We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lou Messugo gite

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roquefort les Pins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Linda5708
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything from start to finish was well done. We were met on arrival and found the villa to be delightful. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner who was available to provide help and advice on where to visit and what to do. Her local knowledge was invaluable and saved us time and effort when in Nice for Carnival time, an extremely popular time of the year.

The property was beautifully clean and well equipped the bed was very comfortable. We were blessed with a couple of sunny days for February and the host quickly offered amenities which would not normally be needed until later in the year such as the table tennis, badminton equipment, BBQ and sun loungers. It would be splendid to return later in the year and make use of the swimming pool which looked perfect.

The thoughtful extras in the welcome basket, many of which were produced in the region, were very welcome.

The location of the property was so ideal that we could have gone skiing just as easily as have gone to the beach. We did go up into the mountains on one day and we picnicked surrounded by snowy mountain ranges. Another day was spent exploring the 'villages perche' and really should not be missed. Some of them date back to the Iron Age. We particularly loved Peillon.

On the advice of our host we took another day to explore the best coastal walk I have ever experienced towards the Cap d'Antibes. It was fairly strenuous in patches but also invigorating and having taking another picnic we found another splendid spot to rest and soak up some early sunshine while looking out across the bay.

The reason for our visit was to see the Nice Carnival at Mardi Gras. We should have booked tickets online but decided against it and probably as the weather turned very wet for the night time parade it was just as well. We did catch the Flower Parade and the closing fireworks which were both spectacular though.

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lou Messugo. We're so pleased you found our local tips helpful and enjoyed your stay so much. We really hope you do come back again to use the pool!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavs1998
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic stay in Lou Messugo”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Great stay in Lou Messugo.
Beautiful apartment, bathroom and master bedroom.
Easy location for walking to local town and great access to Nice, Antibes and Grasse.
Lovely garden and great owners Phoebe, Jeff and family.
Felt very welcome, lovely accommodation and beautiful surroundings.
Would return here again and have recommended Lou Messugo to all our family and friends.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathroom
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Lou Messugo and your holiday, and thank you also for recommending us to others, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glorious French Gite to Nice, Antibes, Cannes”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

What can I say about Lou Messugo!! Absolutely wonderful comes to mind immediately! Right from the moment I entered the property, I felt at home. Gracious, helpful and hospitable hosts, Phoebe and Jeff, made me feel extra welcome. The Gite is extremely well equipped with literally all that you need, bright and airy, with its own private terrace and use of the family pool and trampoline!! Perfectly located , 20 minutes from Nice, within easy reach of other famous South of France coastal cities, but also close to the quiter, cooler towns and villages in the hills. I would without hesitation recommend the Lou Messugo to anyone or family seeking the best that France can offer! If I could, it would get 6 stars!!!

Date of stay: October 2013
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review, 6 stars would be fantastic! It was lovely having you to stay here and hope you come back again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous little gite, perfect for our toddler”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Beautifully designed, Pheobe the owner had thought of everything and made a real effort to make sure we had everything we needed.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the property and grounds and the beautiful garden
Liked least: Quite a long walk to the village as the shortcut not accessible with a buggy
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Lou Messugo we really appreciate it and are very happy to know your toddler enjoyed it too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia40
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fab apartment”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely apartment! As others have already said, it is just as it appears on the photos. Plenty of room for the two of us with big comfy bed and wardrobe and drawers in the bedroom, decent size shower room and everything we needed in the bright open plan kitchen/living room. Good to have a dishwasher although I didn't do much cooking! Really appreciated the use of the washing machine and hubby made good use of the availability of the bike. Great location in a quiet area but only about a 10 minute walk down to the supermarket/ bars/restaurant and bakery etc. Our bakeries in UK just don't compare. Everyone we met in this area were friendly and helpful despite my rusty French. Although we were on bus route between Nice and Grasse I would recommend having a car as there so many places close by and further away to visit. Last, but not least, must say how welcoming and helpful Phoebe and Jeff were. Good communication from booking till arrival and on hand to offer help and advice whilst we were there. Really hope to visit again.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: looking out on the lovely garden first thing in the morning
Liked least: mozzies bit of a nuisance!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, it makes us very happy to know you enjoyed your holiday. We hope to see you back here at Lou Messugo again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Liked least: We could only stay a week!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you loved your stay - that is our aim and it's always very gratifying when we succees. But it's even more pleasing when guests take the time to write detailed reviews like this, full of such enthusiasm! We loved having you here and really hope you'll be true to your word and come back again soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GallusBes...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful holiday at Lou Messugo.”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at Lou Messugo. I had thought about not doing a review as I wanted to keep Lou Messugo to myself. However, when I tried to book for a week in October the gite was booked so the secret is out!

Everything at Lou Messugo is perfect. Everything previous guests have said is true.

Phoebe, the owner, and her family welcome you and look after you. They are lovely genuinely nice people who want you to enjoy your holiday. On arrival we found the gite very clean and fresh. Lovely towels and a lovely welcome pack. Usually I spend an hour cleaning an apartment or gite when I arrive but no need for that at Lou Messugo. All the cutlery, crockery and utensils are spotless. We did not cook but it looks as if every utensil is there for you including egg cups.

Phoebe leaves a ring binder in the gite that has lots of information about the gite, area, places to visit, tips, shopping, restaurants etc. It includes the phone numbers of the local take away's for delivery. Phoebe thinks of everything as she has written in French the address of the gite so you can easily phone for a delivery. Also, in the bedside drawers are leaflets for everything on the Cote d'Azur. There is also a bookshelf in the living area with guide books for the area including beaches. Phoebe knows everything about the area and it is great having local knowledge like knowing what are the best beaches to visit, cost of private beaches, best places to eat and so on.

There is a great take away called Pizza Pins that deliver. Phoebe has left a note of the quick way to walk into the town which brings you out at Pizza Pins outdoor seating area. It is very reasonably priced.

Lou Messugo is perfecly placed to tour the area. There are lots of places to visit. We went to Monaco twice, Nice, Antibes, Grasse, Gourdon, Golf Juan, Cannes, and Juan Les Pins. All were fantastic. We also spent a few days just sitting in the beautiful large garden enjoying the sunshine, listening to the birds and watching lots and lots of butterflies which I rarely now see in the UK.

During our stay the Tour de France passed near Lou Messugo and Phoebe invited us to join her, her family and neighbours and friends who were going to watch it. We had a truly wonderful day. Thanks to their local knowledge on where to go and watch it, the cyclists were going uphill rather slowly so we had a great view and we managed to get some great photos.

We cannot wait to return. In fact, we had such a wonderful time at Lou Messugo that we didn't want to come home and we have seriously thought about moving to Roquefort Les Pins. It was that good.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing long review. It was so kind of you to write in such detail and it's a real pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again at Lou Messugo :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.