing in the quaint rooms. Drinks at the lounge, beneath arched stone roofs and walls was comforting. Dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. We recommend getting one each of the prix fixed dinners and allowing the waiter to pair a wine with each dish - either way be sure to get the cassolet - absolutely phenomenal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alohagreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Couiza is a delightful village. And the Chateau is a charming hotel. By the river is gorgeous and the pool is a relief after a hot day. Dinner at the restaurant was high end and satisfying. Rooms are not big but cozy. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthao186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Very romantic building although location not ideal. Room was quite small but very pleasant and comfortable. Ours faced the river and this seemed to be the best side to be. Food in the evening was good although the choice staying on a half board basis was somewhat limited. Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_the_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Couiza
6.0 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
17.1 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Pierre Lys
La Pierre Lys
#3 of 3 in Quillan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 38 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
17.5 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#8 of 38 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse

Property: Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Address: Allee Georges Roux, 11190 Couiza, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Couiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing castle with a striking silhouette; a square building that opens into a courtyard, set in a lovely garden through which the river Aude flows. Built on the land of the Cathars, the castle bears the stamp of a place steeped in history. In the bedrooms of this 16th century listed building, a medieval atmosphere and modern comforts are skilfully combined. The same clever recipe works its magic in the reception rooms, the old chapel converted into a lounge and the dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Ducs De Joyeuse Hotel Couiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing