We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too pricy”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bar at the Hotel Provencal
Ranked #27 of 39 Restaurants in Les Issambres
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“too pricy”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

we had one meal that was too pricy : for 18€ you may expect more than a very little slice of fish and some ratatouille; above also the wine was too pricy for the quality of it : for 18€ you may expect more than a table wine

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yves h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
750 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Perhaps my last visit”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This used to be one of my favourites in the area. Sadly over time the world has moved on and they have stayed the same. Other bars and restaurants close by have raised their game and have friendlier owners and staff.
During our last visit on Tuesday 28th August 2012, began to wonder why I am giving my custom to them. Moules frite €15 and Faux Filet €17 were both OK but not perfect. The service by a young man was friendly but supervised by the owner who had difficulty smiling.
Perhaps we will not return but give our business to their neighbours.

Helpful?
Thank gfplux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
750 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Wifi only available if you PAY!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This bar still serves good food and the views are unchanged.
However in 2011 to still charge for Internet access is very bad customer relations.
More and more restaurants and bars are providing free wifi and in this the Hotel Provencal is behind the times.
I hope they will change this policy soon.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gfplux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
750 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“As good as the silver service Hotel restaurant.”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

This is the bar of the well known Hotel. It has a terrace which has a beautiful view looking towards Saint Tropez. We have eaten here on many occasions over the years and have enjoyed the casual dining with high quality food. There is a limited menu but the food comes out of the same kitchen as the Hotel. The food is always excellent.
We last ate here on Sunday evening 1st August 2010. We chose the mussels with fries and steak and chips. We had a very pleasant evening the food and service was great and we will definitely return.
If you like "big" chips this is also the place for you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gfplux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bar at the Hotel Provencal also viewed

Les Issambres, Roquebrune-sur-Argens
Les Issambres, Roquebrune-sur-Argens
 
Les Issambres, Roquebrune-sur-Argens
Les Issambres, Roquebrune-sur-Argens
 

Been to The Bar at the Hotel Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing