We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pity we only stayed here for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pity we only stayed here for one night”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse as part of a two week cycling trip crossing the Pyrenees from the Atlantic to the Mediterranean. Over that two weeks, this hotel was he best that we stayed in.

The rooms were spacious and had all facilities you would expect including WiFi, the pool area was very stylish, the grounds were peaceful and immaculately kept, the restaurant served excellent food and wine - all in the setting of a castle.

A pity we only stayed here for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
We are very sensible to your enthousiastic comments and are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our beautiful castle.
We sincerely hope to welcome you on another occasion and wish you a pleasant summer.
Yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    121
    36
    12
    2
See reviews for
82
228
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

In particular the Restaurant and Wine selection was excellent, we both enjoyed the Fois Gras particularly but the Lamb was quite exceptional and the best we have ever experienced. Similarly the wine list was extensive and local with excellent recommendations from the sommelier.
Quit the best restaurant experience we have had in France for many years...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
We are very sensible to your enthousiastic comments and are happy that you enjoyed your dinner at our Restaurant La Cour de Ducs.
We sincerely hope to welcome you on another occasion and wish you a pleasant summer.
Yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We recently stayed 4 days here and thought it was wonderful. The staff were very attentive and whilst our room was not the biggest, was furnished accordingly to its historical setting. Biggest plus for us was the wines, especially the white wines of the region recommended by the hotel owner. The food was great although the menu could be changed more regularly and the breakfast coffee could be freshly made. However, these are minor points and wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79CarolH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Sir,Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
We are very sensible to your enthousiastic comments and are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our beautiful castle.
According the coffee for the breakfast, we have taken good note of all your comments; For the menus, the chef cooks fresh and season products so we can not have a large choice of dishes, but from your 2nd dinner, we offer you a "new menu" with another dishes.
We sincerely hope to welcome you on another occasion and wish you a pleasant summer.
Yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best castles transformed into a hotel in which I was (and I've been hosted in several). The place is fabulous for those who love history that every stone castle speech and each room is particularly spacious and welcoming. Since the path leading to the entrance of the hotel, surrounded by majestic old trees, the whim of the service, the impressive quality of restaurant and breakfast (the hall where breakfast and restaurant work is a beauty of its own!) The careful cleaning and the suite details, the wonderful service and the complete set of historical information about the area makes the hotel the best place in the Aude and Pyrenees. The strategic location makes the Chateau the perfect place to explore the region and its history. Ah! And do not miss the corners and behind of the Chateau, the Aude's banks is a magical place, like all the Chateau, but can go unnoticed! Also highlighting the wines on the menu of restaurant: sensational! the only defect: is closed in winter, often thought of staying there in the winter but I'm always forced to choose another place!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RenataSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
We are very sensible to your enthousiastic comments and are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our beautiful castle.
We sincerely hope to welcome you on another occasion and wish you a pleasant summer.
Yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This chateau is a medieval castle with a fine courtyard. However, the rooms are small and dark. That is how the castle was built. The food is excellent and so is the service. The swimming pool is modern and designer built.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markew888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Google Translation
Monsieur,

Nous venons de prendre note de votre message et vous remercions pour vos commentaires.
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour et nous continuerons à faire notre possible pour vous assurer le plus grand soin et améliorer nos prestations au quotidien.
Les chambres disposent de taille différente en fonction de la catégorie. Nos Junior Suite sont plus grandes (35m2) mais la luminosité est la même dans toutes les chambres de par l'archtecture imposante du château...
Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau au Château.
Cordialement,
Isabelle & Vincent NOURRISSON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a superbly restored medieval château which oozes character. We didn't stay so can't comment on the accommodation but ate lunch at the restaurant. Good food if a little salty which seemed to be the case for all options. (hence the four star rating) and superb service. Try the Cotes du Thongues for your main course wine and the chocolate maccaroon for desert.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ckal0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your lunch.
We are very sensible to your enthousiastic comments and are happy that you enjoyed the moment of your lunch.
We sincerely hope to welcome you on another occasion and wish you a pleasant summer.
Yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuchan, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We celebrated our wedding surrounded by all our friends and family, taking over the entire hotel. The management and staff could not have been more helpful, their attention to detail was second to none and the entire event passed without a hitch - except for us getting hitched of course.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone, whether you are celebrating a big occasion or having a weekend away, the hotel is full of character and the staff really look after their guests. The swimming pool is a great asset and the restaurant produces some top notch food. It goes without saying that I was very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick11330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Nick and Christine,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your wedding.
We are very sensible to your enthousiastic and laudatory comments. Your celebration at the castle was a real success thanks to the great participation of yourself and your wonderful guests.
We look forward to welcoming you next year at the same date and in the meantime wish you a pleasant summer.
Yours sincerely.
Isabelle & Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Couiza
17.1 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
441 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
187 reviews
3.8 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
17.5 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
333 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse

Property: Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Address: Allee Georges Roux, 11190 Couiza, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Couiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing castle with a striking silhouette; a square building that opens into a courtyard, set in a lovely garden through which the river Aude flows. Built on the land of the Cathars, the castle bears the stamp of a place steeped in history. In the bedrooms of this 16th century listed building, a medieval atmosphere and modern comforts are skilfully combined. The same clever recipe works its magic in the reception rooms, the old chapel converted into a lounge and the dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Ducs De Joyeuse Hotel Couiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing