We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lou Messugo gite

Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bedroom with calming Provencal colours fun in the pool for all ages at Lou Messugo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bedroom with calming Provencal colours
fun in the pool for all ages at Lou Messugo
summer evenings at Lou Messugo with rosé and al fresco dining
Pétanque (boules) pitch, looking back at Lou Messugo terrace (and owners house above)
the pool, surrounded by flowers, with loungers and lilos provided
breakfast on the sunny terrace over looking the large garden
Modern bathroom decorated with Provencal tones (mimosa from the garden)
sofa which opens out to be a 140cm comfortable bed with proper mattress. Books for your enjoyment.
Winter in the beautiful garden with lavender bank that blooms in June/July (see next photo)
the pool surrounded by greenery with areas of shade and plenty of sun too
plenty of sun loungers and plenty of natural shade as well as sun around the pool
we provide a large charcoal BBQ (with starter pack of charcoal)
kids are welcome at Lou Messugo with trampoline, pool, ping pong, large garden, toys, they love it!
bikers are welcome at Lou Messugo. We are surrounded by many beautiful and iconic rides
hundreds of beaches nearby
spectacular Mediterranean coast, where the mountains meet the sea
wonderful provencal markets in every town and village
there are hundreds of mountain villages nearby to explore
gorgeous seaside towns all along the coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roquefort les Pins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Linnea J
Kopavogur, Iceland
1 review
“Perfect vacation”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had the most perfect vacation at Lou Messugo. One main reason was that everything was provided from toys in the gite to sun shades, buckets, spades and even mattresses for the beach. We didn't have a Sat Nav but the host leant us her map, nothing was ever too much trouble. Every recommedation she gave us turned out great, and all the tips on the blog were very useful. Also the gite is lovely, very tastefully decorated with a huge garden and lovely pool. And as the final perfection, the location was so central to everything we wanted to see. We could visit beaches, mountains and cities easily without spending the day in the car. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything provided and thought of
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliet83
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lou Messugo is one the most charming, relaxing and delightful places to spend a holiday. From our first steps through a lavender-scented bordered door, the apartment was welcoming. Tasteful, calm decor with a fridge containing rosé, goats cheese, olives and eggs - fresh from Phoebe's own chickens! The area was ideal for easy trips by car, bus and train. We recommend the train to Menton - a most walkable town with excellent restaurants.

Thank you, Phoebe for making us so welcome and already we are looking forward to returning!

Jean and Joe Roynon-Jones.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podin
Tubingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful apartment in peaceful and beautiful area”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is beautifully decorated, well maintained and has a nice garden. The owners are friendly, unobtrusive and very helpful with tips about the surrounding area. The location is perfect for short trips to the mountains, the beach, Nice/Cannes and many smaller towns at the Cote d'Azur.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L
Grasse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely flat in Southern France near the coast and mountains!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Phoebe's lovely flat was perfect for our stay in the South of France. Its proximity to the must-see areas of the Cote d'Azur was ideal. Phoebe and her husband were gracious hosts and available when needed while giving us plenty of privacy. The location is only about 10-15 min from the highway which is ideal for getting to Nice, Antibes, St. Paul de Vence, etc. The flat is well equipped and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again, hopefully next time it's warm enough to use the pool! Also we loved the beautiful garden and patio. Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flat was very comfortable and the outdoor space very lovely.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope we meet again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda5708
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything from start to finish was well done. We were met on arrival and found the villa to be delightful. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner who was available to provide help and advice on where to visit and what to do. Her local knowledge was invaluable and saved us time and effort when in Nice for Carnival time, an extremely popular time of the year.

The property was beautifully clean and well equipped the bed was very comfortable. We were blessed with a couple of sunny days for February and the host quickly offered amenities which would not normally be needed until later in the year such as the table tennis, badminton equipment, BBQ and sun loungers. It would be splendid to return later in the year and make use of the swimming pool which looked perfect.

The thoughtful extras in the welcome basket, many of which were produced in the region, were very welcome.

The location of the property was so ideal that we could have gone skiing just as easily as have gone to the beach. We did go up into the mountains on one day and we picnicked surrounded by snowy mountain ranges. Another day was spent exploring the 'villages perche' and really should not be missed. Some of them date back to the Iron Age. We particularly loved Peillon.

On the advice of our host we took another day to explore the best coastal walk I have ever experienced towards the Cap d'Antibes. It was fairly strenuous in patches but also invigorating and having taking another picnic we found another splendid spot to rest and soak up some early sunshine while looking out across the bay.

The reason for our visit was to see the Nice Carnival at Mardi Gras. We should have booked tickets online but decided against it and probably as the weather turned very wet for the night time parade it was just as well. We did catch the Flower Parade and the closing fireworks which were both spectacular though.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lou Messugo. We're so pleased you found our local tips helpful and enjoyed your stay so much. We really hope you do come back again to use the pool!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavs1998
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic stay in Lou Messugo”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Great stay in Lou Messugo.
Beautiful apartment, bathroom and master bedroom.
Easy location for walking to local town and great access to Nice, Antibes and Grasse.
Lovely garden and great owners Phoebe, Jeff and family.
Felt very welcome, lovely accommodation and beautiful surroundings.
Would return here again and have recommended Lou Messugo to all our family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathroom
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Lou Messugo and your holiday, and thank you also for recommending us to others, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glorious French Gite to Nice, Antibes, Cannes”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

What can I say about Lou Messugo!! Absolutely wonderful comes to mind immediately! Right from the moment I entered the property, I felt at home. Gracious, helpful and hospitable hosts, Phoebe and Jeff, made me feel extra welcome. The Gite is extremely well equipped with literally all that you need, bright and airy, with its own private terrace and use of the family pool and trampoline!! Perfectly located , 20 minutes from Nice, within easy reach of other famous South of France coastal cities, but also close to the quiter, cooler towns and villages in the hills. I would without hesitation recommend the Lou Messugo to anyone or family seeking the best that France can offer! If I could, it would get 6 stars!!!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review, 6 stars would be fantastic! It was lovely having you to stay here and hope you come back again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing