We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you pay is what you get” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mona Lisa - Residence Cassiopee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mona Lisa - Residence Cassiopee
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What you pay is what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is really a what you pay is what you get... it is quite cheap, but it is very close to the ski lifts. It is good value for money, meaning you pay little and get little. The apartments are not comfortable by any measure. If there are 4 people, it is better to take a 6-person apartment, or if there are 6 of you, get 8-person apartment, or it will be really crowded. There are two bedrooms upstairs, one with bunk beds, the other with couch for 2 people. Downstairs, there are bunk beds in the hallway next to the entrance, and a couch for 2 people in the living room.
The good thing is that these apartment buildings are close to everything (ski rentals, bakeries, ski lifts...)
Also, they don't provide bed linens, so either bring your own (which I suggest), or rent for appx 5 Euro/week. Castor/Pollux is the newly refurbished apartment buildings and has a small swimming pool.
The toilet is so small, tall people will have trouble sitting with the door closed. It is probably the smallest WC in the world.

Room Tip: it is better to sleep upstairs (as opposed in the hall or in the living room. Bunk-bed room upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emalogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    4
    8
    12
See reviews for
15
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We just came back from the 10 days stay in Risoul in one of the Residence Constellation. Location was great, only few minutes walks form the ski lifts, but apartment far from comfy. It was 7 of us in the apartment for 8 people and we really struggled! One of the rooms had no window, so during the night we woke up few times, as we couldn't breath. We had only one toilet for all of us, so just imagine how embarrassing it was. One of the level bed was located just by the door in the corridor, so again no space at all and no window!
The other minus was that we had no duvets, only blankets and we had to pay 8 euro's to get the clean sheets and towels! For everything we had to pay really - this includes TV for a week - 30 euro's and same for internet!
I would go back to Risoul, because the slopes were fantastic and we had 9 days of strong sun, but definitely won't go back to Residence Constellation!
Forgot to mention that by the end of our stay we had to clean entire apartment otherwise they wouldn't give us our deposit back! The other option was to pay them for cleaning - 70 euro's!!!
Not too sure if all France resorts are like this, but I have been travelling quiet a lot and never came a cross this kind of service!
 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Risoul hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We booked via Crystal who call these Foret Blanche apartments - supposed to be suitable for up to 6 people and the photographs show a much more spacious accommodation (a large number of photos are for the duplex apartments) cleverly taken to make it look more spacious. If you left pull out beds made up, there would be virtually no floor space left. Apartments were also very tired and basic.

Crystal team were very poor, travel to resort was a nightmare. Didn't get welcome packs for a few days, getting pre booked ski passes and vouchers for equipment was really poor as well

Room Tip: don't try and fit six people into normal apartment unless you are very very close
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graeme o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

I've stayed here twice, once in Feb 2006 with First Choice and once in Feb 2008 with Crystal. It might be a little late for these reviews but work is quiet at the moment so i will impart my knowledge on you!!

The apartments are OK, the first time we were on the top floor so had 7 beds between 4 of us and the second time we were in a standard 4. Space was a little bit tight second time around but it was manageable. Location is great with 1 road to cross before skiing but i think the whole resort (Being so small) offers skiing in and out.

The kitchen was average with most of the things you needed to muster a apres ski meal but once you've eaten the choice of nightlife in town is pretty poor. We spent most evening partying to euro dance pop in the aspen and if you did wanna go clubbing there was the shamrock. apart from these 2 places the bars were mostly snobby french affairs.

the slopes in resort are not that great but feel it as if they are because not too many people are on them. we hardly ever had to queue for a lift (Apart from when the local kids got out of school at around 2pm). having all that space really make a difference. we were also blessed with amazing amounts of snow both times we went.

the resort is great for beginners but didn't really offer the challenge i look for or the level of apres ski. residence foret however, at under £300pp both times i went is great value, despite its average facilities.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_Scarmoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaventem, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

We have returned to Risoul because the skiing is excellent, with a variety of slopes in 4 different small valleys, and a return to the village between trees. 3 years ago we stayed at Aldebaran, which we found decent. This year we were in Altair but we were disappointed. The good: the staff at the reception are very friendly and check-in went swift. A plus of Altair is that it is one of the lower blocks, so the walk to the village is a little shorter. All the Constellation blocks are close to the slopes so you never walk more than 100m to get skiing. The bad: We had booked a 6-person appartment for our family of 4 because we know that the couch in the living room always doubles up as a bed. Still, the appartment was tiny and to stay in there with 6 would be testing the limits of privacy renunciation. The toilet is so cramped you have to sit sideways or leave the door open. Bathroom is equally tiny but enough for one person to stand in.
The worst is that all maintenance to the building appears to have stopped years ago. Paint is cracking, woodwork splintering away, electrical sockets falling out of the wall. The carpet probably was of some grey tone when it was put in, but now it is pure black beyond cleaning. The corridors are full of dirt and since no cleaning crew shows up during the whole week, it just keeps adding. The mattresses and pillows are worn out, so after a week you wake up with back and neck pain.
We will be returning to Risoul, but not to les Constellations

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

I traveled to Risoul 1850 for a ski holday between 27th Dec - 3rd Jan. We bookedt this apartment as it was both affordable and appeared to be well appointed.

We drove to the resort from London, and arrived in Risoul at 11:00am. We were very pleased to be allowed to check in and have access to our apartment shortly afterwards.

The accomodation in our 4 person room was very cramped. It would be fine for 2 adults and 1 child, but we were 4 adults and it was SMALL! The living space was combined into a tiny kitchen and a small dining table area. The shower room and toilet were seperated. This was ok and theshower/bath was fine, but the toilet was so cramped that you could not sit down and close the door!

We also found that the apartments were full of italian and french students who were very loud and quite intimidating. The apartment owners did try to ensure that it was quiet in the evening - but it was not easy!

The block we stayed in did have a good ski-locker and had some beautiful views.

Overall I would suggest that these apartments are only suitable for 2 adults (as a couple) or a single child family. If you are a larger group - pay more and stay in a larger room - or the Balcon de Siruis - which is a nicer property,

  • Liked — The views from our balcony
  • Disliked — The tiny size of the apratment
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbwlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risoul
2.0 mi away
La Bonne Auberge
La Bonne Auberge
#3 of 5 in Risoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge du Rochasson
Auberge du Rochasson
#5 of 5 in Risoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
9.6 mi away
Les Ecrins
Les Ecrins
#2 of 2 in Les Orres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Les Escondus
Les Escondus
#1 of 13 in Vars
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Vega
Residence Vega
#6 of 9 in Risoul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Club mmv Risoul Antares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mona Lisa - Residence Cassiopee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mona Lisa - Residence Cassiopee

Property: Mona Lisa - Residence Cassiopee
Address: Station 1850, Risoul, France
Region: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Risoul
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Risoul
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your convenience , this residence is served by a ski and the ski lift PELINCHE , which offers direct access to the ski area . Another convenience , Cassiopeia is just a few meters from the Children's area, the tourist office and cinema.Les apartments (Caution : 250 € per apartment + cleaning € 50) have a balcony and are equipped to allow you to spend the holidays at 2, friends or family, as simply as possible . Holidays unforgettable for sure ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mona Lisa - Residence Cassiopee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing