We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous vacation rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lou Messugo gite

Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bedroom with calming Provencal colours fun in the pool for all ages at Lou Messugo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Lou Messugo gîte near beaches and Provencal villages
Bedroom with calming Provencal colours
fun in the pool for all ages at Lou Messugo
summer evenings at Lou Messugo with rosé and al fresco dining
Pétanque (boules) pitch, looking back at Lou Messugo terrace (and owners house above)
the pool, surrounded by flowers, with loungers and lilos provided
breakfast on the sunny terrace over looking the large garden
Modern bathroom decorated with Provencal tones (mimosa from the garden)
sofa which opens out to be a 140cm comfortable bed with proper mattress. Books for your enjoyment.
Winter in the beautiful garden with lavender bank that blooms in June/July (see next photo)
the pool surrounded by greenery with areas of shade and plenty of sun too
plenty of sun loungers and plenty of natural shade as well as sun around the pool
we provide a large charcoal BBQ (with starter pack of charcoal)
kids are welcome at Lou Messugo with trampoline, pool, ping pong, large garden, toys, they love it!
bikers are welcome at Lou Messugo. We are surrounded by many beautiful and iconic rides
hundreds of beaches nearby
spectacular Mediterranean coast, where the mountains meet the sea
wonderful provencal markets in every town and village
there are hundreds of mountain villages nearby to explore
gorgeous seaside towns all along the coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Roquefort les Pins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Steve T
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous vacation rental”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We knew we'd found somewhere special when we walked in and found a bunch of mimosa from the garden (beautiful perfume), a warm baguette and a bottle of local wine waiting for us. Then we discovered goats cheese and olives in the fridge! The host cared so much about making our stay special and unique with such a warm welcome we couldn't have asked for more. She provides plenty of brochures, a full folder of info and writes an awesome blog that we'd been following for a while full of great things (check it out at loumessugo.com) . She is also available either direct or by text/email for instant recommendations and ideas for what to do (even in the rain). Honestly, we chose this place because of all the great reviews and we were so happy we did. The hype is justified, this is one great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the warm welcome, expert local knowledge
Liked least: leaving!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R
Biot, France
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great base for touring the Côte d'Azur”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Currently living in Beijing but having lived in Nice previously, we wanted to visit old friends but wanted be independant at the same time. Lou Messugo offered us everything we needed! Located in Roquefort les Pins, it was close enough for us to visit friends in Biot, Valbonne, Nice etc. I stayed there with my two sons (16 and 10) and there was plenty of room for the three of us (my husband couldn't come but with one double bed and a double sofa bed, there would have been tons of space for him too!)
The kitchen was fully equipped so we were able to make breakfast and sometimes dinners for ourselves. The gîte owner, Phoebe, even allowed us to use her washing machine a couple of times which was an added bonus (you definitely wouldn't get that in a normal B&B). The apartment was spotless. Obviously, as we came in the winter, we didn't make the most of the garden, terrace, BBQ, lovely pool... it just means will have to come back during the warmer months!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The practical side of the gîte, own kitchen, being independant, etc.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and local knowledge of the owner
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clare B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Easter Break”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Lou Messugo three years ago and always planned to come back. This trip was even better than the last. We enjoyed wonderful walking and cycling in brilliant April sunshine.

The Gite is really well set up for families and the children love the trampoline.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Bed was a bit small for a double but I doubt if a bigger one would fit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ronaldo52...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we drove into the lane and the house we were confident of our choice of location and accommodation unbeatable atmosphere and ambience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Gardens, The owners and next the hens
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J T
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A secluded gem in the heart of beautiful Alpes-Maritime”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Have just returned from a wonderful two-week holiday staying at Lou Messugo, which was recommended by a friend. We are a couple in our forties with two children aged 5 and 8.
The accommodation is exactly as shown in the photographs, very nicely appointed, kept to a high standard and clean. We were greeted warmly and shown around by Phoebe, the property owner, who lives with her family in an adjoining house. The welcome pack was very well received by us, and there was a supply of essentials such as dishwasher tablets, mosquito coils, soap etc to start us off.
What you can't appreciate from the photos is the wonderful sense of peace and quiet, calm and tranquility of the location. The ample gardens and surroundings are very green, with many beautifully coloured and scented flowers, herbs, plants and mature trees. And the sound of summer sun - the cicadas chirping constantly! We really had the feeling of 'getting away from it all' when we were at the apartment, it feels quite secluded and such privacy was particularly appreciated in high season when many of the tourist areas are extremely busy.
We used the apartment as a base for trips to Valbonne, Grasse, Cagnes-sur-Mer, Nice, Monaco, Antibes, Juan-les-Pins, St-Jean Cap-Ferrat, days up into the hills (can highly recommend one of Phoebe's picnic spot favourites at Les Courmettes), Lac de St-Cassien, the amazing Bois des Lutins (one for the kids). The whole area is stunningly beautiful and picturesque. We found the Lou Messugo blog (or Phoebe face-to-face!) to be an amazingly helpful and informative source of information about places to visit in the area and had some super days out that we would never have known about otherwise.
There is no shortage of things to see and do, although we did have a couple of quiet days at the apartment to relax and enjoy the pool, have a bbq, make use of the table tennis, petanque etc., and give our children some time to play with Phoebe's younger son. The pool area is safe for kids as it is gated and locked (you will have a key); we all loved being in the water and using all the inflatables, or just chilling out on the sun loungers.
We were comfortable in the apartment as it is light and spacious, and of course the enormous outdoor terrace area is like another room as we had all of our meals outside in the gorgeous warm sunshine, and the kids played safely in the garden.
It was mosquito season and we all had a few bites (some worse than others!) but if you burn a coil outside, use the oil plug-ins indoors, and apply decent repellent, it is not really a problem.
The owners do have three chickens who roam freely, although it is made clear that these can be kept in their enclosure if you're not so keen. They are also easily deterred by a quick spray of water if they come near when you are having meals! We found the kids were very entertained by them ... and their eggs are a bonus!
The small town of Roquefort-les-Pins has a wonderful range of shops, cafes, restaurants, supermarket, independent butcher, bakeries, greengrocers etc. There is also a great little butcher/caterer who also does delicious home-made cooking that you can buy to heat up at home (very handy). You can walk there within 10 mins, or borrow bicycles, or there's ample parking.
When Phoebe says don't hesitate to ask if there's anything you need, she genuinely means it; she has thought very carefully about providing a high-quality holiday apartment and genuinely cares about her guests enjoying a wonderful holiday experience whilst they are staying there. And we did! We would definitely recommend that you book Lou Messugo and I'm already looking forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The calm and tranquility
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing