We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in a lovely Town”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Omer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great B&B in a lovely Town”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were drawn to this Guest House by Trip Advisor for a Long Weekend "pop over" to France. This is a comfortable and charming B&B. We were made to feel very welcome by Veronique and it proved to be a great location for exploring St Omer with it''s charms and numerous Resturants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 938ChrisB938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
93
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have stayed in St Omer a few times as a convenient stopover near the Channel, usually at the Ibis Budget ( Etap), which is fine. This year we have stayed twice with Veronique, and what a real pleasure. Really I have little to add to the previous reviews but I must add my comments as Veronique went out of her way to make us comfortable. When you are a bit late and quite tired, what a difference that makes. Also it was good to find this side of town and to have her recommendations for restaurants. One night en route to a holiday or back home gives little time for searching, so it was great to just have a reservation made and simply arrive knowing the meal will be good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capresina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at this property for just one night and would happily have stayed longer. The whole experience from arrival to departure was very good with a really nice welcome from Véronique the owner who was very helpful with information about St Omer

The bedroom was decorated in typical French style and was clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast with home made products

Ideally situated to walk into the centre of St Omer (10 minutes maximum)

We were able to park our motorcycles in the garage

Overall a really good experience and excellent value for money and would recommend this property

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMCT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We as a family of 5 stayed in this delightful B&B on our way to the Dordogne.
Arriving late as predicted Madame was very welcoming and as the town was busy with a Fete had saved her private garage for us.
Traditional French interior with modern bathrooms. Our 2 rooms were connected via a bathroom with large free standing bath and a separate en suite too. Overlooking the garden was a plus as very quiet.
I can only enhance what other reviewers have written...friendly hostess, delicious breakfast, clean and homely surroundings including free wifi and tea and coffee facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and overlook pretty garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritAbroad
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived late but received a lovely welcome and our hosts even telephoned ahead to our restaurant to warn them that we were delayed. Véronique proved to be a wonderful hostess and strove to make our stay as pleasant as possible. She spoke reasonable English, which certainly helped our questionable French!

We had booked two double rooms with either shower or bath. We chose the room with the shower (basin and wc) and were a little surprised to discover the en suite area was only separated from the bedroom by a curtain. Windows were double-glazed and fitted with shutters (very helpful to block out the sound of music coming from nearby!) We slept reasonably well.

The included breakfast was typically continental (bread, pastries, croissants, yoghurt, confitures, tea, coffee, juice). We would have liked to have seen this spread complimented by a selection of cheeses and meats.

There is plenty of free on-street parking immediately opposite the B&B

We have stayed in a few places in St Omer and this is now our preferred choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britabroad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here recently on our way back up to Calais.

Veronique was so kind and friendly and she has made this a beautiful home and a wonderful place for guests to stay.

Spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast. Our room was gorgeous with lovely French furniture, bed linen and towels, we had the bathroom with the 'egg' shaped bath at the back of the house, so we had a view of the pretty garden. We parked for free across the road and walked into town for something to eat.

I think this is one of the nicest places I have stayed and hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I booked this on the strength of other reviews on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. As a previous reviewer has mentioned, it's important not to be put off by the somewhat unattractive exterior of the property. It's what's inside that counts. I booked an apartment with two double rooms for my wife and I and my brother and sister-in-law. We were warmly greeted by Véronique who gave us all a complimentary drink on our arrival which was very welcome after our long journey. Véronique also provided us with a map of the town and was very helpful in giving us advice on choosing a restaurant for dinner. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable and quiet, both overlooking the garden area. We had a superb night's sleep. There are also tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms which was a bonus.

Breakfast was every bit as good as previous reviewers have said. Home made jams and yogurt and white chocolate and rhubarb cake alongside bread and croissants fresh from the bakery. Wonderful.

It's clear that Véronique and Bruno are keen to ensure their guests enjoy the stay and it shows.

The B&B is located by the canal and is in a quiet area of town. There's not much in the way of restaurants in the area (a new brasserie had just opened next door the night we stayed but we didn't try it opting instead for a restaurant that Véronique had recommended.) However, the B&B is only around 15 minutes stroll from the town centre directly up the Rue de Dunkerque.

They do have a small car park available for 3 euros a night - but the limited roof height meant that my car with a roof-box fitted could not use it. Having said that, there's free parking literally across the road by the canal where it seems quite safe to park overnight. We had no problems

I would certainly stay here again when next visiting St. Omer

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fastflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Omer
0.6 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Bretagne
Le Bretagne
#9 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel les Frangins
Hotel les Frangins
#5 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale

Property: Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale
Address: 11 quai du Commerce, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing