We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little Gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Omer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I took the advice of the reviews on here before we booked our over night stay.
There is not a lot i can add to what has already been said, honestly, just read down the reviews.
Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale deserves to be at number 1 with 5*
The place is full of charm and character. Veronique greeted us warmly and no sooner had we arrived two welcome drinks were in front of us.
Parking is free as has been mentioned just across the road, wifi is also free.
Everywhere is spotless,clean & tidy.
We shall be visiting again thats for sure. oh, and you have to try the white chocolate yogurt along with the Rhubarb & White chocolate cake.

Book your stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mc-and-cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were greeted with great cordiality by Mme Hautefeuille, who also offered two thirsty travellers a welcome beer. It's a grand old house but with modern, updated bathroom facilities, situated right on the canal & close to shops & restaurants. Excellent breakfast, home-made yogurt the pièce de résistance. A fine stopover, & we are returning in September.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elbasilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were greeted warmly by Veronique after a long drive from the north of England. She offered us refreshments in the conservatory overlooking the lovely garden and gave us information about the area and restaurants within easy walking distance. Parking is free across the road next to the canal. The bedroom was spacious and overlooked the canal as we had requested on booking. Tea and coffee making facilities were available. The private bathroom was down a few steps from the bedroom with a power shower and toiletries. The bed was large, comfortable with beautiful bed linen.The breakfast was plentiful and delicious consisting of bread, croissants, preserves and yoghurt and plentiful fresh tea or coffee. After breakfast, we spent time in the sun filled garden playing with super friendly 'Grey Face', Veronique and Bruno`s cat. This was a highlight for my partner! Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Veronique made us feel very welcome even though we were staying for just one night. We will definitely return to spend longer in St Omer at Cap et Marais d` Opale.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the canal but may be noisy from the road. Back rooms overlook the beautiful gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stopped overnight on our way through France. Warm welcome on arrival and offered refreshments, which were very much appreciated. Lovely home, nice room - and pleasant surpirse to find a kettle in it. Excellent breakfast set us up for the next stage of our tour.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank WheelieSlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The pleasure that our friends and we, and our daughters, took in this wonderful establishment cannot be overstated.
The rooms in this house, which was formerly a linen merchant's, have good views, overlooking either the canal or the garden.
The beds are comfortable, the showers are powerful, and the rooms are clean and appointed with zest and grace.
But the quality of the welcome here is about more than the furnishings, decor -- and delicious breakfasts.
It is better represented by the help that the Veronique and Bruno, the owners, gave us: welcoming us on our late arrival; recommending a place to hire bikes; recommending and booking a good restaurant; contacting us when we got home about a sweatshirt one of the kids left behind.
All this came for a very reasonable price: we paid, I think, 60 euros per room, per night.
We wanted a relaxing weekend within easy reach of Calais, and we found it, staying here, cycling through the woods and along the canal, and swimming at Wissant the next day.
St Omer itself is a handsome town, with a long mercantile history. It appeared to have a thriving Saturday market in the big town square, where we also sat later on, having a beer and watching the world.
I thoroughly recommend Chambres d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale, and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexharri_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

A 2 night visit to St-Omer was enhanced with our stay at this Chambres d'Hotel conveniently situated opposite the railway station and about a 10 minute walk from the town centre. The room we had was a twin over looking the rear garden and was comfortable and quiet; the en-suite had a very good drenching shower and the beds medium firm with duvets and good pillows, overall the room was spacious and nicely decorated with plain wooden floors. Breakfast was typically french with lots of well made coffee and tea plus home made yoghurt and jams. Parking opposite was excellent. Would we stay here again, a resounding yes especially since our dog was also welcomed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryplumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

4 of us spent 3 nights here in April 2013. We had 2 rooms, one facing the canal, and one the garden. Both rooms were large, exquisitely decorated and had comfortable beds. The en-suites were modern and scrupulously clean. One room had fridge and microwave, and both had tea-making facilities, unusual in France.

Veronique welcomed us very warmly, offered a complimentary drink, and continued to be kind and helpful, recommending places to visit and to eat. The breakfasts were excellent with home-made yoghurt, conserves and baking. Coffee was unlimited - again unusual in France.

The B&B is conveniently located in St-Omer, just a 10 minute walk into the centre, and very near to the station. There is free and unlimited parking opposite.

An excellent base for holidaying in the area, or for an overnight stay en route to Calais. We would definitely hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Omer
0.6 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
720 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel les Frangins
Hotel les Frangins
#5 of 12 in Saint-Omer
122 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Bretagne
Le Bretagne
#9 of 12 in Saint-Omer
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale

Address: 11 quai du Commerce, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range: £41 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing