We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Castle, Phony Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Ducs de Joyeuse were some of the very few Catholic Nobility in the region, so they survived the elimination of the other two million people in this area.

The rooms are not furnished to a very high standard, and the beds are extremely uncomfortable.

The food is quite good quality, in the restaurant, but you can better, overall for less money, in this area.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

The castle itself is nice, but we expected more. It is situated in a village but very close to old factories and other city architecture. I would expect a park with a castle, but sadly it seems like the land was sold ages ago.
The room that we stayed in was only So-so. Dinner was om wih a nice selection of local food and sitting outside in the courtyard was fantastic in the great weather.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Junget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I have to agree with"Dincklers" review. We have used this hotel as our overnight stay on our way down to Spain for a few years, but decided after our last visit to try to find an alternative. The setting is attractive, but the rooms, in particular the bathrooms, are looking very dated. If the weather is good, dining outside is great and they have a good selection of local wines, but if forced to dine inside, it is a little disappointing. I expect more for my money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexFamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Chateau for the third time. On the previous visits we thouroughly enjoyed it but this time we felt that the quality of service had significantly deteriorated but the costs were higher.
There was confusion at reception, our rooms were small---we only booked the basic rooms but did not expect that a building of this quality would offer such limited accommodation--the food was of varying quality and expensive for what was offered.
It is a shame that this lets down such a lovely building in a generally very pleasant location

Room Tip: Do not go for the basic rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dincklers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had high hopes for this lovely looking chateau hotel and splurged on Room 208 a junior suite. It was the most expensive hotel on our trip outside of Paris and we expected a lot. Overall it was a disappointing let down.
The positives about the room were that it was located in a quiet corner away from the main corridor, it was large and spacious with a vaulted ceiling and well decorated with period furniture. Alas the four poster king bed was uncomfortable and felt like the matress was overdue for replacement. There was only a single blanket and no spare bedding in the room. The room was also quite dark as there was limited lighting. Out the window was a modest view but you had a better chance of seeing the road rather than the river. The wi-fi is a waste of time. Despite claims that it worked hotel wide we could not even access the network from our room and instead had to take it down to the courtyard. The reception staff suggested there was too much concrete in the tower blocking the signal. Then don't say it is hotel wide...
The bathroom was huge but the double basin left no bench space. The bath was too long to lie in comfortably and the shower head leaked when used. The door to the bathroom would not close properly and was split. The grouting and shower screen were both filthy and needed replacing. Bathroom amenities were not replenished after use reinforcing that this hotel did not perform what would be expected let alone any special touches.
We had a tradesman barge into our room unannounced while we were there. Although he apologised, when we mentioned it to reception they brushed it off. Of the reception staff there was one helpful lady on arrival and the rest basically weren't of any use.
Breakfast was decent and set in a nice basement dining room.
Overall for 2012 prices of 230 euros a night room only, this place is resting on its laurels and unfortunately is grossly overpriced for the experience.

Room Tip: Better chateau hotel experiences can be found elsewhere and at a better price
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed two nights in the junior suite. Upon arrival the check-in was smooth. Reception was friendly and spoke English which was helpful. The room did not have good ventilation and did not have a mini bar or refrigerator. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and clean. The grounds are fun to explore but there really isn't much else in the town to do in the evening hours. Arriving on a Monday did not help, and pretty much all the businesses were closed...but it definitely wasn't a holiday. The restaurant was the biggest disappointment. For 54 euros a person we expected a lot more. The meat was tough, seasonings were bland, and desert was pretty uneventful. The only redeeming quality was the friendly and helpful waitstaff. The food needs an overhaul and I really felt like everything was extremely overpriced for the quality.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms can hear a lot of movement above them.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The chateau was very authentic and typical of the region. Sure, the stairs were designed to fight off attackers with a sword and not for bellhops, but that is the reality of staying in something like this. The rooms have smallish windows (obviously if someone was firing arrows at you, you wouldn't want them too big!), but that is the nature of castles.
It is a great privilege to be able to stay in something that is of the same character and standard as the Cathar castles that are tourist attractions!
Has a nice little pool in the garden and a good (if not cheap) restaurant. Great breakfast venue in the central courtyard.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the river
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gra1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Couiza
17.1 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
447 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
187 reviews
3.8 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
20.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
310 reviews
17.5 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse

Address: Allee Georges Roux, 11190 Couiza, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Couiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Price Range: £96 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing castle with a striking silhouette; a square building that opens into a courtyard, set in a lovely garden through which the river Aude flows. Built on the land of the Cathars, the castle bears the stamp of a place steeped in history. In the bedrooms of this 16th century listed building, a medieval atmosphere and modern comforts are skilfully combined. The same clever recipe works its magic in the reception rooms, the old chapel converted into a lounge and the dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Ducs De Joyeuse Hotel Couiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing