We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for an overnight stay - good parking”
Review of Le Bretagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Bretagne
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our third stay at Le Bretagne and will not be the last. It is a reliable budget hotel which is well placed for walks into town and to local restaurants. Breakfast is varied and plentiful, as it should be for 10 euros. The parking spaces are a real bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My partner & I, also our friends (another couple) stayed here on our visit to St Omer. We like to visit the town and dine at a lovely restaurant called Le Cygne occasionally.
The Ibis hotels were fully booked so we booked Le Bretagne.
We weren't expecting much to be fair after reading the reviews & we certainly didn't get much either!
The reception staff (2 females on separate shifts) were both rude, unfriendly & unhelpful.
The room was very basic, clean enough I guess. Hallways depressing, a hotel in a sad state. You can imagine the building probably used to be quite grand once upon a time in bygone days.
I asked the receptionist for an iron & she simply replied "Non". I also asked for an extra towel & she denied my request also, very very rude indeed.
Would I stay here again, absolutely no. Awful.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank mikeymikeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Not over fancy by any means but adequate to set up for tunnel crossing (35 mins away from Tunnel) easy access, good parking and we enjoyed a nice meal and comfy rooms. Priced about right, St Omer a bit run down and not quite as I remembered 5 years ago but with any expansion some of the quaint experience can be lost. On the whole the hotel worked out

Room Tip: It is quiet enough and both ours and out travel companions (2ad 1ch) were the same size so more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had booked via a web site for an overnight stay being convenient for on our way back to the Channel, and to allow a look at Sainte-Omer.

Car parking in the front courtyard, just off road, situated near Canal and Railway Station on edge of town but only a 20 minute walk in to the centre and facilities.

On arrival, we were allocated a ground floor room in the Annexe next to a road. The room looked at as if it had missed being cleaned with "dirt" on the bedspread, breadcrumbs on the floor and luggage rack, broken light cover. The only opening window was a top hung vent - too high to reach and no pole opener in room - so room stuffy. We asked to be re-allocated and were given Room 38 on the Annexe 1st floor - with an opening window. Room & bathroom clean. Later, however, found that passing traffic noise high & a street light near window. If window & curtains open - noisy, bright but airy; if window & curtains closed quiet but stuffy.

Avoid the Annexe - ask for room in main building facing rear toward communal garden courtyard of Flats.

Restaurant - good food and service, value for money.

Breakfast - very limited as to choice however on complaining about room a friendly receptionist waived breakfast cost on our departure.

Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Main building facing rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked overnight with a twin room. We asked if any doubles and were given room 18 in the annex. We wish we hadn't as it was so noisy as next to road and also a bit run down.
The restaurant looked ok but we think the cost of breakfast expensive so had one at the tunnel for half the price.
We were so disappointed with the room that we said about it at check out but no-one was interested

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couldbeyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had an overnight stay here recently, we had booked last minute and maybe that had a bearing on our room as some other reviewers have said they had refurbished rooms, sadly ours was not. It was very dated and shabby and whilst the sheets were clean the old blanket and coverlet were not. The wooden floor hadn't been swept in a while and the bathroom floor was hairy! The shower was good with lots of hot water but the decor was drab, dated and tatty. The public areas felt more like a hostel especially those long dreary corridors. We didn't use the restaurant or breakfast room so cannot comment on them. The staff on reception, when we arrived were, young, unfriendly and found our attempts at speaking French, which admittedly isn't good, amusing in a rude way. However the room service girls in the morning were lovely as were the reception staff on check out. Sounds like you pay your money and take your chances on this one!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for one night whilst stopping in St Omer. The hotel itself is a fairly dated building, but was clean and tidy. The rooms were a decent size and the beds were comfy. All the staff were very polite and helpful, and the breakfast buffet had plenty of choice. We didn't stay for dinner but the menu looked good.

Down points were it was a good 20 min walk from where most of the restaurants and shops are, but we found a nice place to eat called the Rialto which was about 5 mins walk. The building is in need of some modernising but not terrible. It's definitely a three star hotel, or at least a very high 2 star. Would happily stay again, only downside for us was it was just a bit too far from the main part of town. Fine for me and my wife, but not so good for our older relative who isn't as mobile.

Pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Omer hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
3.6 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#3 of 12 in Saint-Omer
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Industrie
Hotel Restaurant L'Industrie
#6 of 12 in Saint-Omer
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Frangins
Hotel les Frangins
#5 of 12 in Saint-Omer
127 reviews
12.2 mi away
Le Manoir Bonningues-les-Ardres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bretagne

Address: 2 Place du Vainquai | Place Du Vainquai, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range: £59 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bretagne 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Bretagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bretagne Hotel Saint-Omer
Le Bretagne Saint Omer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing