We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for a stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chic o Rail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chic o Rail
Ranked #2 of 3 Saint-Omer B&B and Inns
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent for a stopover”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for one night en route back to the UK.
The hotel was originally part of the mainline station and very pleasantly situated in the town. The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was plentiful except for the lack of ham and pain au chocolat!
Service was friendly and some of our friends enjoyed the dinner whilst we went into town for our dinner at Le Cygne (see excellent review of the restaurant).
One problem - no lift!

Room Tip: Remember there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    37
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
29
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

A triple room for 55€ cant complain! Yes the room had a funny smell coming from the toilet but we managed it by keeping the window open and the fan on. It's not a big walk into the centre it's actually a nice walk of about twenty minutes. We went for an evening drink up at one of the bars which was lovely. Then we walked back for a meal at the restaurant at the hotel which was lovely. Location is brilliant for the euro tunnel and ferry in Calais. We also visited la coupole which is a seven min drive. Would definitely use this accommodation again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed one night in this hotel in May 2014 after driving all day from Germany, so we could recharge our batteries for ferry home from Calais next morning. Calais is about 45 minute drive, set your sat nav to avoid the tolls, why pay them when the road you travel on runs alongside A26 motorway for most of it.

Nice location right next to the grand looking station, hotel has free car park round the back, didn't hear any train noises as seemed bit of a ghost station with little services. Room was for 3 of us at top 2nd floor of hotel, double bed and single bed for our son, it was compact and clean, a bit like a loft conversion with opening window in roof. 55 euro for room plus 7 euro each if you wanted continental breakfast. We reserved room on “Booking.com” and paid on departure. Friendly staff who speak a little English. No tea making facilities although they had a coffee/tea maker at reception if you were dying for a drink. It felt quiet warm in room, no aircon but fine with window open, it was a warm 20c outside. Stylish looking restaurant with nice atmosphere downstairs, but we fancied a walk into town for our evening meal and just had a nightcap in the hotel before retiring.

Walked to main square over the bridge, about a half mile walk, typical French atmosphere, the bars and bistros face a square with everyone sitting outside on a busy friday night. We ate in the “La B F” bar brasserie, very reasonable prices for their grill type menu, most of the restaurants seem to offer only 3 course meals at about 15 euros a head but we just wanted to fill up. English menu, about £7-8 euros for bacon/sausage/chicken and plenty of chips!

To summarise, the hotel looks good and is great value for a ferry stopover. Visited the V2 rocket site at La Coupole next morning which is only 10 minute drive, might post a review on this later, if you are a certain age and like your WW2 history, you will kick yourself if you don’t visit!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor I would imagine to be roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lagooner008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for one night in September. The reception is small but very stylish with great flooring. The restaurant looked very nice but I can not comment any further on this as we didnt eat here.

However anything above the ground floor looked in need of a make over. the carpet on the stairs was all torn and very dirty. Be warned that the stairs up to the attic rooms are extremely steep.

Our room was up in the attic. Our room overlooked the rail station (which is a very impressive building). The room did let the hotel down; Very small, no waredrobe just a hanging rail. The window didnt open but a fan was provided. No tea or coffee provided. There is a coffee maker in reception which means you have to make your drink in reception and then carry it up 2 steep flight of stairs to the room. May not be a problems for some but its quite hard with a small child and a pushchair etc. Room is extremely basic and the toilet/shower is no bigger than a cupboard.

The room is very basic and we wouldnt recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate Kent England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Found the hotel very easily parking obvious because of all the fencing in the front, French equivalent of 'network rail' doing improvements to the car park! Hotel adequate, the room was functional and looked a bit tired, restaurant open plan, food bit oily but ok, staff pleasant. Overall for one night it will do.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I've stayed in Saint-Omer a few times but did not know about the marshes. The hotel is situated by the station, it's the Buffet de la Gare originally. It's been modernised and is smart and clean. The restaurant has a god reputation in the town and was very pleasant. All the hotel staff were pleasant and friendly. The bedroom was comfortable with two comfy chairs and a table. We loved the bed with crisp white cotton sheets and a superb foam? I think, mattress.
Best of all for us was the location between the town and he marsh. Canals and irrigation channels cut through the area. Boats and bridges give access to the homes. It is a vast market garden and a joy to cycle through.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As with another reviewer we were intially a little worried as there were roadworks all around but as soon as we entered we were reassured. The hotel is clean and comfortable and provides a good nights sleep at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetaHeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Omer
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
0.8 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
656 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Bretagne
Le Bretagne
#9 of 12 in Saint-Omer
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Saint Louis
#10 of 12 in Saint-Omer
126 reviews
8.4 mi away
Le Moulin de Mombreux
Le Moulin de Mombreux
#2 of 2 in Lumbres
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic o Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic o Rail

Property: Chic o Rail
Address: Place du 8 Mai 1945, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Omer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chic o Rail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing