We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing check in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing check in.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in what was supposed to be the best room/suite in the chateau. I had personally called the hotel to ensure we had one of the best room. I was assured we would get the room they normally allocate for weddings etc.
Unfortunately when we checked in, early afternoon, there was an "unusual" and "incomprehensible" contretemps with a lady at reception desk . Another lady at reception quickly stepped in and apologized for the misunderstanding. It was off putting. To make matters worse our room allocation had been changed and instead of heading to the lovely "suite" we had been promised, we were shown to another suite overlooking a football pitch in lieu of the river.

The Chateau is perfectly located if you are visiting the Cathar country. It is a magnificent castle - typical medieval with turrets. The grounds around the Chateau are limited. The front is located next to a football/rugby pitch and some commercial buildings which is not very alluring. The best is at the back of the Castle with a river, a swimming pool which was being refurbished while we were there and well kept grounds.
The internal courtyard is stunning and magical. Perfect for dinning and having drinks.

The room/suite was on the dark side but very spacious and a"not so modern" bathroom. Terrible noise coming from the bathroom was sorted out the following morning.
Wifi worked well
Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly, professional and attentive.
Dinner was great, good local wine recommendation and excellent menu with local produce. And again great and friendly staff.
Appreciated the new owner taking time to talk to guests at breakfast and dinner. Proof of good management.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
We appologize for any inconvenience you could have had during your holiday at the castle and we hope you'll be able to come and see our new swimming pool and surroundings.
We would also inform you that we will do our best to improve the negative points and to upgrade the standard of our services.
Yours sincerely,
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    118
    35
    12
    2
See reviews for
77
224
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A great historical chateau hotel centrally located in cathar country. Great staff. Friendly, attentive, and helpful. Will not disappoint. Management and reception were the very best I've met in all my travels. WiFi was very reliable. Large comfortable room with generous bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.

We really appreciate your enthousiastic comments and look foraward to welcoming you again at our beautiful property.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Four of us visited the chateau for lunch. The service was polished, discreet and friendly. Food was excellent, although I was disappointed with the cheese course. I expected a cheese trolley but we were simply served four small slices without any choice. However, on balance, it was a very good meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Nous venons de prendre note de votre message et vous remercions pour vos commentaires.
Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié notre cuisine. Concernant le fromage, nous prenons en compte votre remarque et nous ferons notre possible afin d'améliorer notre prestation à l'avenir.
Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau au Château.
Cordialement,
Isabelle & Vincent NOURRISSON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aude, France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a single night, for my wife's birthday. We were upgraded to a large Junior Suite, four poster and imposing medieval chairs, with plenty of space and good quality on-suit facilities. The window overlooked a rear grassed area and the tranquil river...delightful.
Lack of tea/coffee making facilities still surprises me in good French hotels!
Evening meal in the courtyard was one to remember. Very French, lacking veg, but with exquisite tastes. Never over facing but in conclusion sufficient. Completed by the local 'Pompadour' wine.
Service, both at reception and during dinner was attentive and personal without being intrusive.
A delightful adventure in a truly old chateau, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
We are so glad that you've appreciated your stay.
We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to inform you that we will do our best to improve the negative points and to upgrade the standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The management is extremely friendly - in both French and English - and the facility is lovely. The restaurant is great. One of the nights we ate there, a thunderstorm broke out and they moved the tables away from the edge of the courtyard so we could watch but not get wet -- it was very atmospheric. The room was a bit small but it's in an old building, so that can't be avoided. Breakfast is good; pool is fabulous; dinner is great and the staff was wonderful. Also, the location is ideal for visiting the Cathar castles, Cave de Niaux (a bit of a drive, but not bad), and Carcasonne. We were there three nights, but I think we could have used an extra night to visit the wineries of Les Corbieres.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyinNantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you for another stay in our property.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Pleasant on all counts - from the greeting through final checkout. Anything wanted we could get. Comfy bed, clean facilities, and a fantastic restaurant to add to it all (we at there twice). While in an old chateau it's not pretentious at all; well decorated and accessible. Pool was nice as well.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.

We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to inform you that we will do our best to upgrade the standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a very nice stay here some years ago and would like to bring some friend here this year. The stay was just as we expected and especially the evening dinner was fabulous. A fantastic meal, a lovely wine and an observant waiter. It is great fun to introduce friends to such a lovely experience.
We stayed here in July 2013 and it was some very hot days. We had visited some historic castles during the day and it was very nice to chill out at the pool. When a waiter came with cold drinks, our vacation was as it should be.
The rooms are not very big and they are not very well equipped. You find what you need and a little more, but is is not a top range luxury stay. It is the historic building which makes the stay interesting, combined with good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RagnarfromOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.

We have taken good note of all your comments. Regarding the size of our rooms, we have different categories (from standard rooms to junior suite) with different price ranges.
However we will do our best to improve the negative points and to upgrade the standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Couiza
6.0 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
183 reviews
17.1 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
431 reviews
3.8 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
20.4 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
17.5 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse

Property: Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Address: Allee Georges Roux, 11190 Couiza, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Couiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing castle with a striking silhouette; a square building that opens into a courtyard, set in a lovely garden through which the river Aude flows. Built on the land of the Cathars, the castle bears the stamp of a place steeped in history. In the bedrooms of this 16th century listed building, a medieval atmosphere and modern comforts are skilfully combined. The same clever recipe works its magic in the reception rooms, the old chapel converted into a lounge and the dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Ducs De Joyeuse Hotel Couiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing