We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take 2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Take 2”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were fortunate enough to have found a timeshare in Perpignan,
France and realized that we would do ourselves a disservice if we didn't go back and visit this fairytale of a hotel. We took 2 friends that were visiting us from Barcelona, so they could experience the charm. After some misguided information from our GPS and a 1-lane granite overhung road up the mountains, we arrove in Couiza. Food quality seems to have diminished slightly from our previous visit, the cassoulet was not as creamy or textured (like a creme brule) and the desserts were slightly disappointing. The service was still top notch and our friends had a great time, but my wife and I wish that it had been the same as before. The town and hotel are still very charming, but after our experience of 2 years ago, the food at the restaurant was just not of the same high quality.

Room Tip: We only stayed for dinner. No use of hotel facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alohagreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    109
    34
    12
    1
See reviews for
76
204
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culemborg
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed with 6 adults in Ducs de Joyeuse when we made a trip through France.
Ducs has nice and friendly personnel. This chateau is very nice decorated in nice colours.
The restaurant is very nice althouth the taste of the food can be better. Maybe the new owners have to find their way with a balanced menu..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chateau for one night as part of a Pyrenees cycling tour. After a long day in the saddle we were welcomed by friendly, helpful staff and permitted to store our road bikes in the wine cellar! Our room was small but by French standards was fairly spacious, with all the amenities we required for one night. It was particularly pleasant to have a proper shower - our experience of many French countryside hotels has been a shower head attached to a small sized bath. Our room was on the first floor facing onto the courtyard, overlooking the dining area. For us weary cyclists this did not present any impediment to sleep, however, some in our group mentioned that they couldn't get to sleep until everyone below had finished their dinner. Dinner itself was lovely - one of the best of our 2 week trip. As a non-red meat eating, gluten allergic patron I was well catered for and everything was very tasty. Everyone in our cycling group (12 in total) was thoroughly impressed with the standard of the wine, food and service. Breakfast the next day was also good, although some more protein options (such as eggs) would have been welcome for me. All in all, however, a great stay in a genuine castle with delicious food!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolabodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed one night at the Chateau in one of their best rooms (top floor in one of the towers) round room four poster bed - partner felt like a princess!
Food in the restaurant was excellent - they do a local menu as well as a more international one
Staff were all friendly including the man who came to fix the bathroom scales
No complaints at all - will definitely stay here again on our next trip to this area

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It's true the setting could be better, as the town has built up around this lovely castle, but this is a special hotel centred on its lovely courtyard. The rooms are a little dark (this is a castle after all) but not uncomfortable. The food was lovely with good menu choices. There is a nice small pool.
Best of all were the very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugs53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Ducs de Joyeuse were some of the very few Catholic Nobility in the region, so they survived the elimination of the other two million people in this area.

The rooms are not furnished to a very high standard, and the beds are extremely uncomfortable.

The food is quite good quality, in the restaurant, but you can better, overall for less money, in this area.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The castle itself is nice, but we expected more. It is situated in a village but very close to old factories and other city architecture. I would expect a park with a castle, but sadly it seems like the land was sold ages ago.
The room that we stayed in was only So-so. Dinner was om wih a nice selection of local food and sitting outside in the courtyard was fantastic in the great weather.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Junget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Couiza
6.0 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
172 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
17.1 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Pierre Lys
La Pierre Lys
#3 of 3 in Quillan
20 reviews
3.8 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
31 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse

Property: Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Address: Allee Georges Roux, 11190 Couiza, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Couiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing castle with a striking silhouette; a square building that opens into a courtyard, set in a lovely garden through which the river Aude flows. Built on the land of the Cathars, the castle bears the stamp of a place steeped in history. In the bedrooms of this 16th century listed building, a medieval atmosphere and modern comforts are skilfully combined. The same clever recipe works its magic in the reception rooms, the old chapel converted into a lounge and the dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Ducs De Joyeuse Hotel Couiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing